We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but better not go when it is raining !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent place, very nice welcome. Simple but excellent food. Very well organized for showers and toilets. Unfortunately, it rained during the two days of our trip. However, we could still see lot of animals. The Mosethla Eco-lodge is a very nice alternative to the Kruger park, in a real bush experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivier_718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Olivier_718
Thanks so much for you kind words - yes, it does get a little soggy around the lodge when it rains - but as you say, you still go out and see loads of animals!! Come in the winter next time - guaranteed not to rain :)
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

For the life of me, I don't understand how this place is rated so highly...

I visited Mosetlha recently with my two brothers who were making their first trip to Africa. This was their one opportunity to experience the bush, and the promise of a camp that emphasized natural rusticity, rather than opulent luxury, appealed to all of us.

But between being rustic doesn't mean that the camp shouldn't still be comfortable, or that the service shouldn't still be excellent.

The cabins felt oppressive and dark, and the beds were uncomfortable. The camp management were at once aloof and overbearing. Our safari guide was completely disinterested in us, and seemed completely bored by the experience -- which kind of ruined it for my brothers seeing their first lions and elephants...

And mealtime is a disaster. Not only was the food decidedly mediocre, there's not enough of it. Once we were served burgers, with no chips or sides; one each, that's it. Meals are served family style with the entire camp, so if you end up in the buffet line behind a pack of teenage boys, the pickings can be pretty slim. One morning I arrived at breakfast literally 5 minutes late, only to find that nothing was left. Rather than apologize for not having ensured that enough food was prepared and put out for all her guests, the woman looking after the camp mocked me saying, "you snooze you lose around here I guess!" Not really any way to treat a paying client.

I've had dozens of wonderful safari experiences thought the region, but Mosetlha is one I won't repeat.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
8  Thank Rains_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Rains_Down and I have spoken via email regarding their stay.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a great place! Our family thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Mosetlha Bush Camp. We felt very welcome by staff and enjoyed the game drives, the food, the lodging and the company of the staff and other guests. It was a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear SuanneE
Thank YOU for your absolutely wonderful review :)
I think the company of the other guests - especially all sitting around that one gorgeous big table -really makes for an unforgettable experience.
Thanks and best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I took a group of Anglia Ruskin University (UK) students to Mosetlha at the end of 2 weeks volunteering in a Resource Centre for Blind Children in Botswana. We loved the eco way of being in the bush; we loved the welcome from our hosts; we loved the early to bed and early to rise; we loved the sense of freedom the Lodge gives, and the food is proper home-cooked loveliness!
Johnny was our guide, and he's sooo experienced, and kind. We saw everything except leopards but it didn't matter as the whole experience that Mosetlha gives is a sense of peace that being 'in' the bush gives. I can't imagine ever going to a really posh lodge, as the insulation from the environment would spoil the experience. We loved getting the dust on our feet, and we congratualte Mosetlha for taking the direction they did in setting up as eco and dusty.
We'll be back next year!
Tony, the Chaplain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you TonyC!
And we LOVED having you with us ... we look forward to your next trip.
Thanks for a really great review.
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our family of four had a really great time at the Mosetlha Bush Camp. The accommodations were rugged, but very comfortable. The kids loved the novelty of taking a shower the old-fashioned way. The camp was clean and the staff provided everything promptly. The camp was very scenic, especially at night with the hundred lanterns. Thanks to Greg for your good company and conversation, as well as attending to all our needs. Thank you to the cooks for the meals. I definitely did not lose weight on this trip. We really enjoyed Kgomotso and appreciated her keen eye as well as extensive knowledge of all the creatures. She managed to track down everything we wanted to see and we left feeling like we really got our moneys worth. Spending several days in the midst of the best nature has to offer was just what we needed. I will definitely recommend Mosetlha to my friends and family.

Room Tip: The drive from the airport is long and you cannot use your car in the Madikwe Game Reserve, so we ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klvoelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear klvoelker
Thanks so much for a really great review, so pleased at how pleased you were with everything.
I fully agree with you in your recommendations that Kaylin Tours is the way to go for an affordable and efficient road transfer between the airport and Mosetlha - thanks for endorsing them :)
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Do not go to the Bush camp if you want spa baths on your balcony and five course meals with fine wines. However if you want to get the feel of the bush at first hand and see a wide variety of game and birds and be guided by dedicated and charming people this could be the place for you. We were prepared to rough things a bit but were pleasantly surprised - the cabins were very comfortable and the communal showers and loos immaculate. Since the camp can only take 16 maximum there was rarely a problem with access to facilities - though a buffalo did have other ideas on one occasion!
Elephants, lions and cubs, rhinos, buffalo, cheetahs, wild dogs, giraffe etc etc. Owls and beautiful bee eaters and rollers I could go on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Grampus
I love your review! Thank you :)
Tells it like it is.
Hope to welcome you back.
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was definitely the most relaxing part of our entire holiday! The staff at Mosethla take care of you, show you the way around the bush camp and how to use the excellent facilities. The open air shower was great, as was sleeping in the half open cabin. I would recommend this 5 star bush camp to anyone! The oil lamps lighting the paths when we came back from the evening game drive were very romantic! Justice was our excellent field guide and the food was great too. I just loved staying in the bush without leaving too much of a footprint. In love with the place and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anouk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Anouk2014
Thanks so much for this review, it was great having you both with us :)
Thanks for the photos on Facebook - getting loads of likes.
See you next time you come our way.
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
6.2 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
359 reviews
4.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
3.9 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge

Address: Mosetlha Bush Camp, Madikwe Game Reserve 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $200 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosetlha, nestled right at the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and its only genuine eco lodge and authentic bush camp, is unfenced, rustic and intimate. Comfy beds in raised wooden cabins, oil lamps, traditional bush meals prepared on the open fire, a donkey boiler for hot safari showers and twice daily game drives in open 4x4s with expert guides, promise you a true wilderness experience. Come get the dust of Africa on your feet ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mosetlha Bush Camp And Eco Lodge
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing