We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent two nights at Impodimo late October and it was fantastic! The staff was awesome Ty, Benny , Melissa, Matt all over the top . We watch elephants from out veranda for 3 hours !!!
The food and service , our own little cottage w/ great bathroom.
Thank you all!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weener51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Imopdimo was everything I expected and more. The lodges wrere 5 star, The staff were extremley efficient and very helpful. I have to say a big thank you to our Ranger Patrick who was very informative. He was on all our game drives, he ate breakfast and evening meals with us and was a font of knowledge when it came to animals.
The lodge was perfect, The views from the Bath were amazing, after a long game drive there was nothing better than to have a soak in the huge bath tub and watch Game stroll past. The food was exceptional and they staff were very accomadating if you wanted something different from what was on the menu. All lodges were far enough away from each other so privacy was guaranteed.

All in all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I really appreciated my stay at impodimo lodge. Great food, nice huts, elephants that come drink in the pool, very good gamedrives. Furthermore the ranger joined for all meals and therefore it was very informative.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My partner and I went for 4 nights to Impodimo Lodge. You can fly in from Johannesburg or drive from Johannesburg (approx. 4,5 hours). The lodge sleeps 20 people so one doesn't feel that there are too many people at any time. Generally we had 6 people on our game vehicle which made for very comfortable game viewing. The thatched cottages are beautifully done and the bed is extremely comfortable. There are two watering holes right at the lodge and there were always elephant having mud baths, but we saw many buck there as well - 2 resident klipspringers, kudu, buffalo, as well as giraffe. The game is plentiful - this time of year is very dry but there are watering holes that are artificially fed via underground aquifers. The trackers and rangers are passionate about what they do and gave out information happily. One morning we went for a bush walk with one of the rangers which is always fantastic as you get to see and learn about the plants and smaller creatures. The weather at this time of the year is fantastic, around 36 deg during the day with no mosquitoes, so a great time of the year to go to the bush.
The food was excellent as well and all in all we had an absolutely awesome stay and will definitely return. This place is a must. ( For those with families or wanting complete privacy, there is a house right near the watering hole that sleeps 4 - 6 with its own kitchen, cook, vehicle etc.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the watering hole as not all rooms had a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandygCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

With three kids, including a 5 year old, we debated many things prior to booking our safari trip. We chose Madikwe based on it being a very large reserve but not open to public driving, Malaria free and its proximity to Joburg where we were spending the earlier part of our trip. We spent three nights at Impodimo during late September 2012 in late winter. We almost chose another lodge which had a fenced in camp which we felt would be safer for the kids but instead chose Impodimo which has no fences. The open camp experience was truly magical for our kids and now we could not imagine doing it another way...when we walked into the camp with the staff helping with our bags and opened the door to the "boys cottage", just 10 meters away stood a giraffe grazing on a tree...no fence. The look on the kids (and adults) faces when the elephants came into camp and took a drink from the swimming pool was magical. Keep in mind that because the elephants were drinking from the pool daily it was difficult to keep the pool as clean as you would typically expect - our kids chose not to swim but were too excited about seeing the elephants daily to be bummed about not swimming. We could not imagine doing a safari in a fenced camp now.

Our cottages (we chose to spend the extra money as our booking advisor rightly let us know that while doable, putting 5 in one cottage would not be too comfortable) were very comfortable. The canopy beds were very comfortable. We had both indoor and outdoor showers (first time I have had a shower interrupted by an elephant...) and a large soaking tub which my wife used each night after the kids went to bed. They also each had an outdoor sitting area which was nice in the afternoons between drives.

Game drives - our first concern was whether our 5 year old would be allowed on the adult drives 3+ hours and how she would do. The first game drive answered all questions. The lodge and our guide Ignatius, allowed us to give it a try and it went wonderfully. We saw elephants, rhino, lions, giraffe, ostrich, hyena, zebra, buffalo, baboons, kudo, impala, heartibeast (sp?), hair, crocodile and lots of interesting birds. Highlights included driving right into the middle of a pride of 11 lions and watching the three month old cubs wrestle two meters from us; watching a group of female lions take off up a hill to chase away a group of noisy baboons, watching two bull elephants fight each other (our guide go us within 5 meters), parking the jeep in front of a herd of 100 buffalo which then grazed around and past us. Ignatius was wonderfully knowledgeable and patient with our kids questions. He and Sam, our tracker - Impodimo jeeps have both a tracker and a guide so you have two sets of eyes spotting things - were constantly finding things for the kids to look at (if there were no big animals after a while they would find an interesting bird.

In September, be prepared for wide swings in temperature...+80degrees F in the afternoons and down to the 40s F at night and in the morning..bring layers of clothing that can be shed as the morning drive goes on and then put back on once the sun goes down.

The food was wonderful and Mathew, manager, was very helpful at finding something for the kids to eat...they want to help so if you do not hear something on the menu your kids will eat, let them know. Our fears that it would be uncomfortably cold eating dinner outside were solved when they brought around large hot water bottles to set on everyone's lap. The Springbok Steak dinner was particularly delicious.

Gratuities and additional costs: As noted in other reviews, they do charge for drinks at dinner and on game drives other than coffee, tea, hot chocolate (our kids had lots of hot chocolate and we were not charged extra for this as noted in some other reviews) and water. Note that the prices are listed in your room binder so you can plan accordingly. The prices for drinks at dinner and on the drives are the same as those listed for the minibar in your room. Also plan accordingly for gratuities for your guides, trackers and the general staff. Recommended gratuities, if you are very happy with your service, are: guides - R250 per day per cottage, trackers - R150 per day per cottage and no particular guidelines for the general staff. These seemed very reasonable given the level of service and individual attention we received.

Thanks to all the Impodimo staff for a wonderful, magical stay!

Room Tip: Some of the lower numbered rooms have a direct view of the watering hole. We were at the other end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The rooms were quite luxurious and decorated in line with the safari theme, with canopy beds, earthen walls, recessed lighting, addition outdoor showers (with reed branches for privacy and hanging clothes) and amenities were all present.

All the included meals are great and the ranger sits with you during dinners to entertain you with his experience stories and general knowledge.

Staff is attentive and cater to individual needs, such as kids meals and halal options. There is a kids attic in which there are a few activities such as arts and crafts, board games and DVDs.

The room terrace overlooked the watering hole where we saw Kudu's and elephants coming to drink (during winters its a common sight). Also Elephants frequently visit the hotel pool to drink from. The lodge is unfenced so at night one should not wander about. The rangers and trakers are quite knowledgeable about their trade and friendly too. we had good overall game drives.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabaSiddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My second visit to Impodimo was just as great as the first one a year ago. It is such a magical place I defy anyone to find a better lodge in Madikwe. Stayed for a week in July and saw all the big five (again). One of the highlights was the wild dog brood several hyena and the rare black rhino which I didn't see last time. The Impodimo team are just fabulous- they have a wining forumula and make everything so special for every guest. Whenever I feel blue I just picture those elephants at that water hole and the smile soon returns to my face.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 3 overlook the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winstonleatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
204 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
284 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $708 - $2,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing