We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience with kids at Tuningi Lodge in Madikwe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tuningi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2007

My family (spouse and two children, ages 4 and 6) spent three nights at Tuningi and had a fantastic time. The staff is extremely friendly and while everything is first class, nothing is overly stuffy or formal. Our ranger, Haydn, was simply awesome. A real friendly guy whose passion for the bush is contagious. The lodge goes out of its way to cater to children and we were able to secure private vehicles for our game drives. Our kids joined us for the morning drive and the lodge provided a wonderful babysitter for the evenings. The food and lodging is wonderful. One advantage of Tuningi -- not all lodges in Madikwe are fenced. In the unfenced lodges, you must be escorted nearly at at all times to and from the main lodge to your own dwelling unit. Tuningi is fenced. One minor drawback -- you can't do safari walks at Tuningi as they are not yet licensed to carry firearms. I believe they are in the process of changing this. I would highly recommend Tuningi to anyone but especially anyone travelling with children.

3  Thank TravelhoundPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 223 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2007

This was probably the most fantastic holiday of our lives. Starting with the flight in on a small aircraft onto a red dirt strip which made the whole thing feel so authentic, which it was.

The lodge was superb. The staff and Ranger (Hayden) were fantastic. The location and setting was superb with Elephant using the waterhole and the occasional huge troop of Baboons moving over the hillside.

To wake to the roar of a Lion just the other side of the hill was amazing.

The lodge was a fantastic place to chill out. The rooms were fantastic and huge with beautiful bathrooms with great views and superb outdoor showers. Each room has its own balcony (stoop) where its nice to sit and drink a bottle of local Sauvignon. The plunge pool was a great place to cool off and watch the wildlife that came past the lodge.

We hardly got bitten by mosquitoes but did take precautions with anti-mossie stuff liberally applied so we don't know if there were many there or not.

The game drives exceeded expectations by a hundred fold. To watch a herd of Elephant interacting and sploshing around in a waterhole is mesmerizing. Giraffe towering above you, Zebra with their young, the odd full tummied Lion, even a leopard from afar, did I mention the Rhino?

We both had lumps in our throats when we left.

Go!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_D_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2006

We stayed in two different lodges in Madikwe and Tuningi topped the other one (Buffalo Ridge) in all regards. Accommodation at Tuningi is simply top notch. Most important on a safari though is the quality of the ranger and we found the difference between Tuningi's game drives and the ones of the other lodge like day and night.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington DC
15
Reviewed July 8, 2006

A group of 10 women from DC stayed at Tuningi Safari Lodge after a challenging week in Rwanda. Tuningi was fabulous and provided a tranquil setting, exquisite gourmet and homestyle food, and beautifully decorated rooms with large tubs overlooking the bush, and comfy bedding. The Safari drive was fun with great touches (drinks in the bush watching the sunset) but our highlight was the accomodations. Tuningi created a respite and a fun safari setting for us. We'd love to return!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

What a fantastic place, a beautiful setting high in the hill with amazing view, lovley people who tend to your every need. Wild life in abundance. We will have to go back and see the final one of the Big Five. The Leopard failed to come and see us but every other animal was there most days. From Lion to WartHog they charmed us, Go you cannot fail to be enchanted.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Blossomcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2004

Luxurious Bush Villa that offered exclusivity and privacy. Friendly staff and excellent game viewing on Safari - offers the big 5. A 5star product at a 3 star price.

The lodge sleeps up to 16 people and can be split into two independent camps making it ideal for families and groups.

Food is well prepared and homely.

The game viewing offered a wide variety of species including the rare black rhino and wild dog.

8  Thank Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank 100Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
0 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
643 reviews
0 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
521 reviews
0 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
375 reviews
0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
442 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuningi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuningi Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $743 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tuningi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuningi Safari Lodge, situated in the world renowned Big 5, malaria-free, Madikwe Game Reserve, proudly showcases this protected areas African success story in magnificent style! Tuningi offers guests superior accommodation enhanced by an impressive Big 5 safari experience and personalised service in a friendly and relaxed environment. The Lodge welcomes children and in doing so, avails them of the opportunity to experience the wonders of nature, wildlife and our delicate eco-system first-hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tuningi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuningi Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing