We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, exilarating Safaris, modern "Africa" feel lodge with stunning decor”
Review of Tau Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tau Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, exilarating Safaris, modern "Africa" feel lodge with stunning decor”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I lived in Botswana as a student, and have been to more safari destination all over Southern Africa than I can recall. However, this is by far the most amazing and breathtaking safari lodge so far! It is just 10/15 km away from The Thlokweng boarder with Botswana, and so if you are visiting Botswana only- I suggest you make the trip here!!!

As I tell all my friends, this is a must destination for a honeymoon, or a girls trip! Where to begin.... you are greeted with "Welcome drinks" in the lobby, when checking in. Everything about the decor reminds you that you are in Africa, and in the wild. Wood carvings, African weaved plates, ostrich eggs, native woods etc etc. The food is amazing, and authentic, incredible views of the water hole from the restaurant, rooftop bar, and from all the chalets. The first day we were there, there were elephants playing in the water just feet away from our private patio and hottub area, and later a herd of wildebeest came for a drink. To sum it up, you are always surrounded by animals and nature. And the safari game drives are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSabinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    67
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
131
159
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Cant be beaten for price vs quality. The lodging whil enot upulent are great. They have water, electricity and the internet. The staff and rangers were professional, friendly and fun. The food was excellent as was the location. A++

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Massimo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Food and accomodation was excellent. Managed to see all the animals we wanted with a 2 night stay.
Our Ranger did not give the early morning call on the second day or even acknowledge us for breakfast that mornirng which was dissapointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Idyllic surroundings for a second honeymoon. Everything surpassed all expectations. he reception was welcoming and the excitement increased as we went to have lunch overlooking the waterhole. Once in the room, the opportunity to see the game, birds and crocodiles opened up before us on our deck. We could not wait for the first drive to start. Then came the lions and elephants. Our ranger was superb imparting knowledge over everything we saw. The highlight was seeing the cheetah which happened on a number of occaisions. Eventually we saw a leopard and hunted down buffalo to complete the big 5 although the rhino just wanted to hide. We slept each night with the curtains open to enable us to see the stars and any nocturnal activity at the waterhole and were rewarded with a rhino just outside although the elephants seemed to be everywhere. We shall return with all the family soon once we can co-ordinate ourselves in Switzerlad with our children in Chile and UK. Fabulous

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mikegloria_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A place that is stress free and magical, fun and adventurous. A place where you can really switch off from the chaos of ones own life!
The staff are friendly and so accommodating, they go out of their way to help.
I've taken my twins here from 8 months of age through to the last trip was when they were 11 yrs. The Rangers adapt the trips to you and your children's interests, keeping the trips small and easy for the less compliant children!!!! Focusing on personal interests with their own wealth of knowledge.
So welcoming, ambiance to die for and delicious food. Wonderful management, so friendly and professional.
A truly special lodge, looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: All lodges are on the water hole, so no preference!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff is so helpful and nice,the rooms are out of this world,The service is seven star and the guides are so perfect. Everything seems like its a movie. i loved my experience at Tau Game Lodge and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppy0489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everything was beautiful...The rooms overlooking the waterhole ar perfect, beautiful game viewing especialy in the mornings .Had 3 game drives and I got to see all the Big 5 exept the buffalo and would luv to go back in the bush and find it.... The food was out of ths world and the service was exellent.... Our Ranger was good, very good...so talented and explained everything (MARIO)....Got to see the Cheetars making a kill though I felt bad coz they caught a young Zebra...."tear drop" it was very emotional....Could talk about Tau Game Lodge the whole day if I could, Hillarious....It was my first and certainly not my last....Im so happy, feeling so refreshed...The staff there cooperate very well with each other, informs others if they have seen anything interesting... they ar a team, a family indeed...Sarah, Mario , Derick and all the others....Great Work, big up....

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the waterhole, beautiful view in the mornings...They are a bit expensive than othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditshupo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
353 reviews
8.7 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
471 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
591 reviews
9.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
429 reviews
4.6 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tau Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Game Lodge

Property: Tau Game Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tau Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tau Game Lodge is a 5 star Game lodge Situated in “Big 5”- Malaria Free Madikwe Reserve. Accessible by scheduled flights, or a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg. Each of the chalets ensures privacy with its own viewing deck, the main lodge offers a Curio shop, Swimming pool as well as a lounge, bar, and dining area, all partially outdoors.The convention centre offers state-of- the-Art meeting facilities. At The Spa Oasis, guests are offered rejuvenating spa treatments, surrounded by the beauty of the African Bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Tau Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tau Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing