We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Willebroek, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent lodging”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A true luxury experience in the bush.
Beautiful large rooms with all the modern comfort.
Excellent food for every taste.
We have also seen the "big five" enjoying the morning game drive.
In the evening we even saw 16 wild dogs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    20
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
107
245
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff were all wonderful. Nothing was ever a problem. Game personnel extremly knowledgable and great with the kids. They made our 10 year olds birthday one he will never forget such special people. We stayed 2 nights and seen the magnificent 7. If you are contemplating a safari the medekwe hills is the number one choice. I could not fault a thing besides needing a new wardrobe on leaving due to all the magnificent food our chef prepared. We loved our stay 5 stars all the way

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJOE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Madikwe Hills. We are big fans of bush getaways and have stayed in many different private reserves in the past, including Madikwe, Sabi Sands, Phinda, the Okavango Delta, the Waterberg, amongst others, and we have stayed at many different lodges too. This is our 6th visit to Madikwe, and, by far, our best yet! The accommodation at Madikwe Hills is beautiful, comfortable and immaculately clean. The rooms are so private you feel like you're in your own private piece of the reserve. The food is excellent and unfussy and service is very good and unobtrusive.
The lodge is well situated in the centre of the Madikwe reserve which means that no area in the park is unreachable (this was not the case when we stayed in lodges towards the extremities of the reserve in the past). The variety and concentration of game was phenomenal and we had very special sightings, including seeing the Big 5 in one game drive.
Madikwe Hills provided the ideal getaway for me as I am currently pregnant - the reserve is Malaria-free and the staff was incredibly accommodating of my dietary needs.
Our treatments at the spa were nice, but the spa rooms are a little more practical than pampering.
Notable experiences were enjoying balmy afternoons in our private splash pool, a candle lit bath prepared by the staff in time for our return from our evening game drive with the doors wide open to the outside air, and watching the playful jackal puppies being fed by their devoted parents.
We will not hesitate to book Madikwe Hills again and we are sure we will return to this lodge in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent four days at Madikwe Hills and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel, welcome, relaxed and special. Duane our ranger and Samuel our tracker ensured that every outing was memorable from watching a pack of wild dogs protect their kill from jackals only to surrender it to a hyaena , being followed briefly by a massive bull elephant and having the opportunity to watch lions courting and mating- and those were just a few of the highlights!
The accommodation was first class with attention to detail throughout - the food was delicious and the BOMA was great fun with all the lodge team entertaining us by singing traditional African music and dancing . This was our first safari adventure and we will hopefully return . Big thanks to Hennes , Duane send all the Madikwe team!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Themagicrat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

my wife and I have been to Madikwe Hills 3 times, first for our Honeymoon and two special occasions since. We are bush-mad people and have been lucky enough to spend a lot of time in various bush locations over the years. Madikwe Hills has always been our benchmark.

the setting is amazing - close to bush level for a private and authentic bush experience. It's a beautiful lodge with large and bush-stylish rooms. The staff are clearly well looked after as they are motivated and professional and many are the same faces we saw the first time we went in 2009.

The food is worldclass.

I don't have a bad word to say about this amazing lodge.

Room Tip: they're all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed 5 days here at the Little Madikwe private villa. The very first day we were there we almost accomplished the Big 5. It was amazing to be so close with the wild life. We had Sam and Herman as our guide and tracker, they are the best. Sam really takes his time to explain any question you might have. We hear that this was the place to view wild dogs, Sam tracked these dogs for 2 days we just seemed to miss them every time. But on day two when the other trackers gave up Sam didn't and we were treated to these illusive dogs watching them snack on a dead Rhino who had just passed away from old age...words cant describe this event.

The staff at the Villa are the best, we had Unity making us the best salads and anything else we needed. Over all this was a trip of a life time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had never been to this reserve as it is quite far north, but heard that Madikwe is known for wild dogs so decided to book. We were well rewarded and were fortunate to see a whole family of wild dogs during our stay. Although we only saw 4 of the big 5, we also had a good sighting of a black rhino mother with her calf. It wasn't the best time for birding, as all the spring/summer birds had not arrived yet.
We travelled via Zeerust to get there and it took about 4.5hrs or so. Roadworks are being done on parts of the route between Rustenburg and Zeerust.
In summary:
Rooms- VERY large and spacious,clean, with quality furnishings and amenities
Food- delicious, exceeded expectations, variety. Wine selection quite comprehensive (drinks not included in the rate)
Game drive experiences- we have been quite spoilt with visits to other reserves so although the experience was very good- there were areas we felt were not the best, but everyone has different requirements.
Spa- massage was average
Service- excellent- professional with attention detail

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incredul0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
0.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
471 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
353 reviews
10.8 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
190 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge

Property: Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve | North West, Madikwe Game Reserve 2865, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traversing over 75 000 hectares, Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge is situated on a hill, in the heart of the malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve. Ingeniously set amongst boulders and age-old Tamboti trees, the lodge offers visitors the utmost in luxury and hospitality, where you will find yourself enchanted by a world of intrigue and majestic beauty. Madikwe Game Reserve stretches all the way up to the Botswana border and is one the largest and most popular game reserves in South Africa. Once farm land, the Reserve has now been restored to its former natural environment with 86 mammals (from mice to elephant), 420 bird species (110 being rare) and 104 tree species. Predominantly grasslands and bushveld, intermingled with lone mountains and rocky outcrops, the Reserve is home to cheetahs, wild dogs, leopards, hyenas, lion, elephant, black & white rhino, buffalo, zebra, giraffe and various antelope. • Two 3-hour game drives a day (morning and afternoon) • 'Big 5' game viewing in state-of-the-art game-viewers • Tea, filter coffee and biscuits on morning game drive • Drinks and canapes on afternoon game drive • Bush breakfasts and dinners on request for larger groups MAIN CAMP • 10 Secluded glass fronted suites (±150m2) • Uninterrupted views of the African bush • Private deck with plunge pool • Air-conditioning • Fans • Fireplaces • Fully stocked mini-bar • Indoor and outdoor showers • Mosquito nets • Private lounge Little Madikwe (Family Friendly Camp) Little Madikwe comprises of a 2 Bedroomed Suite (±390m2). An additional 2 Luxury Suites (±150m2) can be reserved to form a completely private camp accommodating up to 8 guests. • Private deck and swimming pool • Air-conditioning and fans • Fireplaces • Fully stocked mini-bar • Indoor and outdoor showers • Mosquito nets • Private lounge, verandah and dining room • Private kitchen with personal chef - set your own meal time • Private game drive vehicle and game ranger - set your own game drive time • Personal butler/child minder • Entertainment centre • Satellite television and DVD collection • Various CD's and children's games • Small library FACILITIES IN MAIN LODGE • Lounge • Dining Room • Bar • Wine Cellar • Local wines • Terraced viewing deck with umbrellas overlooking waterhole • Swimming Pool • Library - stocked with a comprehensive selection of books • Internet Facilities - desktop with wireless internet connection available 24 hours • Satellite Television at the main building in the Lounge • Traditional Boma • Curio Shop Well stocked with books, clothing, safari gear, handmade knives, shoes, bags, jewellery, postcards and local arts & crafts. WELLNESS Set the mind at ease and embrace the energy of the bush. Experience Spafaris with soul of Africa. From our enchanting world, secrets are revived and re-created to bring you, for the first time, a unique spa concept based on a fusion o f ancient healing tradition, philosophies and rituals from Africa. To reconnect to nature, to realise, to recover and to relax... In holistic therapy, our body "energy" is the universal life force that governs personal wellbeing and vitality. The signature treatments are concentrates on establishing and maintaining a balance between our body energies. The new range Wisdom of Africa blended indigenous botanical ingredients from all over the continent of Africa, that natures mind, body and spirit. They give us an idea of African healing traditions and a chance to re-awaken, to touch the inner self again. Fully Equipped Gym The fully quipped gym at Madikwe Hills, with treadmill, spinning bike, rowing machine, fitness flyer, weights and bench, dumbbells and barbells and aerobic mats, allows guests to keep up with their fitness regime, or a place to release the guilt built up after indulging in mouth-watering delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Hills Private Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing