We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
231
10
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
10
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole family suite water hole game drives wild dogs outdoor shower the reserve second home cold morning drives other guests pleasure of staying ranger jacques his enthusiasm watching animals herd of elephants every meal white rhino
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 245 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2007

This was probably the most fantastic holiday of our lives. Starting with the flight in on a small aircraft onto a red dirt strip which made the whole thing feel so authentic, which it was.

The lodge was superb. The staff and Ranger (Hayden) were fantastic. The location and setting was superb with Elephant using the waterhole and the occasional huge troop of Baboons moving over the hillside.

To wake to the roar of a Lion just the other side of the hill was amazing.

The lodge was a fantastic place to chill out. The rooms were fantastic and huge with beautiful bathrooms with great views and superb outdoor showers. Each room has its own balcony (stoop) where its nice to sit and drink a bottle of local Sauvignon. The plunge pool was a great place to cool off and watch the wildlife that came past the lodge.

We hardly got bitten by mosquitoes but did take precautions with anti-mossie stuff liberally applied so we don't know if there were many there or not.

The game drives exceeded expectations by a hundred fold. To watch a herd of Elephant interacting and sploshing around in a waterhole is mesmerizing. Giraffe towering above you, Zebra with their young, the odd full tummied Lion, even a leopard from afar, did I mention the Rhino?

We both had lumps in our throats when we left.

Go!

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_D_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2006

We stayed in two different lodges in Madikwe and Tuningi topped the other one (Buffalo Ridge) in all regards. Accommodation at Tuningi is simply top notch. Most important on a safari though is the quality of the ranger and we found the difference between Tuningi's game drives and the ones of the other lodge like day and night.

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

A group of 10 women from DC stayed at Tuningi Safari Lodge after a challenging week in Rwanda. Tuningi was fabulous and provided a tranquil setting, exquisite gourmet and homestyle food, and beautifully decorated rooms with large tubs overlooking the bush, and comfy bedding. The Safari drive was fun with great touches (drinks in the bush watching the sunset) but our highlight was the accomodations. Tuningi created a respite and a fun safari setting for us. We'd love to return!

5  Thank Sightsee27877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

What a fantastic place, a beautiful setting high in the hill with amazing view, lovley people who tend to your every need. Wild life in abundance. We will have to go back and see the final one of the Big Five. The Leopard failed to come and see us but every other animal was there most days. From Lion to WartHog they charmed us, Go you cannot fail to be enchanted.

Date of stay: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Blossomcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2004

Luxurious Bush Villa that offered exclusivity and privacy. Friendly staff and excellent game viewing on Safari - offers the big 5. A 5star product at a 3 star price.

The lodge sleeps up to 16 people and can be split into two independent camps making it ideal for families and groups.

Food is well prepared and homely.

The game viewing offered a wide variety of species including the rare black rhino and wild dog.

8  Thank Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews