We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jaci's Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We took my mum here who was visiting from Australia and Jaci's really exceeded our expectations. Being able to see elephants drink at the waterhole just outside our balcony was just one of the brilliant wildlife moments including seeing wild dog pups, cheetahs, lions, wild dogs hunting, hyenas, white and black rhinos. The service at Jaci's is friendly and they really cannot do enought for you. Our guide Lucky was excellent, really knowledgeable and passionate about animals and made a special effort to cater to guests interests. It is worth noting that Jaci's is very kid friendly providing kids meals, catering to early dinners for them, providing a mini game drive for the under 5's and a games room w books, table soccer etc.

Room Tip: Nare suite by the waterhole is just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocca M, Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi Karen

Thanks for a nice, special and detailed review. We are so happy that your trip with your mum at jacis was worth it. Nare suite watering hole always a perfect spot and being able to see animals at you doorstep even gives you amazing moments. great to know that you enjoyed enjoyed guiding and info from your Guide Lucky and the rest of the staff topped by the fact that kids really enjoyed their time at the play.

always be waiting for return with smile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We could not fault this fabulous safari lodge as part of our 'once in a lifetime' family holiday to South Africa. We stayed in the Nare Suite, a 3 bedroom thatched family lodge with its own deck and small pool superbly situated to overlook a water-hole and out in to the bush. With the family suite came our own guide and vehicle for all the game drives. We have to give a special mention to Lucky (our guide) who was so knowledgeable, personable and passionate about his job, never tiring of our endless questions and seemingly able to find every possible animal we wanted to see .... including the elusive ardvaark! Every detail of our stay was taken care of and all the staff and management were friendly, welcoming and always helpful. The main lodge was fantastic being luxurious while still managing to be comfortable and welcoming and making us feel right at home. The food was superb and plentiful and we were so pleased with the effort made to cater for both our boys' food allergies; nothing was too much trouble. We only wish we had kept this part of our holiday till the end as it was difficult for anything else to come anywhere near. A hard act to follow Jaci's ..... thank you, we'll never forget our 5 days with you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocca M, Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Clare
Thanks very much for the honest and incredible review.The Nare Suite is amazing indeed, and extra special for the whole family. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view of the watering hole and its surroundings. Aardvark is one of the rarest animals to find in South Africa and Madikwe game reserve, you are very lucky to have seen it. We are also so pleased that you feel that your guide (Lucky) went out of his way to find this creature and most importantly spending time sharing knowledge and answer all the questions with a smile. Great to hear that you enjoyed the food, Chefs take their time from Morning till sunset to make sure they deliver or serve the best.
We are happy that your vacation at Jacis lodges is full of great memories and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The lodge itself is very nice and Madikwe park is stunning. It seems to be well managed and there was usually only 1-2 vehicles by the animals and there is a standby policy for other vehicle, to wait to view to keep the vehicles by the animals to 2 at max. The general staff at the lodge were very friendly and helpful and lovely with our children.
But what made our stay really special was our FANTASTIC guide - Lucky. We had our own vehicle with Lucky for the trip and he was very knowledgeable, very amiable and great with our children. This gave us some freedom to go out and come back when we choose to, We also had another guide for one day and she was also really good - Cheriss.
The food was plentiful and fresh - but it is more like country homestyle cooking that haute cuisine. My husband had some dietary issues and they were very accomodating.
The electric blankets in our bed were wonderful as was the underfloor heating - a nice touch! Especially as it was winter when we visited so cold in the morning and evening.
We were very fortunate to see the entire big 5 plus wild dogs, hippo and crocodiles but that is the luck of the draw.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Joannv,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We are extremely happy that you loved every moment of your stay with us. We will pass on the great comments about Lucky, as he is definitely a wonderful guide. Thank you so much for commenting on the food and you loved our hearty meals. Also, thank you for commending the Staff, we thrive to make everyone feel at one from the very moment they arrive at Jaci's. We hope you have enjoyed the remaining couple of days of your holiday in South Africa, and that you will return in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Jaci's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Exellent luxurious place to stay. As it was winter, it was cold. So when we went to our rooms it was a nice surprise that the beds were heated as well as the floor. We got very lucky with our guide Lucky. He made our stay, with special attention to our son, chasing the wild dogs, tracking down lions and nice converstations in the evening over a good glass of wine. And ofcourse the beautiful sundowners. We did not know about the hide out, which was a shame. Maybe the management should inform he guests about that a bit more. Food was nice but we were a bit disappointed that is was such a hurried affair. You arrive after the game drive get a drink and than within an hour everything is finished. We would have loved to drink another glass of wine around the fire, but everyone was gone including the staff. Only one thing that should be better, We stayed with the three of us in the room and only one could have a good hot shower after that the hot water was finished. So we took turns who could shower first. And we were a bit annoyed by the message that we could use the bathrobes but it is a waste of water if we did. And we could use the open fire in the room but it was not advised for enviromental reasons. Although I understand the reasoning behind it, it felt a bit strange and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nynke l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocca M, Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Nynke

Thank you for your review of your visit to Jaci's Safari Lodge.

I am delighted you enjoyed your game drives with Lucky - we certainly have a great variety of game in Madikwe & especially enjoy fabulous sightings of our highly endangered Wild Dogs frequently.

Our apologies for not explaining "the Hide" overlooking the waterhole at Jaci's Tree Lodge - we will make sure we describe it to all our guests in future. I am sorry you felt meals were a rushed affair - this is not the way we feel about them and certainly not the impression we intend to portray - we welcome guests to sit around the fire - both before and after dinner.

Regarding the bathrobes - the message we have on the gowns is intended to make guests aware of the environmental impact of water usage & wastage and is only serving to remind guests that they can contribute to water conservation by leaving the gowns folded - if they are not used - to avoid unnecessary washing. (the same option is given regarding the bath towels being washed each day or not)
The fireplace in your room - for safety reasons you are advised that we will put limited firewood in the room and we will only light the fires once you are back in your room after dinner.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and visiting Jaci's Lodges.

Wild wishes
Mocca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came at the start of the year and the lodge was really stunning. We loved to game drives and were initially sold because we were told this is a kid-friendly resort. BUT we found out pretty quickly that kid-friendly doesn't mean children on game drives, unless you want to pay more $ for a private drive. We were with another family who also wanted to take their 4 year old on the drive (we have a 4 year old too) and they wouldn't let us. We could only take them on the kids "bumble". I wish I'd known this before we'd gone so we could have managed our expectations. After the trip, we stumbled on to this good article about Madikwe which I wish we'd found earlier. http://www.suitcasesandstrollers.com/articles/view/madikwe-game-reserve

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phillipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocca M, Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Fiona D

Thank you for your review of your stay at Jaci's Safari Lodge.

We have our Childrens Policy available on our website, as well as on our rate sheets, information sent to travel agents and operators, the pro forma invoice as well as the confirmation of booking.
Our Childrens Policy describes - in detail - the terms and conditions of children under 12 years old staying at Jaci's Lodges, as well as the applicable rates, inclusion and exclusions.

Specifically, we clearly state that all children under 5 years old are not allowed on the morning and evening game drives but can be taken on a "jungle drive" during the day (at additional cost per child) Your children were taken on the "kids bumble" - as promised by our marketing/advertizing/website etc.

In your case, when you asked management for your children (all aged under 5years old) to join you on the adult game drives you were given the option to pay for a private guide & vehicle to accommodate your request - you chose not to take up this option.

Thank you for your review

Wild wishes
Mocca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The lodge is beautiful, the staff is incredibly friendly, there´s oh so much good food all the time and the game drives are great!
The rooms are actually individual huge tents with private balcony, thatch roofs, heated floors, AC, rustic bathtubs, fireplace and outdoor shower. The only thing I would like different is that the toilet area does not have a door. You can close curtains to separate the bathroom/toilet from the rest of the room, but I would prefer to have more privacy than that...
The tents are romantic, with the nets around the beds like you see in the Tahiti lodges´ pictures.
I loved the decor, colorful, tasteful and adequate to the situation and location.
I was really happy I read the other reviews about coming to Madiwke in winter. We followed other reviewers suggestions and were prepared for the extremelly cold game drives.
You really do need to dress as you would for skiing in very low temperatures. We had thermal underwear and socks, fleece, jacket, beanie cap, gloves, scarf wrapped around our faces, layers and layers. The lodge also provided blankets and hot water bottles. It is soooo cold there early in the morning and late in the afternoon!!!
Our guide was Lucky and he´s such a nice person and a dedicated professional! He went beyond to make sure we could see as many animals as possible and enjoy our experience.
It is a matter of luck and in each drive you see different animals. Impalas are always guaranteed. In 3 days we saw lions, elephants, giraffes, buffalo, zebras, rhinos, chacal, warthogs, many times of antilopes, beautiful birds, etc. Having been to safari in Kenya, this is a totally different experience. Here is bush everywhere and you can´t see animals from a distance. But even in so and considering the imense area that comprises Madikwe, you still see a lot.
If you drive make sure you follow the directions and map on their web site. You do need 4 hours from Joburg, but it was an easy drive. And beware: the gates close at 9 pm, so make sure you plan to arrive in time.
The Tree Lodge, right next to the Safari lodge, has a waterhole with a viewing area (and a bed, you can sleep under the stars!). It was really nice to relax on that bed in between the game drives, having a beer and seeing giraffes, zebras and impalas come to drink.
The lodge is very kid friendly, has a small playground area in between the 2 lodges and, as we only found out on the last day, a room with toys and activities for kids at the Safari Lodge, near the pools area.
The braai under the stars one evening was a really nice touch.
We now understand why you have to almost mortgage your house to come to Madiwke.
We were really totally pleased with our stay and recommend Jaci´s Safari Lodge!!!
Thank you to everyone who made us feel so welcome and have the experience of a life time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luly_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocca M, Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

It’s great to hear that you and your extended family had a good time. Thank you for the excellent and honest review. We are so glad we have met and exceeded your expectations. It’s good to go out every morning and afternoon and be in the dense bush of Madikwe Game Reserve. Your guide Lucky showed you all the most interesting flora and fauna and at the same time shared his knowledge with a smile. When coming back to the lodge the chefs have prepare a fine dining experience. The rest of team strives from sunrise to sunset to deliver the best service and make sure your room stays warm and welcoming.

We appreciate your words of advice to safari lovers on planning a trip to the bush. It’s so disappointing for us and we apologize that you only saw the playground on the last day. We always inform our guests of the pools, gym, hide at Tree Todge and kiddies play room, we really appreciate that you have brought it to our attention so we cannot have the same error again.

Our outside dinners bring your mind and soul directly into heart of Africa, especially under the stars in the boma with fire in the middle. Braziers surrounding the area- so you stay warm and cosy!.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Amazing place. Everyone is very friendly, the cabanas were amazing, and lots of foods and meals.
The Game was also very nice, we saw 4 out of the 5 big fives, besides many other animals. Good for families and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heliow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocca M, Manager at Jaci's Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thanks for great recommendation about the lodge and we glad that the staff and food have made your safari trip a success.
Hope to see you again in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
15.7 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
364 reviews
4.8 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
617 reviews
7.1 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
305 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
437 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaci's Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaci's Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $836 - $2,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaci's Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaci's Lodges promise personal attention to detail from effervescent staff each indivdually committed to outstanding service and united in assuring you enjoy an suburb African Safari with memories to be cherished. Jaci's Safari Lodge with only 8 "tents" and 2 exclusive suites -features eclectic combinations of vibrant colour, earthy canvas, stone and shaggy thatch. Enjoy fire cooked & starlit meals - heaven indeed!... Complimented with daily game drives in expansive madikwe, conducted by knowledgeable and attentive guides your wildlife sightings and memories will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Jaci's Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaci`s Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing