We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Complete Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaci's Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikwe Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jaci's Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pennington, South Africa
2 reviews
“A Complete Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

For us our stay at Madikwe included everything that made it a complete experience. We arrived to friendly greetings from the staff team, in a main lodge area impressively designed to appeal and convey the feel of being within beautiful African bush. We were shown to our comfortable and well planned accomodation in secluded wooden houses in the bush. Thereafter we were treated to game drives with a superb guide,Thomas, whose enthusiasm was constant and contagious. His knowledge is impressive and includes fauna, flora, astronomy and history of the area. Inbetween viewing birds, animals and trees we sat quietly in the dark, gazing up at the clear stars in the night sky. Interspersed with this were times to enjoy marvellously creative and tasty food, set out in different dining areas. Our favourite was brunch on our final morning. The staff set up a dining area under a fig tree on the banks of the river, and the wonderful chef and her team cooked food on a fire made on the ground. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Altogether they created occasions that enabled us to leave with the feel of having had a truly special and unique African bushveld experience. Lennart and Evelyn Eriksson, KwaZulu Natal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Evelyn E,

Thank you very much for your great review. It was such a pleasure to meet you and be able to make your stay so memorable. We have passed this review onto Thomas. He is Truly a very passionate guide and can't wait being able to guide you again in the future. Also, thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding the food, and I am happy that you enjoyed our special little breakfast site under the fig trees by the rive (it is my favorite picnic site :).

We hope that you will be able to visit us again very soon.

kind regards,
The Jaci's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    13
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
34
46
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

As a person who visits South African game lodges at least 3 times a year and has stayed at 5 star accommodation across Europe, Africa, Asia and South America, I can comfortably say that the quality of this lodge is impeccable. I took customers to Jaci's tree lodge earlier this year as part of a business trip. The staff were really friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was outstanding, some of the best cuisine I have ever tasted and to boot, one of my customers that I brought along was lactose and gluten intolerant and vegetarian, and she was absolutely astounded at the variety and quality of the food. The rooms are rustic in look, but clean, functional, enjoyable and very comfortable. The scenery is beautiful and even though it might not be the best game-viewing area of madikwe, the rangers are of an exceptional standard and will no doubt find you what ever you want and at great angles for the photographically inclined. One ranger in particular must be mentioned, Mr. Paul Slyer, a fantastic guide and a most knowledgable ranger- the best I've ever had in ANY game reserve in Africa. He not only finds the wildlife but teaches you to enjoy the whole process of tracking and admiring the find. I can with complete confidence say; WORTH EVERY CENT and then some. A truly unforgettable experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear DanielB,

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing the wonderful review for us! It is always so heart warming to see that we are making our guests happy and leaving a long lingering memory with them. We hope that you will come and visit us again in the future! We have passed on all your wonderful feedback to our Staff and to our Chefs!

Have a wonderful day! Feel free to join our Jaci's Lodges Facebook page to follow our daily & weekly news!

Regards,
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were lucky. South african friends told us that if we wanted a special safaria holiday "go to Madikwe", and if we wanted a very special trip "go to Jaci's Tree Lodge". We followed their advice and what a magnificent time we had for my husband's special birthday. Two three and a half hour off-road game drives per day, unbeatable South African food and service, and accommodation in a beautifully designed, spacious treehouse bordering the Marico River. Visit the website for a comprehensive view but all the key things were brilliant. Our ranger, Thomas, was so knowledgable - not just of the big game animals but also of the small animals and birds. He was very adept at driving through the bush to find interesting animals yet very sympathetic when, having got us to within five metres of magnificent male lions, we were scared and wanted to move on. We had great discussions while sippping our chosen sundowner (would you like white wine, gin tonic ?...) out in the bush, and then the daily surprise of where in the extensive complex of pole-supported tree buildings our evening meal would be served by the super-friendly staff. On the last of our three nights the staff even secretly ran a hot bubblebath for two for our arrival back from the game drive ! What lovely people. What a lovely place. And what a truly memorable adventure.

Room Tip: All eight tree houses seemed similarly well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzieblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmannuelM, Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to make your safari holiday such a memorable one. We will always do our best to accommodate your needs and we are glad you enjoyed the surprise of the bubble bath. Thomas and the rest of the team look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Amazing, a word used by our enthusiastic game ranger (Charis) to describe every siting, sunset and moment and also the word we chose to describe the time we spent at Jaci's Tree Lodge. AMAZING! On arrival every staff member greeted us with a friendly smile, making us feel welcome and comfortable. Every game drive was filled with excitement, enthusiasm, learning, laughter and an abundance of animal sightings. Our walk in the bush was something we will never forget! At first unsure of what our path may hold, our very capable game ranger/conservationist (Craig) put us at ease and taught us something new around every bush/tree. Every meal was delicious; prepared and served with smiles and joy (hats off to all the cooks and waiters). Rounding off every great meal was great company, the host and hostess (Managers Jaco and Diana) made us feel right at home, sharing their personal experiences and lending a hand where needed. All the facilities were clean, relaxing and warm (especially for the cold nights), our rooms where luxurious yet cosy, spacious yet well-kept and for the cold nights the staff made sure we sleep warm making the wake-up call by the lions even more extraordinary. Thank you to every staff member of Jaci's tree lodge who made this break away one to remember! You will most certainly see us again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An3a_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear An3a,

Thank you so much for your (Amazing) review. It was a absolute pleasure having you all spend the week-end with us! We can't wait for your next visit! We will make sure that Charis and the rest of our staff are here to blow you away once again with there passion and enthusiasm!
Have a wonderful day, until we meet again.

Regards,
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Location and people are great. Our guide Francois was a wealth of knowledge. To get there u need to spend 1.5 hrs on dirt roads that are pretty rough; not sure why they don't pay to tar them. Also, for the price es paid, paying extra for water and non-alcoholic drinks is a bit sloppy. The room service was also a bit sloppy. Again, great stay, with great food (they make sure u are fastened up) but for the cost one would expect extraordinary :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. I applogize for the bad 30km dirt road that you had to drive to get into the Molatedi gate. This road is unfortunately a municipal road and not a part of our beutiful game reserve. After the rain we have had it is truly not the best road with a sedan as stated on our website. The alternative route definately has more tarred roads but will add a extra 1.5hrs to your trip - they are starting to grade the roads in this next coming week, we hope it will be more convenient on your next visit. Regarding our drinks policy, we have a very good market related rate for a full board rate wich offer all accommodation and activities and meals. A lot of other lodges do offer the fully inclusive option where all beverages are included as well, but their rates are double what we charge. We offer the included fruit juices at breakfast and ice water in jugs on the tables (which is 100%) drinkable, also all coffees and tee during your trip is included. Pur bar price lists are very affordable in comparison to your upmarked restaurants,hotels and lodges in South Africa as we do not only cater for a international market. Apologies that you found the room service sloppy, we always strive to do our utmost best. I do recall that you had no clean towels in your room on your last night, we replaced them immediately while you had your dinner and i recall apologizing that evening on the housekeeping behalf. We would like to thank you for praising the staff, and we appreciate the time you took to write this review, enjoy the rest of you trip around the world! We look forward in having you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

If i woke in the dream it was just to see the 50 elephants in the lodge waterhole. The game drives were each more exciting than the last and Thomas smiled and seemed to enjoy it as much as we did. I couldn't have imagined i would be so close to all the fantastic wildlife, only a short and thrilling flight from the city. The lodges are not for you, if you want the blandness of a corporate five star suite. They would suit you only if you enjoy luxury quirky bush style. Manny and his gorgeous wife Virginia look after you from the moment you arrive with the smiling team, her cooking is delightful, the staff make the place. Just keep it for the special amongst you, if you cannot love this place stop hunting..there is no more perfect under the african sky. Thanks to all, wonderful to meet you Jan...keep building your dreams for us to find.

Room Tip: There is no wrong room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francestrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your wonderful feedback and hope that we will be able to host you again very soon at Jaci's Lodges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin Hood Country
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here as a side trip from a business in Botswana, so we drove from nearby Gabarone. The staff met us on arrival and were fantastic from start to finish - nothing was too much trouble and they were all committed to making our holiday a success in every way for us. The lodge is really special - its unique design feels very African and stylish, and our private treehouse was gorgeous, comfortable, luxurious and unusual. We loved our outdoor shower!
We went on game drives in the park early morning and late afternoon each day with our ranger Thomas who was extremely knowledgeable and informative, and patient when we wanted to stop frequently to identify the many beautiful birds we saw everywhere. The ethos amongst the rangers was co-operative and sensitive to the needs of the animals, so that there was never more than 3 vehicles near to some of the harder to see animals such as lions, rhino or wild dogs despite the fact that there were several jeeps hunting for them. Generally, it seems better to accept whatever the park offers in terms of animal sighting, than expecting to be able to see the animals you want to. That way, whatever you do see is a bonus not a right! Unfortunately not all tourists accept this which can make life difficult for the rangers sometimes, as they are keen to please but not miracle workers! We were lucky and saw many different fabulous animals, but some we have to hope to see on a future trip, such as leopard which are very elusive.
One of my lasting memories was at the lodge when I went to the water hole viewing platform and chanced upon 36 elephants, there for a late morning cool-off. It was fantastic to just sit and watch them interacting with each other, and observe their behaviour for as long as I chose, whilst periodically being offered cool drinks by the ever-attentive staff who just appeared from nowhere! Virginia the chef, produced wonderful food for all our meals and was a delight to talk to, as were all the staff members we met. I could go on, but suffice to say, this has to be one of the best lodges and we thought it was a rare find...treat yourselves to a visit...you won't be disappointed, its the most amazing place to stay and absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinHoodRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmannuelM, Manager at Jaci's Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for this review – it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us just as much as we enjoyed having the two of you as guests! It really is our passion and pleasure to make our guests feel at home and part of the family. Seeing all those elephants at the waterhole is indeed a privilege and one of the main attractions that Tree Lodge has to offer, so we are truly thankful that these special visitors decided to come and play at our water hole while you were there to behold this precious sight! You were dream guests and we would love to welcome you back at Tree Lodge anytime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Jaci's Safari Lodge
Jaci's Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaci's Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaci's Tree Lodge

Property: Jaci's Tree Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jaci's Tree Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaci’s Lodges promise personal attention to detail from effervescent staff each indivdually committed to outstanding service and united in assuring you enjoy an supurb African Safari with memories to be cherished.Jaci's Tree Lodge, with breathtaking raised walkways & only 8 “tree houses” eachhidden amongst the ancient riverine trees, ensures the ultimate, luxurious forest hideaway in the african bush veld.… complimented with daily game drives in expansive madikwe, conducted by knowledgable and attentive guides your wildlife sightings and memories will be unforgettable. Perfect for romantic safaris, weddings, or just to escape the urban jungle...we look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jaci`s Tree Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing