We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just returned from this lodge. Wow! Wow! Wow! What an amazing place. Each room has its own private dipping pool, option to shower indoor or outdoor, each room has a butler assigned to it. The service was excellent, the food was amazing.....which is not buffet style .....you order off a menu for breakfast, lunsnch and dinner. Our guide was JP, he has such a passion for what he does. He loves and appreciates every animal .....takes nothing for granted .....every single game drive he went above and beyond. This guy was impressive.....request him! At the lodge Maureen was our server, God bless her.....she works 12 to 16 hour days and still provided service with one of the greatest smiles. Give this girl a raise! I dont know the names of chefs, but they were amazing....lovely menu selections. Each nite Micheal would escort us to our room, he would come in and take away any unwanted bugs out of our room. Godfrey also was one of our servers who was very friendly. These people work hard, long hours away from their families for weeks at a time. God bless each and every one of them. Thank you lion world tours and all those who work so hard.

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sultannausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 617 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Unusual architecture, a friendly and professional team, very good food + excellent game viewing were the ingredients of our stay. Ecco House is great for kids ...this is a destination that works for couples and families alike

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Madikwe is a truly special place, where we stayed from 4-8 November. The excellent Rangers - ours was Nicky - get you very close to the wide range of amazing animals, about which they are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The animals include the 'big five' but many more which are just as impressive and not to be missed. You quickly become immersed in the unforgettable safari experience. The marvellous Nicky certainly achieved that with us. The accommodation is first class, the food is superb and the staff are attentive, endlessly helpful and always very polite and professional. We have nothing but praise for every aspect of Madikwe and we will be returning! We recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham_Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We can't say enough about the Lodge and Staff at the Madikwe Safari Lodge. A truly remarkable experience. Nothing but quality service and food. The personal villas were spectacular as was the main Lodge. JP, was an excellent Safari guide, teaching us with knowledgable experience and enthusiasm. Thank you Lion World for such a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrumpssbcglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Kopano Lodge from 3 to 8 November and we would like to thank everyone at Madikwe Safari Lodge for a superb experience. Special thanks to Rebecca, Ruth and Maureen for the excellent service and making us feel welcome. The food was also outstanding, thank you Lucas! Andre, our ranger's knowledge about the bush and wildlife is indeed exceptional and made our game drives so enjoyable, many thanks Andre. The last night's formal Sundowner in the bush, hosted by Andre and Godfrey was very special.

Thanks again - we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Best wishes,
Neels & Marlize van Schaik

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelsvanSchaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Put it on your bucket list! I don't even know where to start since the experience was so amazing, incredible and over the top in every way. A giraffe met our plane on arrival and we saw impala and elephants on our way to the lodge. JP, our field ranger, was intent on showing us as many animals as he could during our six game drives. His genuine love of animals and enthusiasm for every aspect of the bush was infectious, and as a result we saw all of the Big 5, although the one leopard we saw was quite a distance away and could only be seen well through binoculars. The staff is committed to ensuring you have the best experience you can. The website gives you a guideline for tipping but everyone we spoke to wanted to tip more! Between the game drives we were treated to wonderful meals, great drinks, a massage, and the use of our own plunge pool from where we could watch elephants and wildebeest in the distance. My husband and I took a bush walk one day and had a very close encounter with a rhino - a bit too close, but sooooo exciting! We enjoyed every single minute of our stay and can't recommend Madikwe Safari Lodge highly enough.

Room Tip: We liked the fact that our room was close to the main lodge so you could run back and get something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent 3 days and nights at this most wonderful lodge. Everything about it was excellent. The food, the service, the rooms, the outdoor private shower with each room, I could go on and on. The most wonderful part is the location. Right on a lake where there is an abundance of wildlife. Herds of elephant rumble not 30 yards from the rooms! The rangers are outstanding and the opportunities to see Africa's wildlife abound. The night safaris are amazing. This is a must place to stay and to visit the game reserve.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
13.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
2.6 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
286 reviews
13.3 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
204 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $911 - $1,374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing