We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun! Beautiful camp, once-in-a-lifetime experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had so much fun at Mosetlha! I was a little concerned about the whole no running water, no electricity, but you don't even notice once you're there. Our game drives were awesome, Patrick really knew his stuff and was a lot of fun. The camp is so pretty when you come back from the evening drive, all lit up by candles, and the food is filling and delicious. Everyone who was there took a safari shower for the fun of it, and you have a lot more water than you think! I would definitely recommend Mosetlha to anyone who wants an experience and a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmc301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

A wonderful unforgettable experience! Caroline and her staff pay attention to the smallest of details. Our guide Sam was great and the game viewing was fantastic! I hope to return soon.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
Thank MarcJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have visited many game parks including Madikwe over the years. This stay at Mosethla was the best! We really liked the true bush experience - sleeping close to animals, no running water and electricity. Family owners were intimately involved and made sure our needs were met. Food was very good, appropriate to the bush and truly South African. Our guide Jonny was superb. We had 2 amazing sightings - a baby elephant fell into a waterhole and we witnessed the family helping it out, and secondly saw 1 month old lion cubs nursing and then playing with their older siblings. Our son was concerned about missing some of the World Cup. However, the international visitors all shared their stories and he enjoyed their excitement and discussing this special sports event. The 16 guests quickly became friends and this was extended as some left and new people arrived. Overall an outstanding time and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My friend and I chose Mosetlha because of its eco-friendliness, price and the fact that it wasn't a fancy resort experience. Even without the luxury of other resorts, Mosetlha is a first-rate safari experience and the camp couldn't be more well-kept or more comfortable. The guides are friendly, knowledgeable and have amazing eyes and skills at finding the animals. The food was spectacular, the ambiance friendly and the overall experience wonderful. The showers were a pleasant surprise. I'm not a fan of camping of any kind, but I didn't really feel like I was roughing it, other than the crisp weather, but that was due to the season. If you go in the winter, go prepared: bring a hat, gloves, warm jacket and pants. We saw all most of the Big 5 and the animals are beautiful, but by far the best part was Caroline and her friendly, welcoming style.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marniemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I went to Mosetlha based on a rec in Lonely Planet and the reviews here, and agree with everything that other people said. It's also a testament to Mosetlha that unlike every other place in South Africa, they didn't raise their prices during the World Cup.

A few things that may or may not come through from the other reviews - this didn't affect my rating, because we knew this coming in, but it was freezing there in June. Really freezing. And because the jeeps are completely open, you get really exposed to cold air as you're riding along. So you're covered in blankets (in addition to cold weather gear) but it's still very cold.

One slight negative, and the reason it only got 4 stars - things got monotonous fairly quickly. You wake up, go for 4hr jeep ride, go back, eat, hang out, go for 4hr jeep ride, eat, drink, hang out, go to sleep, wake up, go for 4hr jeep ride, etc. I felt like there could have been some variety (bush walk?) and also more education about the camp, the reserve, the animals, etc. I came away feeling wonderful about all the animals we'd seen, but it would have been nice for the experience to be more rounded, rather than just "look - lion!"

Anyway, that's a minor gripe, though, and ultimately I think there's something wonderful about being at a camp like Mosetlha where you're not surrounded by unnecessary luxuries, but by animals and nature.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This place was fantastic. Really makes you enjoy being in the outdoors with the ambiance and the lack of electricity. This is not a luxury lodge, but that is half the reason it is so great. We had great safaris and saw the big five except the Jaguar (saw black and white rhinos, cheetah, buffalo, elephants, giraffes, etc.). Great experience and the highlight of our trip to South Africa without a doubt. They also had the best food we ate in South Africa. The honor bar was reasonable (not overpriced).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbull8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We booked Mosetlha because we weren't fussed about having luxury amenities that the other lodges in Madikwe tend to have and how glad we are that we made that choice: the whole Mosetlha experience more than makes up for no swimming pool. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are comfortable, the food is great and our guide Sam was fantastic (thanks to him we found ourselves just as interested in the birdlife as well as in the larger animals!) To be blissfully unaware of anything going on outside our immediate environment for a few days and to hear nothing but the sounds of animals at night was wonderful. Highly recommended if you like a bit of an adventure but with homecooked food and a lovely warm bed to come back to.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Number23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
6.2 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
358 reviews
4.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
3.9 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge

Address: Mosetlha Bush Camp, Madikwe Game Reserve 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $200 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosetlha, nestled right at the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and its only genuine eco lodge and authentic bush camp, is unfenced, rustic and intimate. Comfy beds in raised wooden cabins, oil lamps, traditional bush meals prepared on the open fire, a donkey boiler for hot safari showers and twice daily game drives in open 4x4s with expert guides, promise you a true wilderness experience. Come get the dust of Africa on your feet ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mosetlha Bush Camp And Eco Lodge
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing