We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morukuru Farm House as luxurious as Morukuru Lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Morukuru Farm House as luxurious as Morukuru Lodges”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

In 2008 we visited Morukuru Lodges in Madikwe Game Reserve with our young son and we had an excellent time. Private and exclusive: 7-star rating. But this time (Oct. 2010) we returned to stay at the new and improved Morukuru Farm House, where we also met with friends travelling through Africa. THIS WAS WONDERFUL! When you're travelling with a group or larger family, this is the place to be! So very hospitable and complete. Luxury with a layed back feeling, privacy or fun in joining the group: everything is possible. Great couple that manages and organizes game drives and a very good tracker. Great food, even greater wines. We saw lots of animals, also when we bush walked. We can absolutely recommend Morukuru Farm House and Morukuru Lodges! Real value for money and a great experience!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhoogvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
229
38
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

One of our most exciting visits was to the Morukuru estate in South Africa.
Once we arrived in Johannesburg , a guide escorted us to the Morukuru private airplane. A first class trip to a dream holiday, as we experienced later.
After landing in the bush the rangers were waiting for us. In a open jeep a nice trip followed to our destination. All stress disappeared at once.
Arriving at the owners house, the staff was awaiting us with a big smile and cocktails. It felt like coming home after a long trip.
Because of my work and relations I’ve seen a lot, but I was flabbergasted after looking at the house. Beautiful ,luxurious ,elegant and with all modern details you can imagine, but still African .
Very well done!
It was a bless to stay here. Every morning a big smile from one of the butlers. Daily with ranger Kevin and Tommy on game drive.
And guess what, this time we’ve seen all the big five ! The two just didn’t give up till we’d seen also the Leopard. And we saw even more. Wild dogs, the brown Hyena…
Luce surprised us with a warm nice smelling bath, surrounded with candles and rose leaves. How romantic.
It’s too much to write all down. You just have to experience yourself. It’s pure overindulgence from beginning to the end, with a staff it’s hard to say goodbye to .
So we just have to return.


Monique Collignon

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abacadabra046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We cannot stop raving about our amazing vacation at Morukuru! We stayed at the Lodge with five young children (ages 5-10) and it was, by far, the best part of our trip to South Africa. Amy, Anthony, Jabu and everyone at the Lodge made us feel like family. They were so wonderful, attentive and never intrusive. The 5 star meals were so incredible - we wanted to bring Asion home with us! I have traveled all over the world and have never had such amazing service!!! We all went in with pretty high expectations and the Morukuru family far exceeded them. Fireplaces in each bedroom, the most comfortable (heated) beds you've ever slept in, gorgeous architecture and furnishings, wireless internet, totally flexible schedules, INCREDIBLE game drives (thanks to Anthony and Tom, our tracker), fantastic people - Morukuru is first-class all the way! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunLikeYouMeanIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The farmhouse was absolutely amazing. The staff was wonderful, making us feel comforatable. We were treated like royalty, even our children. The game drives were customized to meet our needs (see the best game); the guide and ranger/tracker allowed the kids to drive the vehicle and be trackers (in safe areas of course). The butler, cooks, and remainder of the staff also were inclusive of the kids; playing soccer with them in the front yard, allowing them to cook/bake local foods, teach them about nature, etc. As for the adults, we were spoiled - amazing food, wines, liquor, luxurious beds, views, hot drawn baths, etc. They not only addressed our every need, but exceeded our wildest dreams anticipating what we might like next. This is a must visit place for all. My mother-in-law vacationed with us and she had already been on 6 other, high-end safaris; she claimed that Morokuru's Farmhouse was leaps and bounds better than any other place she had been.

The highlight of our safari was the amazing breakfast we enjoyed in the middle of the game reserve overlooking zebras, impalas, nyalas, and kudu. You really should visit this hidden gem.

This resort is all-inclusive - safri drives, game reserve fees, three meals plus mid morning snack and afternoon cocktails; laundry service, entertainment, high speed internet, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I just got back from a safari at the Morukuru Lodge with friends and we all had an unbelievable time. It was truly an amazing experience. The lodge is beautiful, elegant, and luxurious. The wildlife sightings are exiting and thrilling. But, it is the staff that make this place truly exceptional. There are no words to describe the beauty and one-of-a-kind vacation that the Morukuru Lodge offers for all its guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lephalale, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Staying at Morukuru is like staying in Heaven. Early May we stayed at Morukuru with family including two young boys aged 4 and 6. It was their first South Africa experience which they will never ever forget. Finding a Morukuru-Kidz-backpack in their room with all kind of bush treasures; they could not even have dreamed of it. The friendly well trained staff caters everybodies needs in a stylish elegant atsmosphere where one can indulge supberb food and experience unspoiled wildlife all around. We witnessed 16 Lions feasting on a blou wildebeest and a herd of over 100 buffalo at a waterhole. A huge thank you to all those Morukuru-family-members, who made this possible!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopardleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We have just got back from a 3 day break at the Morukuru Lodge and it was fantastic experience. The whole team led by Gemma and Kevin were exceptional and kept us entertained, fed and watered at all times with the most fabulaous food and drink. The safari was also amazing with our fantatastic ranger and host Kevin and tracker Ferguson.
The lodge is beautiful and just like being home from home but with 10 star luxury.
We had such a great time we are planning to return in a few years with our children.
Thanks again Gemma, Kevin and the whole team.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HigginsonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
288 reviews
7.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
7.2 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
351 reviews
5.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morukuru Family Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morukuru Family Madikwe

Property: Morukuru Family Madikwe
Address: Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Morukuru Family Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morukuru Family is a collection of three exclusive-use private safari villas on private property in the Madikwe Game Reserve. Owner's House has 2 bedrooms, River House has 3 bedrooms and Farm House has 5 bedrooms. We welcome children of all ages and are very family friendly. Our 'Morukuru Freedom Concept' means that our guests have total freedom to do whatever they want, whenever they want. During their stay in one of the private houses all activities are included, as well as all meals and drinks. We provide a private gamedrive vehicle for each house, including a private guide and a tracker. The rest of the staff at the house comprises of a private chef, a butler and general housekeeping staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Morukuru Family Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morukuru Family Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing