We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible lodge, terrible two year olds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just returned from a weekend in Madikwe. We love Madikwe and have stayed at many of the lodges, this was the first time we stayed at Impodimo. The lodge was delightful, setting beautiful, the staff friendly, food good and our ranger and tracker really knowledgable and great guys. As always with Madikwe the animal sighting were incredible. HOWEVER we had to endure all our meals subject to the whims of a 2 year old. We love kids and really 5, 6, 8 10 year olds are no problem at all. A tired, cranky stressed two year old (as she keeps getting tricked and left behind as the parents/grandparents leave her and go on game drives for 4 hours at a time) was not enjoyable. Each meal revolved around all 4 adults speaking only to the kid in loud animated voices. Every breakfast regressed as the kid got more stressed as she knew she was about to be left again,the same chaos at high tea. Then of course there was dinner at 9pm and she was still up as she had to fit into the day's scheudle of the parents...so of course cranky. A game farm is about peaceful quality time, not this at all. Should Impodimo allow one two three four year olds? There is a reason most parents with 1,2,3,4 year olds take them to other types of holidays. Holidays where you can spend quality time with your kids, holidays equipped for two year olds.Should the lodge rather given them there own table or set up for them to eat in the room. Given the immense dangers I am also intrigued that a lodge without fences would conisder accomoating crying two year olds. They cannot particpate in the kids programmes, they cannot go on drives, they cannot fit into the lodges schedules (early breakfasts and late dinners). We paid good money for a quite peaceful few days with nature, away from JHB chaos. Should guests not be warned that they will have to share all meals with a cranky two year old and parents/grand parents who demand that we must all show empathy to what they are going through? We never had the luxury of the ranger walking us back to our lodge to freshen up for dinner as they always had to rush off with the guilt ridden parents.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 370 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fantastic weekend getaway to Impodimo Game Lodge. Flying from Cape Town to Lanseria and then driving to the lodge seemed like a long journey, but boy were we glad we made the trip. The lodge and its setting are spectacular, the staff very welcoming and professional, the food was fabulous and of course our highlight was the game viewing. We were blown away by what we saw and how close we got to the animals. Our game ranger and tracker were fantastic, and their knowledge of the bush, and the animals, was truly impressive. They were friendly, professional, very safety conscious and fun to be around. I would highly recommend a visit to this special place. Thank you once again to the team at Impodimo for making our bush experience so special. We will be back. John

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPSCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Impodimo game lodge is a very special place. I have returned here several times and the game sightings always amaze me, the staff are friendly yet discret and very accommodating. The rooms are luxurious and private. I would certainly recommend this lodge, and the deluxe suite as an option for a family

Room Tip: Deluxe suite for a family or rooms one or two overlooking the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawfordct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A weekend filled with memories. From the amazing food and hospitality to many spectacular wildlife experiences. Our luxurious room overlooked the watering hole as elephants, giraffes, kudu and lion passed by. Our second day was highlighted by a lion kill...poor warthog. Our ranger and guide were experienced and seemed to know exactly where to go to get up close to the action. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPDLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

An amazing weekend. Beautiful lodge with friendly and professional staff. Delicious food and outstanding games drives. Saw a one month old white baby rhino, lions mating and a lion kill. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieBlaensdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at impodimo for just one night as a weekend getaway from Johannesburg. We started driving saturday morning, reached at around 2, were welcomed with a refreshing juice and while we were checking in, we saw elephants near the swimming pool..!!! :-)
The room was beautiful.. It has glass doors so you can see the view from bed, And a beautiful outdoor shower which i loved..!!! there is a balcony overlooking the waterhole which is lit up at night.
There were high tea kinda sandwiches and sweet bites with tea before the game drive starts.
The game drive was nice, the rangers were knowledgeable, we saw a leopard kill a fighting impala..! (we saw the actual kill for the first time!) and elephants.. no lions/cheetah/wild dogs..
We had sundowners with wine and snack bites (dry snacks and freshly made snacks, both).
The dinner was nice.
We went on a morning safari after a quick coffee and biscuits.
The brunch was very delicious. It had multiple cooked entrees (both veg and non-veg).
We spent a lot of time after brunch near the pool. there were hundreds of different beautiful birds around..!! The swimming pool has a feel of a natural pond which i liked very much. Sadly, no elephants came to drink from the pool that day. :-( but we enjoyed watching the birds..! :-)
We left at around 4 and drove back to Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Going to the bush for more than 10 years Impodimo is definitely the lodge we would return immediately. What makes it very special is not only the fact that it is unfenced but also their very passionate and commited ranger and tracker, Kornel and Sam. Witnessing an impala killed- and eaten - by a bunch of wild dogs was the highlight of our stay. Also the herd of ellies visiting the pool for a drink is unforgettable. The only downside was that the childcare facilities are rather limited, a little dark attic room with tv running 24/7, more children watching than entertaining. Luckily our kids are old enough to join us on game drives, but our friends were unhappy with the situation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
630 reviews
17 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
298 reviews
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
223 reviews
1 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
312 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $773 - $2,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, South African Hotels and Cancelon so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing