We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still thinking about it every day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you ever want to see paradise dan you need to go to Morokuru. We staid there for 4 days and we were all crying in the car when we left there. The rooms were big, clean en beautifull, the staff was the best ever (there is really nothing to say about it). This was over the top. I think nothing can compare to this. I really will come back to Morokuru that's for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamVanLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dearest Gunther, Saskia, Ruben, Eva & little Ellen,

Morukuru is waiting for you with open arms and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again.
Thank you so much for your touching review.

We hope that you cherish your memories of Africa forever.

Until your return, we send you lots of Morukuru magic,
Eluisa and the Morukuru Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 380 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed over the long weekend and what an exception! Every level of luxury one can expect and then some; tailored game drives with a super high probability of seeing all that one wishes, accomodation with impecable thought and decor, and service unparalleled.
All of us, 6 in total, felt completely catered for in all our needs and expectations and never a consideration of any request being too much. The staff from Neil our personal Game Ranger to the staff who moved in and out without any notice tidying, clearning, and doing laundry were top class and a super asset to this beautiful place on the boarder of Botswana.
I'd recommend it a thousand times over & that is after having had reservations about going to yet another game lodge. I'm super keen on the wild but as a South African not much holds surprise (in terms of Safari's etc) but The Morukuru Family proved me thoroughly wrong. Lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Logan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dearest Logan,

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your Morukuru experience, we are even more delighted by the fact that we proved you wrong! LOL :-)

We hope to be able to welcome more of your team to Morukuru soon.

Thank you again.

With Morukuru magic,
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It´s impossible to imagine such a hotel. the rooms were very big, confortable, very beautifull as well as the hotel. the interior design of the hotel is very elegant. the food was incredible. I Think the cheff deserves a star Michelin. we saw all the animals with all the kindess of Neil and the trakers who couldn´t be more efficient. All the staff was very warm and polite. We travel a lot and say it´s my favorite hotel in the world. second it would be Villa d´Este in Cernobbio, Lago di como, and third, in Pianella,in the Tuscany in italy Le Fontanelle. I have no words to describe our experience. we are a family of 4, we went with our 8 years old daughter and our 6 year old boy.we were traited as kings. thank you very much. we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieta437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dearest Julieta, Fernando, Emma and Max,

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Morukuru and are even more delighted that we are number one on your lists of favourites!
Thank you so much for this lovely review of our special Morukuru Family.
We consider you very much part of our "Familia"!

Sending you some warm African sun!
Eluisa and the Morukuru Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the lodge in morukuru at the begining of our s.africa trip , and what a pleasant surprise it was.It was tastefully decorated , and its service really surpassed all expectations. My family were always catered to in all aspects from milk for the girls before bedtime , hot coco after our game drives , Joyce the chef making cake pops with the girls,Andrew our ranger educating the girls on how to make fire in the bush ,and the list goes on and on.

Special thanks to Carrie for looking after us , Andrew for enlightening us to thebeauty of the bush ,Joyce for the yummy meals,Evans our charming butler ,and housekeeping team for making our lodge clean and comfy.

Whats different about morukuru that readers should know is the houses are booked solely for you.There are three: owners house,the lodge and the farmhouse.

The owners house(2 bedroom) and the lodge (3 bedroom-can be turned into a 4 bedrm) are in the same vicinty.So if you are two families or groups travelling together you can book at both places and have meals and drives together.However, the farmhouse is in a different location.The farmhouse is situated within an area where animals are living (the safe animals like antelopes etc).Therefore, you could see antelopes drinking in your waterhole or eating grass or plants.Personally,I feel the farmhouse is more child-friendly than the lodge in terms of no danger hazards.Its a one storey villa.However,the outside deck of the lodge has steps going up and down and i was constantly on the look-out watching over the kids when out on the deck.Plus the pool is on the edge of the deck overlooking the bush.

Madikwe is a lovely start for introducing children to the bush since its malaria-free .

Thank you Morukuru family,cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tulips76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dearest Mejd and Family!

Thank you for taking the time to share your Morukuru experience with the Tripadvisor community.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it would give us great pleasure to welcome you all back again.....perhaps this time at our lovely Morukuru Farm House!

Wishing you everything of the best and may you cherish your Morukuru memories always.
Eluisa and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went to Murukuru with my partner and what an amazing 1 night stay. Apart from getting a bit lost, we found our way. 1. What amazed us was the reception from the gate by the manager, who came to fetch us so we did not get lost. We drove behind him till we reached the lodge. 2. The staff were waiting for us with refreshments, welcoming songs, you've got to love that reserve. 3. We were shown to our room which was also warm and welcoming. 4. Went for an evening game drive and had a sundowner in the bush,WOW! excellent. Saw most of the game. 5.Went back to the lodge and to our room to find a bath full of foam for us to unwind, candle lite (total romance). 6. Dinner was incredible, everything well planned. This was our pre-honeymoon before our wedding. I took the memory with me and always. I recommend it to couples. This is a beautiful retreat and the best spot for romance. Thank you all so much. Dipuo & Andrew

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely and they meet the satisfactory criteria. They suite the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dipuo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Andrew and Dipuo,

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Morukuru..... albeit it was far too short.

Hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer and really get to unwind in our Morukuru space.

With Morukuru magic,
Eluisa & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family of 5 just returned from 3 nights at the Lodge at Morukuru. As everyone else has said, the accommodations, food and service are truly 5 star. But, there are many lodges that offer luxury. What truly sets Morukuru apart from other lodges is the completely individualized service. Your party will not share a jeep or tracker with anyone else. You can go on game drives whenever you want - the schedule is built around you. You can stay out for one hour or 4 hours. Another thing that sets Morukuru apart is that they own private land and only Morukuru guests have access to it. We saw a lion enjoying a kill and stayed and watched for 20 minutes -- never saw a single other jeep. We experienced complete privacy and felt like we were on safari alone. Our tracker - Gummi - was amazing - 22 years of experience and he could find anything! Our driver - Anthony - could answer any question we had and shared his wealth of information about wildlife in a fun and interesting way for our whole family. There are so many things that make Morukuru special, and I won't go into all of them, because part of the magic is when the staff continually surprises you with wonderful, unexpected experiences. I recommend Morukuru without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaJkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Greetings from your Morukuru Family!

Thank you so much for sharing your Morukuru experience, it is so heartwarming and such motivation for all us to know that our "new found family members" leave with such unforgettable memories of their stay in Africa.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Madikwe awaits you as does your home in the bush.

With Morukuru magic,
Eluisa and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The 4 days and 3 nights at Morukuru was without a doubt one of the greatest vacation experiences we have ever had. The Lodge staff were wonderful. They accomodated our every need and were extremely thoughtful in going far beyond expectations. It was just incredible. My wife cried when we had to leave. Worth every minute and every penny.

Room Tip: The Lodge is perfect for a group of 5 to 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 604JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear John and Family,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others.
We are enthused that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have made wonderful memories to cherish as a family forever.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again to our little piece of heaven on earth.

With Morukuru magic,
Eluisa and the Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
16.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
366 reviews
5.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
626 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
500 reviews
7.2 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
438 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morukuru Family Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morukuru Family Madikwe

Address: Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,680 - $3,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Morukuru Family Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morukuru Family is a collection of three exclusive-use private safari villas on private property in the Madikwe Game Reserve. Owner's House has 2 bedrooms, River House has 3 bedrooms and Farm House has 5 bedrooms. We welcome children of all ages and are very family friendly. Our 'Morukuru Freedom Concept' means that our guests have total freedom to do whatever they want, whenever they want. During their stay in one of the private houses all activities are included, as well as all meals and drinks. We provide a private gamedrive vehicle for each house, including a private guide and a tracker. The rest of the staff at the house comprises of a private chef, a butler and general housekeeping staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Morukuru Family Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morukuru Family Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing