We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodge for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madikwe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great lodge for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is probably the best lodge in Madikwe for families. The educational talks with the ranger are great for not just children but adults too. The food here was great. Our Ranger Andres was the highlight of the trip. He had a wonderful knowledge of the animals and knew so much about conservation in Africa that it was a real education. We have been to lots of game lodges and been on plenty of game drives, so it is really important to have a ranger who gives us something more than the basic facts about the animals. The game viewing was not great while we were here, the animals just don't always cooperate, but Andres still managed to make the drives interesting and fun. When we left (we were self driving) one nice extra was they gave us water and snacks for the drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    49
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
202
209
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Lelapa Lodge through a package purchased with Lion World Tours for our honeymoon. We had an incredible time during our 3 nights at Madikwe. Everything was great! The food was wonderful! There were snacks waiting for us before each safari and when we arrived back from the drives. We made stops during each safari for either coffee/hot chocolate or cocktails, depending on the time of day. The lodge would pack snacks for us during the drives for those breaks as well.

The rooms were so much nicer than I expected them to be - I just wish they would fix some holes in the windows/doors because we had way too many bugs in our room! Each time we left and thought we managed the bugs, we would come back to even more. That was the not so fun part. Everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to Madikwe Safari Lodge for a 2 night get-a-way. We took the slightly longer approach dirve via Zeerust and were met at the gate by a ranger who escorted us in the dark to the Lodge. For the boys the opportunity to drive with the ranger and hold the light was something they won't forget. The game drives were nice with good sightings even if the radio-code words and holding patterns did border on the incredulous at times! The lack of attention to bird-life by the ranger was possibly the only downside. All meals were perfect especially the 2nd evening in the Boma. Attention to small things like a chalk board for messages to the staff and a mobile phone to contact reception are just examples of the effort Madikwe Safari Lodge goes to to make their guests welcome. I would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I were there for 3 nights/4 days in early November 2012. It was wonderful. The food was outstanding, safari was great- everything about the experience was awesome.

We stayed in the Dithaba lodge- which was exceptional. The lodge was huge, with a lot of "extras" - morning snacks and fruit, afternoon tea and coffee, etc. The staff were all wonderful, and we loved our safari guide Billy (we saw all big 5!). We would highly recommend Madikwe and would love to go back.

One thing to be aware of- bugs come and go freely from the rooms. This was not something I was prepared for... so just be aware!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was a tough choice deciding between so many fantastic-sounding lodges but my family and I definitely made the right choice when we picked Madikwe Safari Lodge.
Service was top-notch from the moment we arrived, the staff and well-trained and seem to be perpetually happy, particular thanks to Moses and Rebecca who went out of their way to assist with all our requests.
Perhaps it was being in the fresh air but we were always more than ready for the delicious meals served by the chef, I can recommend the eggs benedict very highly as one of the best I have eaten anywhere in the world.
One criticism is that the game viewing vehicles are not up the standard of the rest of the lodge.
However, our ranger Kenneth was knowledgeable and we had very good luck in finding white rhino, black rhino and lions, as well as seeing lots of baby elephants. Just the wild dogs proved elusive so we will have to return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Eedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently stayed at the Madikwe Safari Lodge for 3 nights. The property is beautiful and well maintained. It does appear to be more spread out than usual because rooms are far from the center. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The included minibar is stocked every morning. The food was always amazing. There was no change in breakfast menu but the dinner menu changed nightly. Some dinners were held outside in the Boma. The staff makes this place exceptional. My ranger was Andre Nell who was amazing. He is very smart and knows a lot about the animals and the topography. He even took the time to go over some constellations with us during a nighttime drive. However, I still don't understand the spitball games (had to be there to understand)! Sam Moralo was the manager during my stay and he was excellent. I had a couple of major challenges and he handled them efficiently. Merriam and our butler were welcoming and courteous. The massage I received on the deck of my room was nice as well. I have been on several safaris in the past but I chose this area for the wild dogs and the bird with multicolors (?). It was truly fascinating chasing a huge pack of wild dogs and getting those shots of the multicolor birds during the last morning drive. Unfortunately, did not get see the Big 5 but the EXCELLENT service and wild dogs made up for everything. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The property and people are wonderful. Large, beautiful rooms with modern, spa-like amenities, including private outdoor spa. The common areas are well maintained and decorated. Service is excellent with great local food offerings. The safari guides Wayne and Stephanie were extremely pleasant, enthusiastic and sought to make guests' comfort and experiences top notch. A great place to go if you're a traveler who loves both adventure and luxury.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
13.8 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Property: Madikwe Safari Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing