We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2007

If you love South Africa, love the bush, and love being looked after, then you won't do better than Impodimo. It is the most fantastic lodge and yes the elephants really do come to drink at the pool !! The team are incredibly caring and really make sure that every individual has the best possible experience. Food is divine (be prepared to put on some weight!) and evenings in the boma are magical.

But of course the focus has to be the game drives. There is plenty of game at Madikwe and the immensely knowledgeable rangers helped by experienced trackers ensure that there are great sightings - each game drive is an exciting adenture. I saw "The Magnificent Seven" during my stay including an incredibly memorable Big Five drive plus wild dogs!

I've left a bit of my heart at Impodimo and will definitely be going back to visit as soon as I can. It is a truly special place.

Claire Grout, Cheshire, UK

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BushbabyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Impodimo Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 360 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2007

I recently hosted our top 125 sales achievers on safari as part of a one week South Africa Sales Incentive trip.

Part of the group was fortunate to stay at the Impodimo Lodge.
The group were impressed by the excellent organisation on arrival, the food and beverage and high quality of the game drive guides. The warm hospitality of the Impodimo team led by Deb and Steve made them feel very special throughout their stay.

Best Regards

Alison
Vice President, Sales - Asia Pacific

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Staffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We travelled to South Africa last December and stayed for three nights at Impodimo Game Lodge in the Madikwe Game Reserve. I picked this location as it was 45 minutes by plane from Johannesburg and guaranteed malaria free. Even though I say so myself I made a good choice!

The game reserve itself was fabulous and we only covered a very small part of it on the drives. Plenty of animals to see but, of course, it is a matter of being in the right place at the right time. Some drives there was so much to see, not so much on others.

The lodge provides 2 drives a day at 5.30am and 4.30pm which last a minimum of 3 hours and much more if there is a lot to see. Your driver is responsible for you from getting you up in the morning until he escorts you to your lodge at night. Our driver Chris and tracker Beckson were both really nice and couldn't do enough for us. Impodimo is one of the few lodges in Madikwe which provide a drvier and tracker and a lot of the other lodges relied on us if they were looking for animals.

Meal times were: coffee and biscuits at 5am, stop for refreshments on the morning drive, cooked breakfast on return to the lodge, afternoon tea at 4pm, sundowner drinks on the afternoon drive and then a fabulous three course meal on return at about 8.30pm. They do all they can to accommodate individual needs from small children to fussy eaters.

The accommodation was wonderful, separate air-conditioned en-suite lodges with outdoor showers (need new shower heads, I was chasing the water around the deck!) and private balcony where you could sit and watch the animals parade past (a little bit scary!). The pool was a bit 'off-colour' and quite small but wonderful to sit in and look over the edge to the water-hole and watch the animals.

You were very much in the company of the people in your jeep for a lot of the day - 3 hours of driving and meals are ate with them as well so would imagine it could be a bit difficult if you didn't get on with them.

Not a cheap holiday but well worth every penny. I would highly recommend both the game reserve and the lodge. 5 stars to both!

5  Thank KimJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elisabettacarmignani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer in der Nähe des Haupthause liegen näher am Wasserloch
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wildhundfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank lzanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
482 reviews
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
150 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $599 - $2,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, South African Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing