We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem in the bush”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I plan safaris for a living and have stayed at 30-50 lodges in South Africa, many more further afield. Royal Madikwe hit all the right notes in terms of friendliness, professionalism, atmosphere, guiding and game. Not to mention the food , which was outstanding. We took the whole property with my family of 10 and every generation of us was blown away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a recent trip to Botswana I managed three nights at Royal Madikwe and as this was my first time I was not sure what to expect. What can I say, the reception received from Geraldine and later Cheri and Adam was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble and the facilities were superb in our case overlooking the water hole. The food prepared by Amos was delightful and always served by the staff with a smile and a cheery word. The game drives were always interesting and Adam went the extra mile to find the lions, elephants, buffalo, etc. Because the Lodge is small the service is very personal and the place private. Would I go back, time and money permitting - like a rocket.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the water hole
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanr66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Madikwe, General Manager at Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dearest Royal Madikwe Friends,

We are taken aback by your kind words!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our special lodge and for choosing to stay at Royal Madikwe.

It is always helpful to future guest to read comments directly from guests who have stayed with us before and experienced our unique style for themselves- and your note is very helpful.

Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back very soon!

All our warmest Wishes,

Adam & Cherie,
And Your Royal Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It really doesn't get any better than this. A luxury private lodge ideal for an extended family or small party. We were a party of four and only met two other (very nice) couples on our 5 day stay. The Game Drives are simply the best I have experienced and the Staff - well - they were fabulous - even to the point of a farewell song when we left. Dining was in a different location every day with a wonderful selection of food. The Lodge has its' own water hole with many animals visiting. Even an Elephant which helped itself to a drink from the swimming pool! Don't hesitate - Go!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Madikwe, General Manager at Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dearest Friends of Royal Madikwe,

Thank you for your encouraging words and compliments!
We truely enjoyed hosting you at Royal Madikwe and we are so grateful for the time you took to write this review.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our very special lodge again very soon!

All our warmest Regards,

Adam & Cherie,
And Your Royal Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Royal madikwe lodge is one of the best lodges I stayed in Madikwe and even in other south African's game lodges, nice and clean room overlooking the waterhole, excellent service and food, free WiFi and very good mobile reception.
its a unique lodge and small so you will be getting a specialized service and I always like such lodge that only can accommodate less guest and game vehicles are not fully packed with guests.

Room Tip: Room No. 4 is the closest to the waterhole.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Madikwe, General Manager at Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dearest Royal Friends,

We thank you sincerely for taking the time to write this great review and post these beautiful photographs of our very special lodge! We are thrilled to received this wonderful note of how much you enjoyed your stay at Royal Madikwe and we do hope to welcome you back to your, now, Royal home very soon!

All the very best,
Adam & Cherie,
And Your Royal Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Royal Madikwe is the best game lodge we have visited in Southern Africa and is as good as any of our game experiences in Kenya. What makes it very special is the staff who are focused on providing excellent service. Amos serves excellent meals with choices of main course for lunch/dinner. All the staff have been there for more than 5 years and it shows in the excellent service. We stayed in the Royal Suite whch has two bedrooms joined by a massive lounge and kitchen. There is a seperate lounge with satelite TV. On the enormous deck there is a jacuzzi which is gorgeous to plunge into. The Royal Suite overlooks the permanent water hole where we saw many animals, including elephants, lion, kudu, zebra and buffalo. The elephants also love to drink water from the swimming pool which we were fortunate to experience during our stay.

During our 5 night stay we saw all the big five as well as wild dogs and cheetahs. The first evening we saw 19 wild dogs on the move and looking to hunt. On the second evening we saw a leopard which we followed into the thick bush. On most days we saw lions with two highlights- first watching a pride of 8 lions feeding on a wildebeeste and secondly sitting between the lions when they are roaring their calls (very powerful and frightening in the dark). On our last day we saw 4 cheetahs chase and catch a young wildebeeste!! Amazing experience. Our ranger was Stefan who is totally committed to the wild life management within the reserve. He was fantastic in finding such great sightings and shared his bush knowledge with us. A great person to spend 5 days with.

As the lodge only accomodates 10 people maximum, it is really a very exclusive lodge.
During our stay the only other people at the lodge were the owners who visit the lodge on a regular basis. They were very friendly and made us very welcome at the lodge. The lodge is managed by Adam and Cherie, a lovely couple, who arranged for our visit and made our stay so enjoyable.
We are looking forward to returning to this wonderful lodge in a great reserve

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is great for 3 to 4 people. If required, request a double bed in the 2nd bedroom. Th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Madikwe, General Manager at Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dearest Royal Friends,

Thank you so much for your kind words!
Wow, what a wonderful review you have written about our very special lodge!
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience at Royal Madikwe.
It means so much to all of us when we get such a heart-warming review and knowing that we are giving our guests the most memorable safari experience is more than we could ask for.
We look forward to welcoming you back with in the near future!

Best Wishes,
Adam & Cherie,
And Your Royal Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

There are many "hotel lodges" out there. They sleep 80 people, have 5 full packed safari jeeps and 3 restaurants. Royal Madikwe is different. It's your own private lodge. We've been there multiple times and never had to share the lodge with more than 4 people. It feels like you've just won the lottery and built your own private lodge.

Service: Extraordinary. Usually they have more staff than guests - now you can imagine the incredible personal service you get.

Value: The lodge is privately owned by a generous gentleman (It's not built to make tons of profit). You get more than you pay for.

Safari: Excellent. You see plenty of Lions, Elephants, Rhinos, Buffalos, only the Leopard is hard to find. Adam, the ranger, is the perfect guide - he knows everything about the animals and tells you mind-blowing facts on the side. Most of the other jeeps driving around are packed with people. Yours wont be. We had days where Adam would just take the two of us on Safari. The Krueger may have a little bit more action (but never this amount of luxury for this price)

Food: A dream. They cook for the few guests they have like kings. The main lodge house has many spots where you can eat. We've never eaten at the same place twice. They always put the table somewhere else. It's amazing. The food is all-inclusive (except for Wine, which they sell for a very good price).

It's simply the best private safari lodge in South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrin-vR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Madikwe, General Manager at Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Our Dearest Friends, Andrin & Desiree,

Thank you kindy for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you were able to experience so many wonderful animal encounters on your safari's. We truely enjoyed hosting you at our special lodge and do hope to welcome you both many more times in the future!

All Our Warmest Wishes,
Adam & Cherie
And Your Royal Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I returned to Royal Madikwe from 6-8 September 2012. Following the disappointing experience in September 2011, I was offered a complimentary 1 night's stay for 2 in a luxury suite with a view of the waterhole.

A friend accompanied me and we booked an extra night stay at the September rate. Our stay was very pleasant. We were the only 2 in the lodge over those 2 days, so we were treated like princesses! Our suite was right opposite the waterhole and given how dry the park is at the moment we were constantly entertained with game arriving to drink. Our ranger (Anton) was excellent and we saw lots of game including lion and a brief glimpse of a male leopard. The food was of a high standard and cooked to our specifications. A thoroughly enjoyable 2.5 day break.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a suite with a waterhole view. There is only 1 family unit that has this view...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niccigubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Madikwe, General Manager at Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dearest Royal Friends,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our very special lodge.
We are so happy to have had the opporunity to 'Royally' treat you both to a very special safari experience! It means so much to all of us here at Royal Madikwe, to know how much you enjoyed your second visit and we do hope to welcome you both back very soon!

All Our Warmest Regards,
Adam & Cherie,
And Your Royal Friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
359 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
604 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
283 reviews
13.9 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge

Address: R 49 Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $754 - $2,467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where 5 star service, lavish accommodation and adventurous Game Drives come standard, Royal Madikwe offers an unforgettable luxury safari experience for families, groups of friends or couples, seeking to soak up the splendour of the African Bush. Situated in the Malaria free Madikwe Game Reserve, just a 1 hour flight or 4 1/2 hour drive from Johannesburg International Airport, this is the ideal safari destination teeming with encounters of Southern Africa's famous Big Five as well as the endangered Wild dogs and Cheetah! Children of all ages are welcome at Royal Madikwe where they can play and learn about their natural surroundings in a safe environment with an exciting kiddies program while parents relax by the poolside, or join in on the fun! Winners of the "World Luxury Hotel Awards" in 2010, 2011 & 2013 in the Luxury Game Lodge category, Royal Madikwe offers accommodation on a per person shared basis to a maximum of 12 guests in 3 free standing Luxury Suites and 1 Royal Villa with spacious interiors, organic textures and beautiful views giving our guests the opportunity to lose themselves in the sights, sounds and smells of the African Bush. Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge also offers the option of exclusive use of the whole lodge, providing a more personal and intimate experience ideal for small groups or families which is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and South African Hotels so you can book your Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing