We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
391
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssofa safariattention to detailroyal safarihis teamwatering holewater holethe main lodgegame viewingsafari experienceplunge poolwatching the animalshigh teafit for a kinggeneral managerevery mealfrom arrival to departuresitting area
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 396 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The wonderful Jamala Madikwe was the most fantastic experience we have yet had in all of our travels over the years. Shaun and the rest of the team made us feel like we were the most special people in the world and treated us as such - it was luxurious, relaxed, exciting, friendly, cozy, stimulating, delicious, adventurous - all rolled up together in one unforgettable experience. When we arrived we were graciously greeted by the owners and staff, led onto the lodge's outdoor deck that oversees an active watering hole and served champagne (GOOD champagne, they don't skimp at Jamala). Within 5 minutes a bull elephant arrived - it could not have been more perfect. We (family of 4) had our own game guide/tracker who was knowledgeable, engaging, and seemed to genuinely enjoy being with us and sharing his experience and the park with us. Each evening was full of talking, sharing, and eating - sometimes with other guests, sometimes with just the owners. The meals were absolutely first class, great chef, amazing baker, excellent choice of wines (again, Jamala does not skimp!). There are only 5 lodge units - each accomodating 2 people - so the feel of the place is that it is all yours. Jamala was our first stop of a two week trip - all of the other destinations turned out great, but there was a tinge of disappointment at each of our other stays because they just could not stand up to the comparison to Jamala. Next trip we'll make Jamala the last stop so that we can end on a truly high note. A once-in-a-lifetime experience that I want to do more than once!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi FWkla
Thank you for this beautiful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Jamala Madikwe is without any doubt the best Lodge to stay at on planet Earth. My partner, and I received the most attentive service which made us feel like celebrities, and we were pampered as such.

Our Safari experience was also off the charts!!! We saw EVERYTHING (Leopard, Lion, Elephant, Bufallo, Rhino, Wild Dog, and Brown Hyena)!!! The sightings were incredible as there is plenty of EVERYTHING on the Madikwe Game Reserve... including special general game (Eland, Tssebe, Gemsbok, and Springbok). Since the Game Reserve is in a malaria FREE area... we were never concerned about getting bitten by a mosquito.

For those of you who would like to experience Africa in all of its glory... the Jamala Madikwe will certainly not dissappoint. I am still in awe of my stay there, and cannot wait to get back.

The Suites are truly magnificent, and include private plunge pools, and decks overlooking the African Bush. They are spaced well apart from one another, and when staying at this exclusive lodge you will feel as though you are the only ones that exist in this world, and that you are a King, or Queen!

Our hosts/owners Shaun, and Rodney ensured that we were having the best time of our lives... and they did this to perfection! We simply could not ask for more, or want for more.

Jamala Madikwe has the most wonderful food... my tastebuds have never experienced such magic!

EVERYTHING is the BEST money can buy. Food, wines, game drives, service, the people, the suites... EVERYTHING!!!

We will be back again, and again, and again!!!

Thank you team Jamala for being the best!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlondozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi mlondozi
Thank you for this beautiful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews