We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can we move in?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have been to Mosetlha three times now and the only thing I can find wrong about it is the owners won't let us move in permanently!! Mosetlha is a little piece of heaven - on each of our visits it has felt like we are coming home. The hospitality is down to earth and homely, the food is excellent, and the game drives are superb - Johnny is legendary at tracking and has given us such wonderful sightings and photographic opportunities. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 470 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

I am not sure why I am writing this as the previous reviewers are correct. We went to Mosetlha in early April with our nephew and friend. It was an experience of a lifetime. The accomodation and food were excellent but it was the safari that excelled. Our guide was Jonny who has been mentioned before. Nearly every excursion had a "You Tube" moment. The first was seeing two female lions with their five cubs playing in front of us. The next day we met a bad tempered male elephant who forced us to retreat backwards for about half a kilometer and then decided to charge our vehicle. Unfortunately my camera was not available at that moment. A great time at an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GXtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hidden amongst the bush veld you find not only more animal sightings than you can imagine but also the bush camp Mosetlha. Comfortable, cosy and welcoming balanced with a rustic feeling of authentic bush camping. Rooms reminiscent of hunting hides with open sides coverred at night if you wish and hearty home cooked meals prepare you for the twice daily safari's. With three teenage daughters we were initially concerned that no electricity, bush toilets and heating your own water on the "donkey" for showers with only a lounge for midday recreation could spell trouble. Where was the pool, the internet, TV and shopping.
They were never missed and showers became another part of the magical adventure we will cherish forever that we enjoyed at Mosetlha.
Wake up calls at 550am originally bought heavy sighs but one knock on the cabin had everyone busily preparing for the morning safari. Upon return the effervescent Caroline was waiting to greet us and advise us our breakfast will be ready in 10 minutes and lunch will be at 300pm before the afternoon safari which began at 400pm. The day time was spent feeding wood into the "donkey" for hot showers, reading, relaxing and napping before lunch with the batteries for the camera's being recharged by Johnnie our guide who had a vast knowledge of the park and animals and a keen eye to track them down. Off again in the afternoon to experience right up close nad presonal the vast array of game at the park. Early on many photos are taken of Wilderbeast, Kudu. Impala's and Zebras with occasional Giraffes and Elephants, whilst you search for the reclusive Lions, Buffalo's, Wild Dogs and Rhinos. The thrill is intense being up close to these predators and large mammals and you continually see so many and varied animals that the group remains spellbound during each four hour safari.
Very highly recommended if you seek the wonders of the wild and want an authentic bush camping experience in comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a time we had !!!! Been there, done it - plenty of times - even earned the T-shirt - well this time we got the cap (feather and all )

Thought 200 buffalo at Tlou dam was our special sighting for this trip, how wrong I was.Next night we followed 2 lion and 3 females on the hunt from Vlei dam north. Females split off to the sides and we were with the males. All lights off and we sat in the pitchdark waiting - all senses tingling and on high alert - felt like my ears were like radars stretching and turning to catch every sound. One male silently slipped past the truck right next us - now got goosebumps as well and neck hairs standing up. Seemed to go on for ever then we heard the drumming of hoofs coming towards us and past us on either side of the truck. WHAT AN EXPERIENCE sitting in the dark with all the night sounds all around us is something I will never forget. No supper for the lions, but thought this was No1 for the trip.

Next day at Vleipan we saw the usual - rhino in mud, lots of elephants drinking and playing, zebra, wathogs etc. Went for our sundowners, came back and then the fun began.......Blackback jackals and 2 spotted hyena on the far side in the open. Enjoying them, when Johnny and Nina saw a leopard crouching in the veld. When he moved we could follow and watch him for a while. Going back, past the water, we saw a male lion drinking and at the far side at the pump end elephants drinking. We followed this massive male round the dam into the bush. Great sighting. When Johnny looked round he saw the elephants had come to this side of the dam and were behind us with the lion in front of us. He said later that the elephants had seen the lion in the spotlight. He got out of there with great speed straight ahead through the bush. We are all on a total HIGH.

To get to the main road we have to go past the dam again ....and... Johnny spots the leopard drinking where the lion was earlier. I keep thinking this is unreal. We sat watching the leopard walking round the dam and out of sight. We are the only vehicle there- we shared with no one - WHAT A NIGHT !!!!!

Johnny was so excited because he had not seen this male for about 2 years (short tail) Needless to say, when we saw a brown hyena on the way home there was not that much of a reaction. I think we were totally drained from sheer excitement.

Next night on the way back to camp - near Admin - we found the same 5 lions we had seen days ago - (still hungry) and shortly afterwards just behind them we saw a leopard - smaller and lighter in colour than the other one we had seen. This one just melted into a big bush after having sniffed around where the lions had been. I wish you could have seen Johnnys grin.

I just had to share this time we had with you - We have all started saving again so see you soon.

Ellen Smith

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our wonderful bush camp experience. First the staff is so friendly and wonderful you feel at home immediately. I must say the experience of seeing all these gorgeous animals in their true setting is just breath taking. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and knew the entire Game Reserve (Quite amazing). I think this is truly the only way to get the "Safari Experience" and what life was like before all the people displaced the animals. The Camp is kept in pristine condition and the food is great.You will just love the owner, she is an outstanding hostess.
Bill & Karen Bostick (from Florida, USA)

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty much the same. You sleep in raised Cabin/tents with comfortable beds and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you're the kind of person who appreciates just the right amount of authentic experience combined with truly expert guides and staff- this is your place. In Mosethla, you sleep in tents on raised platforms with open sides. Shower privately with water heated in a "Donkey Boiler" you pour in a suspended bucket. Eat great food, and sit around a open campfire at night sharing stories or listening. But all that is after the amazing experience of the animals in the park. When you come, prepare to be totally enchanted with the experience of the animals seen with Mosethla's expert guides. The two guides we experienced grew up in the area and have a sixth sense about where the animals are at any given time. They are without question the finest guides in Madikwe and lets face it - you're there to see animals and lots of them. We saw lions on the hunt, rhinos with babies, wild dogs ( most endangered ), zebras, water buffalo, five different antelope, many elephants, birds painted like art work, lots of other animals, and yes dung beetles. It's not the kind of experience you want to break with in the evening, so sleeping with the sounds of the bush extends it into your dreams. For a few wonderful days you're in another world and Mosethla allows just the right amount transparency to keep you there. If you go to Mosethla, bring a camera with a telephoto lens, binoculars, forget the malaria medication because they don't have the mosquito, imagination and a child like curiosity. I can't thank Chris Lucas, Mosethla's founder, enough for preserving this kind of experience. It's affordable and real and if you get to talk to Chris you will understand immediately.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A wonderful Place in the heart of the bush and the nature. Thanks so very much to the Staff for create that warm and friendly atmosphere at the bushhouse. Spezial Thanks to our Lady - fieldguide for taking us to this amazing meetings with the african animals.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
375 reviews
6.2 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
643 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
521 reviews
10.5 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
382 reviews
9.5 mi away
Madikwe River Lodge
Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge

Address: Mosetlha Bush Camp, Madikwe Game Reserve 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $200 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosetlha, nestled right at the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and its only genuine eco lodge and authentic bush camp, is unfenced, rustic and intimate. Comfy beds in raised wooden cabins, oil lamps, traditional bush meals prepared on the open fire, a donkey boiler for hot safari showers and twice daily game drives in open 4x4s with expert guides, promise you a true wilderness experience. Come get the dust of Africa on your feet ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Mosetlha Bush Camp And Eco Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing