We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Impodimo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay including the accommodation (rooms 9 & 10 are the best) the food, and the game drives. Our ranger Tyrone and tracker Ernie were fantastic, we saw all the game you could wish for including Cheetah, Lions and Wild Dogs after a kill. Will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Front Office Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Graeme D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful weekend with us and that Tyrone and Ernest were able to show you so many different animals.

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We look forward to hosting you again one day in the future at Impodimo Game Lodge.

Best regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    18
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
119
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with the experience with Impodimo. Quite understated, and not as formal as some other lodges, which only added to the exceptional natural experience had there. You feel very much at one with your surroundings.
The staff are lovely, and Tyrone - our guide - could not have been more passionate, enthusiastic and helpful on the game drives. Definitely worth trying to get a room overlooking the watering hole. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Front Office Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear HJMS

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our beautiful lodge.

We are thrilled to hear that you have had an exceptional stay at Impodimo Game Lodge.
Thank you for the positive feedback and we hope to see you again one day.

Best regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Impodimo and enjoyed every minute there. Very nice and helpful staff, the accommodation (chalets) are spacious, well equipped and really gives you a Hemingway feeling. Rangers are well experienced, and will do all they can to give you an unforgettable experience of Wildlife.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet close to the waterhole....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miracolimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Front Office Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Miracolimuc

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Impodimo Game Lodge.

We look forward to hosting you again one day.

Best regards

The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon and we had the most amazing and unforgettable time. The lodge is so comfortable and luxurious, the food was outstanding, the service we received from all of the staff was exceptional and the extra honeymoon surprises we received from the lodge were so special and personal. The game drives were fantastic, our guide Patrick and tracker Holiday were brilliant, they were so passionate and knowledgeable about the animals and the area. The attention to detail at Impodimo is amazing, from the moment you arrive at the lodge you are made to feel so important and special. We were not ready to leave after 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer, it is an absolutely magical place and we hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Incredibly intimate safari experience. Been fortune to do multiple safaris but this blew me away. Expert rangers and trackers. Dining under the stars. Beautiful lodges that overlook watering hole. A holiday never to forget. Priceless. Thank you all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ejlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've been to the bush about 15 times and usually stay in private, self-catering lodges, so this was the first time I've stayed in a luxury lodge. Let me say that my first experience with luxury lodges was AMAZING! The staff is incredible! The food tasted like it came out of a Michelin starred restaurant. The rooms are beautiful and come with everything you'll ever need - and more. The game drives are perfect! Our ranger was Ruan and our tracker was Sam. They made sure that we saw the Big 5, as well as wild dog, cheetah and everything else. This is the first trip that I've seen everything. My gf and I even got massages on our outdoor patio with giraffes eating right next to us. And to cap it all off, this was one of the cheaper places we came across when planning our trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the watering hole. You'll be able to see more game from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just came back from 3 nights at Impodimo Lodge. We spent a further three nights at another Madikwe Lodge (Jaci's) that paled in comparison. The best: the west side of the reserve seems to be just covered with wildlife. We saw the big five, plus got to follow a pack of 5 wild dogs for a half hour, saw all other types of beasties, etc. Wonderful guide of Patrick with his tracker partner Holiday. Food was great and a ton of it, just know that you will spend every breakfast and dinner with your guide and the other people in your jeep so it's just chance if you have a great group. We had wonderful other people to converse with, and asking Patrick more questions was really great too. Our six year old kids loved it, the only drawback for them was the pretty yucky white-colored pool water--they would have liked to get in but after hearing about a wild dog chase ending up with an impala drowning in the deep end kind of wrecked their interest. The views of the watering hole and all the visiting beasties is priceless. The first day, an elephant mom and kid came by within 10 minutes of our arrival, passing right by our window. Then giraffe, impala, etc.

Make sure to bring games and fun for your kids. The kiddie room will not keep them entertained. We had electronic help and it worked out just fine!

HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which had a great view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
13.8 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
11.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
18.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
11.3 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Property: Impodimo Game Lodge
Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing