We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic viewing of wild dogs !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic viewing of wild dogs !”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We chose to stay at this game reserve because we wanted to see wild dogs and we were not disappointed. We also had great viewing of lions, elephants, rhino and much more. We stayed in room 1 which was fabulous. The food and the service in general was very good, David was particularly good in anticipating the needs of guests . The gym is not really fit for use, the equipment is ancient and in poor repair and there is no air conditioning.
To get to the lodge we flew by Federal Air from Jo'burg. This was arranged through the lodge and we were informed that our return flight would leave according to our agenda. We provided the lodge with the timings of our onward itinerary including an onward flight from Jo'Burg. Shortly before our stay the lodge forwarded us details of our return flight with Federal Air to Jo'Burg. The timing did not fit with our itinerary, we would have landed after our onward flight had left. On contacting the lodge to query, we were informed that Federal Air's policies had changed and were now only doing one flight a day. Having previously provided the lodge with details of our itinerary it would have been helpful if we had been updated regarding this, allowing us to make necessary changes. However at this point it was too late and we had to arrange a transfer by car which took over 5 hours. We would not have done this by choice as my husband has a bad back and suffered discomfort and pain as a result.
On our last night at the lodge we had a private dinner in our room. Unfortunately we had been asked earlier in the day if this was something we wanted and we had been very clear in our response that it was not. We did not know that this had been arranged until we arrived in the dinner area to be told no table was set up for us. As it happened, we were the only people from our game drive actually staying that night. The people from the other vehicle were all seated together with their ranger. We got the impression that dinner in our room suited the lodge more than us being entertained in the dining area. Unfortunately this tainted our last night.
We would definitely recommend this game reserve if you want to see wild dogs. Otherwise there are probably more accessible places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BobandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
233
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Here you have an opportunity to meet a great five, enjoy the best accommodation, delicious food and stunning sunsets....I loved my two days staying in Madikwe Hills.
Dive into this wild nature and you will definitely fall in love with this place!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockabilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time at your Lodge.
Over the years having been to many game lodges in South Africa I gotta say yours ranks up there with the best.
From the Rangers, trackers and friendly staff, to the stunning accommodation, we stayed in Little Madikwe, you have a truly wonderful lodge.
Maybe we were lucky, but the amount of game we saw was stunning. To see the Big 5 and in fact the magnificent 7 in a space of three days was truly memorable.
Most of all it was a wonderful experience for my kids.
We will definitely be back some time in the future.

Room Tip: Little Madikwe if you are a family with two kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I don't think there is any better! Every thing was absolutely amazing. The game drives were very entertaining and factual thanks too great rangers and trackers. Overall one of the best 3 days of my life!

Room Tip: They are all amazing to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanKatz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent in Madikwe Hills 2 nights. We enjoyed great safari with 2 very good guides. The Suites are awesome and the food is delicious. The staff is friendly and helpful. It was a very good time!
Perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This will always be my bench mark of a 5 star game lodge. The passion, eye for detail, service, position, decor, kids activities, and the most passionate ranger I have ever had. Andre Nel embodies the right balance of passion, bravery, humour, and knowledge that makes a game drive an experience that will be remembered for ever. The kids loved him too. Well done guys keep up the standard!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro, Rj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wonderful lodge, very professional and nice staff. We loved our stay and saw all big five and much more! The accessibility from Joburg through Fed Air shuttle flight makes it perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gstar_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
433 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
274 reviews
11.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
339 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge

Property: Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve | North West, Madikwe Game Reserve 2865, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traversing over 75 000 hectares, Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge is situated on a hill, in the heart of the malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve. Ingeniously set amongst boulders and age-old Tamboti trees, the lodge offers visitors the utmost in luxury and hospitality, where you will find yourself enchanted by a world of intrigue and majestic beauty. Madikwe Game Reserve stretches all the way up to the Botswana border and is one the largest and most popular game reserves in South Africa. Once farm land, the Reserve has now been restored to its former natural environment with 86 mammals (from mice to elephant), 420 bird species (110 being rare) and 104 tree species. Predominantly grasslands and bushveld, intermingled with lone mountains and rocky outcrops, the Reserve is home to cheetahs, wild dogs, leopards, hyenas, lion, elephant, black & white rhino, buffalo, zebra, giraffe and various antelope. • Two 3-hour game drives a day (morning and afternoon) • 'Big 5' game viewing in state-of-the-art game-viewers • Tea, filter coffee and biscuits on morning game drive • Drinks and canapes on afternoon game drive • Bush breakfasts and dinners on request for larger groups MAIN CAMP • 10 Secluded glass fronted suites (±150m2) • Uninterrupted views of the African bush • Private deck with plunge pool • Air-conditioning • Fans • Fireplaces • Fully stocked mini-bar • Indoor and outdoor showers • Mosquito nets • Private lounge Little Madikwe (Family Friendly Camp) Little Madikwe comprises of a 2 Bedroomed Suite (±390m2). An additional 2 Luxury Suites (±150m2) can be reserved to form a completely private camp accommodating up to 8 guests. • Private deck and swimming pool • Air-conditioning and fans • Fireplaces • Fully stocked mini-bar • Indoor and outdoor showers • Mosquito nets • Private lounge, verandah and dining room • Private kitchen with personal chef - set your own meal time • Private game drive vehicle and game ranger - set your own game drive time • Personal butler/child minder • Entertainment centre • Satellite television and DVD collection • Various CD's and children's games • Small library FACILITIES IN MAIN LODGE • Lounge • Dining Room • Bar • Wine Cellar • Local wines • Terraced viewing deck with umbrellas overlooking waterhole • Swimming Pool • Library - stocked with a comprehensive selection of books • Internet Facilities - desktop with wireless internet connection available 24 hours • Satellite Television at the main building in the Lounge • Traditional Boma • Curio Shop Well stocked with books, clothing, safari gear, handmade knives, shoes, bags, jewellery, postcards and local arts & crafts. WELLNESS Set the mind at ease and embrace the energy of the bush. Experience Spafaris with soul of Africa. From our enchanting world, secrets are revived and re-created to bring you, for the first time, a unique spa concept based on a fusion o f ancient healing tradition, philosophies and rituals from Africa. To reconnect to nature, to realise, to recover and to relax... In holistic therapy, our body "energy" is the universal life force that governs personal wellbeing and vitality. The signature treatments are concentrates on establishing and maintaining a balance between our body energies. The new range Wisdom of Africa blended indigenous botanical ingredients from all over the continent of Africa, that natures mind, body and spirit. They give us an idea of African healing traditions and a chance to re-awaken, to touch the inner self again. Fully Equipped Gym The fully quipped gym at Madikwe Hills, with treadmill, spinning bike, rowing machine, fitness flyer, weights and bench, dumbbells and barbells and aerobic mats, allows guests to keep up with their fitness regime, or a place to release the guilt built up after indulging in mouth-watering delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Hills Private Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing