We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic safari adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2011

spent 2 nights here and loved every minute of it. on my 2 wk stint in the southern africa area, the stay here was by far the highlight. if you break down the place into 3 different aspects, they would be the reserve itself, the personnel, and the accommodations. in regards to the reserve, it is a savannah like area with a massive acreage. there are innumerable animals, birds, and plants, and i felt like we didn't even scratch the surface. not to mention, it's a beautiful landscape with jaw-dropping sunrises and sunsets. it's also mosquito free (and hence malaria free). we saw plenty of rhinos, elephants, giraffes, zebras, lions, and all sorts of antelopes. what was even nicer was watching the group dynamics of a group of rhino mothers and children, breeding elephant herds, male lion coalitions, to name a few.

regarding the personnel, the staff at the lodge were extremely professional and friendly. we even got a treat of the staff singing a few folk songs while we were there. the ranger for our game drives was stephanie. not only did she know everything there was to know about the animals, birds, insects, and plants, she was also a ton of fun to be around. later on my trip, i went on another safari where there were 8 jeeps converged on an elephant herd. here, most of the time, we were the only ones around. sometimes there was another jeep, but it was not often. there is a world of a difference when you're the only jeep watching a bunch of animals vs being one of 10.

regarding the accommodations, the room was amazing. air conditioned, clean, huge. 2 showers and a bathtub. an outdoor lounging area and a small (non-heated) plunging pool. yes, there were occasional bugs seen, but if you kept the doors closed, they wouldn't come indoors. the food was also tasty. there is no t.v. in sight, but plenty of books both fiction and nonfiction around. the lack of distraction was nice. drinks, a plug adaptor, and bug spray, are provided in each room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 643 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

We were extremely excited to visit Madike safari lodge as we'd just finished two safaris elsewhere and heard great things. Unfortunately upon arriving in our rooms we found both to be infested with large spiders. Wall, ceiling, sink, bed, etc. You name it, there were spiders. We expected spiders and other insects as we were "in the bush". I guess it was odd for us to expect a safe haven in our rooms. We had encountered insects on each safari but never the size or quantity we found in the rooms at the MSL. It is a shame because the rooms were beautiful.

We immediately alerted the staff and they trivialized our concerns and told us they would 'go take a look' however after assuring us that they had completely eradicated the problem, we returned to just as many (if not more) of these gargantuan 8-legged menaces as there were before. Everywhere we looked there was a spider larger and more fearsome than the last- they ranged in size from a silver dollar to the size of our fists! And after thinking that maybe the problem was contained to our room, we went to the room of the rest of our family to find the exact same situation. When we talked to Andy (the GM) about changing rooms, we were informed that it would be fine, but not to expect much better... 'this is the bush' after all, a phrase that soon became synonymous with 'deal with it.'

After we were forced to spend a sleepless first night in the spider infested rooms because "we were stuck" due to the gate closing at 8pm we decided we must leave in the morning. The next morning our concerns continued to be trivialized and we were informed that not only would we receive no refund for the 4 additional nights we were to spend there, we were also double billed for certain charges. The staff was sneaky and we always felt like we were being whispered about. It's no wonder only one other cabin was occupied. We cannot stress the awful time we had in just the 11hrs we were there.

If you must visit madikwe game reserve we STRONGLY recommend staying at one of the other 31 lodges within the reserve. That is unless you enjoy a less than welcoming staff and spooning with spiders while you sleep.

We are a family that days before went bungee jumping off of Vic falls, swam with great whites near Cape Town, and regularly hike through treacherous terrain all over the world. Never in any of our travels have we experienced anything like this!

Luckily the rest of our trip was amazing elsewhere, or our African experience would have been ruined.

Room Tip: None at the safari lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ashir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoreHotels, General Manager at Madikwe Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Ashir

So we can clear up the way in which you were dealt with by my staff and me personally when you were at the lodge I have documented what we did and the extra lengths that we went to try and make you and the rest of your family happy:

When you brought it to the Lodge Managements attention that there were spiders in your room the Camp Manager immediately called the Lodge Manager on the radio to let her know. Our Lodge Manager then set her team into action to go to your room and fix the situation. It should be noted that when the maintenance team arrived at your room only two spiders were found of quite normal size(approx 2 inches in diameter). These were then removed from your room and the maintenance team then sprayed the room for any other bugs.

At this point and after discussion between ourselves we got another room ready for you. At no point did I say ”It would be much the same as the other room” and made every effort to get the room ready for you as quickly as possible. You went back to your original room without looking at the second room we had gotten ready for you.

On the morning game drive you enquired with your Field Ranger “Andre” about spiders, as when you were out on game drive a spiders nest in a tree was noticed, Andre proceeded to explain some facts about spiders. Andre made every effort to put you at ease about spiders as you admitted to him you had a Phobia of them.

I am glad that you thought the rooms were “beautiful” as this is a real compliment. I am further happy that you did not experience too many other guests when you were at the lodge as this is exactly the type of environment that we try and create for our guests. It should be noted we were running with an 80% full lodge on the night you stayed with us.

On the subject of our staff being “sneaky” I would just like to direct you to all the reviews below yours, as if there is one thing that stands out the most it is the way in which our staff are received by guests.

I am truly sorry that you felt the need to check out of the lodge and leave the Madikwe after only one night. We run a fantastic lodge in one of the most beautiful game reserves in Southern Africa and it is really a pity that you didn’t get to experience this.


Yours Faithfully

Andy Paterson
(Acting General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We chose Madikwe because it is malaria free, and chose the Safari Lodge on the recommendation of a friend.
Each of the standalone accommodation units at the lodge is very private and very roomy. We had a comfortable king size bed, separate bath and shower, plus an open air shower on the balcony. The balcony includes a plunge pool, lounges and a table and chairs, all with a view of the surrounding bush with hills as a backdrop. (One day a herd of elephants came wandering through the bush in front of the lodge while I sat on the balcony reading). The usual bathroom toiletries are provided as well as a hair dryer and insect repellent - although we had no need for the repellent on our visit. While we didn't need it in September, the unit had an open fireplace, and there is a safe in each unit. There is no iron or ironing board but a free laundry service is included.
All meals and drinks (soft and alcohol) are included in the rate and eating in the open air dining area was always a pleasure.
We haven't been on any other safari sites so I can't compare the wildlife. However, in our 3 day stay (i.e 6 safari drives) we saw lions (male, female, cubs) a leopard, a dozen or so rhino plenty of elephants including one experience of 30 or so at a waterhole, and a variety of other antelope, impala, kudo, zebra, oryx, wilderbeest, warthog and lots of birdlife. In most cases these were very close encounters.
All the staff and guides are very friendly and welcoming and make for a very memorable African experience.

Room Tip: Even in September it is very cold on the morning and evening drives. Everyone wore jackets and used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I decided to spend my 30th bday in South Africa and it was a trip of a lifetime! I had 4 amazing nights in Cape Town, which included shark diving, wine tasting, and lots of nightlife. So I didn't think the last part of my trip, a safari in Madikwe, would be able to compare but I was so wrong! We had 2 nights, 3 days in the West Camp and the staff was superb!!! Rebecca (West Camp Manager) was so fun and entertaining. The lodges were beautiful and more than we could imagine. Andre (assistant head ranger) was so knowledgable and a really terrific guy. Every animal I asked to see, he delivered on. He tracked rhino and buffalo prints and got us up close and personal with the animals. We saw a family of lions right by the car, heards of zebra, elephants, african wild dogs, rhino, giraffes, buffalo, warthogs, hyenas, impalas, wildebeest, amongst so many others. The staff even made me a cake for my bday for dinner, which Andre and our pilots attended and sang happy birthday. Rebecca and Andre had so many great stories and I absolutely loved them, as well as the rest of the staff. I've been to quite a few places around the world, but this was by far my favorite trip. I have to admit, I teared up a little saying good-bye but I plan on going back next year! Can't say enough about this place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

What an amazing long weekend. Great weather, fantastic game drives with Andre and Steph fondly known"as Shummie". Andre is extremely knowledgeable about the fauna and flora and we had some great fun and laughs on our drives as well as some fantastic sightings, in fact the best I have ever seen!!! The staff are super, service great...and always with a smile. Rooms are lovely with own plunge pools. All in all, all 12 of us really enjoyed it. I would recommend if solo or family or with friends. Will go back !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was the last stage of our holiday in South Africa and we spent three nights at the Madikwe Safari Lodge - East Camp. On our way to the lodge we saw elephants and giraffe. When we arrived at the lodge we got booked in and taken to our lodge. Due to the time that we arrived in the afternoon, we had fifteen minutes to be ready before the start of our first evening game drive.
We met up with our ranger, Ken, and we saw lots of animals over the next three days, Several prides of lions with cubs, rhino, zebra, all kinds of antelope. We also saw some impala stags rucking.
The lodge was very nice and large with a lovely comfortable king-size bed. We had a beautiful view of the plains from our decking complete with a 'plunge' pool and outdoor shower to which I relegated my husband to. It was great to relax after a game drive on the decking with a drink until it was time for the next drive.
This is our third experience of staying at a game reserve in South Africa, and the only thing about Madikwe that was disappointing was the fact that the layout of the dining area did not encourage mixing with the other guests for the breakfast or evening meals, as we had found on our previous game drive experiences that when you came off a drive you all got together over the meal and chatted about the day. The Madikwe Safari Lodge was more akin to a hotel on a game park. Do not get me wrong, we really enjoyed ourselves and we saw a lot more animals here, and I would still certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

On Sept 1, 2011, my husband and i stayed at Madikwe Safari Lodge and shortly after landing on a tiny airstrip, only the day after arriving in South Africa from the States, we found ourselves in a modified truck with a couple of other visitors and our guide Richard. If we had left the reserve after that first afternoon, we probably would have been satisfied - we saw everything! Including wild dogs hunting. It was an amazing adventure. Thankfully we were staying 3 nights and Madikwe did an incredible job of keeping us busy each and every free minute. They all went out of their way to make our trip special in so many ways. We kept thinking that the only way it could have been better was if we could add more hours to the day! Thanks to everyone at Madikwe - Judy and Dick Jackson

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room to be had - they are all beautiful and exotic - each roomo is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
13.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
375 reviews
13.3 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
231 reviews
2.6 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
521 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,146 - $1,505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing