We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildside Safari Camp”
Review of Wildside Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Camp
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wildside Safari Camp”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just returned from a weekend at Wildside Safari Camp within the Entabeni Conservancy and had a wonderful stay. It's a tented camp but yet not simple - we loved the electric blankets as it got really cold at night.
Staff is friendly and the food was great. Sitting around the fire before dinner just creates that true bush experience. Michelle, our game ranger is really knowledgeable and the three game drives we had with her were awesome.. We saw 4 lionesses on a kill, two cheetahs and a group of rhinos. Entabeni is just 2,5 - 3 hours from Pretoria/Johannesburg which makes it an ideal weekend getaway. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: We stayed at tent number 10 which has a great view onto the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerstin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    31
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from Wildside Camp...awesome experience. This is my second safari...both were good but this one was unsurpassable in terms of proximity to the animals and quality of the guides. The guides know everything about the animals and how to track them...enabling their guests to get up close and personal with the animals. The game guides can also endlessly entertain with stories of their animal encounters as well as animal facts.
Wildside accommodations and staff are wonderful...but this is a camp to go to see wild animals...not loll around and chill.
Incredible trip for wild animal lovers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at Wildside for 2 nights in May after spending 3 nights at Hanglip lodge a few miles down the road. Wildside tents were very good with most mod cons apart from Air Conditioning, the food was a buffet every night where as Hanglip was cooked to order. Definitely recommend this and Adrian (our Ranger) was excellent on the drives teaching us about the animals and their behaviour. Everything was very good although I did manage to accidentally break my room key in the lock when the door wouldn't lock!!

If you're not after a 5* experience, happy with good food served buffet style and want to be closer to nature without all the mod cons this is a great choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was on the edge of the resort looking out on the bush
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluebongoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Entabeni Wildside Camp. This is a wonderful place combining game drive adventure, a relaxing lodge atmosphere, friendly service, and the chance to meet nice people. The daily morning and late afternoon game drives are perfectly organized by the local guides, we very much enjoyed the company of Shawne who, although young, was an experienced guide and managed to show us everything what we expected to see, including a long sighting of a leopard. For this experience, it is of course advisable to stay for at least three days, since not all drives are necessarily perfect. Moreover, Entabeni reserve is a wonderful piece of nature with remarkable biodiversity. Recommendable without restriction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RK-Koeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The best option in Entabeni. Very much in the bush and part of it all. You can hear the lions around the camp at night. Awake in the morning with giraffe roaming around the luxury tents. The early morning game drives are a treat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The camp is located near the foot of the mountain right in the middle of the beautiful game reserve. The tents are very cosy and has got shower and toilet. There are no mosquito nets in the tents, so bring your own if you need it.

There are a little shop at the camp where you can buy a (very) small selection of souveniers, t-shirts and hats. Be aware that you can't buy sunscreen or mosquito repellent in the shop.

There is a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the dining room. The food is very good and varied.

The staff at the camp are very helpful and friendly.

Entabeni Game Reserve is beautiful with lots of animals. Ranger Amos was incredible; we learned so much about the animals, plants, track hunting and so on. It was an amazing stay. I can only recommend a stay at Wildside Camp

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tira_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We absolutely loved our three day Safari at Wildside. We were treated so well by the staff and were really happy with our Luxury tent which had everything from fridge, fan, hairdryer to and awesome shower and nice private deck area over looking the park (Tent 5 is the best and most private!) Game drives by Michael were fantastic, saw all the animals we wanted to see and really close up!! The food was good and the swimming pool area great for relaxing between drives. Outstanding value for money, service and over all experience.

Room Tip: Tent 5 was private, wouldn't go for tent 4 but most of the tents had good privacy and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
23.0 mi away
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
#1 of 5 in Mokopane
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#7 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
12 reviews
14.6 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 17 in Mookgophong
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#10 of 38 in Vaalwater
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Camp

Property: Wildside Camp
Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the majestic cliffs of the Waterberg Mountain lies Wildside Safari Camp where you can experience the wild side of the bush. Stay close to nature in tented chalets on wooden decks. Traditional South African hospitality and superior cuisine await you in the informal dining and bar area extending to the boma. Here, in the warm atmosphere around the campfire, you will experience an African night at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Camp Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing