We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impodimo is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Our family had a wonderful three night stay at Impodimo. Chris, our ranger; Ernest, our tracker, and Michelle and Lenae, who managed the lodge, and everyone else at Impodimo were wonderful hosts. Our game drives were fantastic, although we will need to come back to find the elusive leopard and the wild dogs. The food was terrific, and our room (the family villa) was incredible. Highlights included watching 11 giraffe come up the hill to drink from the water hole in front of our room, getting trapped in our room by a bull elephant who decided to breakfast immediately outside, and watching Ernest head off into the bush to try to track down a lion on foot. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 364 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

We just got back from a grand trip that included a few nights at Impodimo. I cannot say enough good things about this place. I had researched carefully where to stay and I know that I picked the perfect place. This was our 3rd safari (one at Kruger, another Zimbabwe) and our favorite.
The accommodations are just as the website portrays- up to the minute bathrooms, fabulous outdoor showers, shining wood floors and a most comfortable bed with the requisite mosquito netting etc. Every night after dinner our fire was lit as we entered our room and there is another surprise that I don't want to write (can't spoil it!) about but it just showed the high level of attention that we received. There was coffee/tea making facilities in the room which we used alot in the early morning as we sat on the deck gazing at the scenery. Our chalet (#3) had a beautiful raised wooden deck that gave me some sense of security. Some had their decks level with the ground and literally in the middle of the bush. The couples in those also loved there setup so I guess it's a matter of personal preference. They do not have wifi but let us use there computer in the office as we had to check in with our office on occassion. The breakfasts and dinners were all inside the main lodge as it was very chilly at night but they have a dining boma that would have been nice as well. We were seated with the other couples from our game drive and our driver, Travis (Brad Pitt look alike) joined us at every meal. The meals were great and they had taken careful note of my husband's very particular diet from the info sheet that we had filled out prior to our trip.It was one guest's birthday and at lunch by the pool they brought out a cake which was shared with all of the guests and the entire staff came to sing a native birthday song. Every game drive included a sunset drink stop or coffee break in the bush. After the evening drives we mingled around the roaring fire and they had appetizers and drinks waiting. After dinner Travis walked everyone back to their room , rifle in hand.

Now- the lions. One morning we had to stay in our chalet as there was a lion sitting on the path just outside our door! We could actually hear him breathing through the walls. They had called our room to warn us but we had heard the lion sounds already and weren't going out until they were gone! Another couple were on their deck when they heard some lions coming. They rushed into their room and two males trotted by followed by a third that stopped and looked right at them before moving on. We saw multiple lions on every game drive- once there were 7 of them resting together and we pulled up to within 20 feet of them. It was definitely scary for us but the tracker and driver said that we had nothing to worry about and I guess we didn't. They did say that there aren't usually that many so we hit a good week. There were plenty of other animals-each drive was amazing. I wished that there were more hours in each day.....

We had a driver (Waterberg Transfers) take us from Sun City to the reserve, and then back to Pretoria. I am glad we did that because we would have been nervous driving the small dirt roads with sometimes large animals walking in them through the reserve to our lodging. I cannot even imagine getting lost or car trouble once inside the gates at Madikwe.

Overall this may be the most memorable travel experience that we have ever had. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We were very happy to stay here for a few days last month. We enjoyed the stylish set up, the good food being served, the interiors of the common areas and the chalets, and most of all, the fact that elephants come right up to the swimming pool to take a sip at noon. If you stay here, request chalets 2-4 for a great view of the watering hole beneath. Nice to see that this lodge also has African trackers, though most of the guides were white only. The only minor grudge is that like many other lodges, there's a lack of a small fitness room. Great location, experiences and service otherwise...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed in the family suite for four nights. Very nice and spacious, with separate rooms, big bathrooms (and two outdoor showers!), a large living room, large private sun deck (incl. a small pool, sometimes used by the elephants for a drink if you forget to cover it with the net) with a view to the waterhole, all very private. We also had the car (with driver and tracker) for ourselves during the stay (as a part of the family package), making all drives tailor made for our wishes :-)

Four nights is a bit longer than the average two-three nights, but the advantage is less stress to cover all big 5 (if you are lucky enough to see the leopard, as we were at our first drive), and everything else you might want to try to see during your stay.

The atmosphere at the lodge, the genuine and perfect service by all at Impodimo (in particular our driver), the quality of the food, and not at least the Madikwe reserve itself makes it hard for us to believe that anything could be more perfect for us. Recommended, in particular if you are traveling with kids.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HksogKk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Impodimo Game Lodge at Madikwe is indescribable. You have to go there to understand how amazing the lodge and game reserve is. I have travelled a lot and can not think of another holiday experience or place that can beat my time at the lodge.
The staff are excellent and the game drives and wildlife are UNREAL. The intimate size of the lodge (only 10-12 lodges if I remember correctly) makes the experience and game drives more intimate and special. The memories will stay with me forever and I can recommend Impodimo to everyone. I would stay here again and again if I could afford it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The decor, the service, the made to order breakfasts and gourmet dinners were impeccable! The knowledge and love of nature from our driver Cornell and tracker Bob, made our drives so exciting. Ever ytime we thought we had seen the best of the best sights, we were surprised to see even more! We wouldn't even consider going anywhere else other than Impodimo! Thanks also , to the staff with their dancing and singing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianRiverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We were part of a large group traveling in South Africa. There were 20 of us at Impodimo and we occupied every room/chalet there. The experience we all had was out of this world!! The first night when out on the game drive a storm came in but we were able to continue our drive in the rain. On the drives we were able to see kudu, impala, zebra, elephants, lions, cape buffalo and several diferent birds and smaller animals. Our guide and tracker made every effort to find the animals were were hoping to see and they did a fantastic job! The staff in the lodge were also a big part of making the experience so wonderful. They were all so kind, they could not have done a better job! When we weren't on the game drives the lodge and the rooms are the most beautiful places to relax in. From the pool we saw kudu, zebra and elephants. We woke up in the morning to the noises of elephants and birds all around. We did not want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueTravelers006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
204 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
284 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $715 - $2,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, South African Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing