We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fab”
Review of Tau Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tau Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“absolutely fab”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Just back from 4 nights at Tau Game Lodge. We stayed in the family suite just beside the water hole. A huge herd of elephants cam to drink one afternoon, the next day we had zebra and then we had wart hog. The whole experience was fantastic. Our Ranger was Moura and she was brilliant, she had a brilliant sense of fun and her knowledge was excellent. Would thorughily reccommend this game lodge and would especially recommend that you ask for Moura as she definitely made our holiday. The rest of staff are also excellent especially Aubrey, \michael and Marcus who all made us feel like this was truly our home.

  • Liked — moura our ranger
  • Disliked — nothing it was all great
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkistewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    68
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
126
158
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Helpfull staff.
Very nice reception and wellcome by the manager
Beautifull room with lots of details.
Very baby friendly.
Nice pool, food and astonishing game view at the waterhole.
Altogether a fantastic relaxing stay

  • Liked — The waterhole in front of our room
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank igiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

I've been to Tau game lodge twice and both of them were amazing experiences. Our first time our ranger was SAM, Sam is the best ranger possible and with him we saw all the essentials and he did more then his share to please us, we only have to think him for his time dedicated to us, specially regarding his "off-track" to see the lions in one raining evening.
The lodge itself is heaven on earth, the rooms are the best and the view is just breath taking... right facing the water and the elephants come to eat in front of your room (my partner woke-up one day at 4am with the big male elephant eating.. it was just to cry for).
In general the place is amazing, the safari amazing, the food is great... and I'm a very weird with my food (i dislike soooo many things), the Staff is very helpfull (I had a headache and they gave me this powder that worked after 2 minutes.. they gave me couple more and when I arrived in johannesburg I just had to buy and bring it home).
I only have one thing to say... and I hope some one at Tau reads this...
Each ranger has 3 rooms (I think... maybe 4!!) but in our second trip we arrived one day after the other 4 English guests... Maybe because of our young age (24) and maybe afraid we wouldn't tip him... Our ranger simply didn’t care what we wanted to see!! Only what the group of 4 wanted... and they wanted to see just BIRDS!!! In my first 2 safaris we saw ... you guess it... BIRDS!!! Only on our last safari... I got MAD... and they (4guest + ranger) got the hint!! Only then we saw... giraffe and zebras... yes you read right only then. So my advice is... just because we are young dosen't mean we won't tip, our opinion is important. In any case... belive it or not, this 4 English guest, after all the work he had with them... they didn't TIP... FUNNY isn’t it. I and my partner did, and he was just simply amazed with that!! I realize why, he had done nothing to please us!! Slap with a white glove.

Stay at TAU, everything is the best... but inforce your rights, and if "sharing" a ranger... don't be shy and say what you want to see. I will next time... I think I have to say it "Bloody BIRDS"
LOL

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheMadBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2006

I stayed for three nights at Tau Game Lodge, with my wife, daugther and son right after Christmas in 2005. It is a great place to take your kids for a perfect safari experience. The hotel is very well organized, with very good food and even better game drives. The rangers make everything so that the guests have the opportunity to see all animals, big and small, from very close range. It is a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brazilian_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
348 reviews
8.7 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
457 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
573 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
282 reviews
9.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tau Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Game Lodge

Property: Tau Game Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tau Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tau Game Lodge is a 5 star Game lodge Situated in “Big 5”- Malaria Free Madikwe Reserve. Accessible by scheduled flights, or a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg. Each of the chalets ensures privacy with its own viewing deck, the main lodge offers a Curio shop, Swimming pool as well as a lounge, bar, and dining area, all partially outdoors.The convention centre offers state-of- the-Art meeting facilities. At The Spa Oasis, guests are offered rejuvenating spa treatments, surrounded by the beauty of the African Bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tau Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tau Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing