We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Animals, The Staff, and The Accomidations were Fantastic”
Review of Ravineside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ravineside Lodge
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was such an experience. The views, game drives, and adventure were just alot of fun. The rangers and staff were a great pleasure to be around. Adding to it the food was exemplary and it was a very comfortable way to be on safari. I went with my wife but this would be a great trip for an entire family. I really cant say enough good things about the staff at Ravineside. I was there for a Marathon in 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Good Day Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we do hope you will be attending the 2014 Marathon? It gives us great pleasure to read that your overall stay was a Legendary one and trust that you will return again for another memorable encounter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at Ravine-side for 5 nights in Feb 2014 and the entire experience was amazing from the moment we arrived until farewells from all the staff at the gate. The lodge and the surrounds were breath taking - both from the lodge & rooms and from the comfortable safari vehicles. The services we received from all the staff, front of house and back of house was second to none. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a truly unforgettable experience. The rangers Jan, Piet & Given always went the extra mile to make sure we got the chance to see as many of the animals as possible. The golf course was world class and very enjoyable to play. Keep up the great work at all of Entabeni and we look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: All rooms are unique - however take something to stop small animals from gaining access during the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgebooth_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Good Day, Georgebooth_5,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to learn that your overall stay was indeed Legendary! Thank you for the compliments on our property, team and game viewing – we have passed them on to the Team at Ravineside. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful time att Entabeni. The most amazing environment, helpful friendly staff, more food than you can possibly eat....
The room was simple but clean, comfy bed, magnificent view. The game drives were an experience for life, cheetahs and lions so close that you could pet them ( but did not of course), elephants, giraffes, crocs, hippos and rhinos, we were in the animal wonderland. Do really recommend a stay, we will always remember ours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Once56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at Ravineside för 5 nights. (traveling with Albatros). Very nice huts hanging on the ravineside with a great view. Occasionally the cute dassie family had a nightly fight or two under the hut. The rooms are basic but very cosy. If it's really breezy you feel the wind inside the hut.

Animals roam around the lodge freely so walking around by one self is not allowed. To get up to the mailbuilding you need to catch a ride and the rangers are quick to pick peeps up,

Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you ask for anything they fix it right away.
Food is good, especially breakfast. Everything is fresh.

Game drives are great too! Lots of rhinos, giraffes and lions. (at least for us). Our ranger Shaun had great knowledge of the animals, birds and trees in the area. He also had good skills in singing (the Lekker day in Africa song) and entertaining.

Had a great time and really recommend a stay here. Lifetime expericence!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fightress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went to the entabeni game reserve in October 2 years ago really fantastic experience 2 game drives per day lovely watching the sunset with a beer!
The food was quite good full British breakfast In the morning and a nice lunch and dinner a few times had a BBQ outside.
The lodge had a swimming pool and the rooms very clean and tidy with an ensuite.
The only downside it was 3/4 hours from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was traveling with a group of 18. Is was a fantastic experience and I want to go back.

My room was located at Eagle Nest. 4Star room, with a big comfortable bed double bed. The bathroom was nice. The view was just fantastic.

The food was ok, but they should have more options.

The safari-part was fantastic, the animals just walking around the car as close as 1-2m. The car was very comfortable to be seated in. But they say that the animals are wild. We were driving after some animals in the morning and at the evening. And suddenly we find them. But the animals had a necklace with a transmitter.. So I did feel that they tried to trick us. And the are fences to keep them in restricted areas. To me it looks like that they were trying to make it more dangerous than it my be.

After all, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferencz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Michelle Bouic, Client Liaison at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Ferencz K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is heartening to read that your overall stay was a Legendary one. Regarding your comments about the collars, we would just like to clarify that these collars are not for tracking purposes at all, but in fact used by our onsite researchers to learn more about the various animals in their habitat and is exclusive to a limited number of animals and species. Furthermore, the tracking system of these collars is not accessible by rangers or staff. Your bush experience was indeed a lucky one and by no means “engineered”. While some of our animals may be brave enough to walk right up to the vehicles, they are by no means tame. Safety of our guests, especially on a 22 000ha Big 5 Game Reserve, is our biggest priority, and the limited fences and signage you have seen is there for just that reason. We look forward to welcoming you back to Entabeni in the near future and trust that another Legendary experience will await you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms are divided into clusters of 4 huts which comprised of 3 bedrooms and a common hall. You are not allowed to leave the premises of your cluster without the ranger’s escort. The room itself was rather basic and the ensuite bathroom looked old and shabby. There was a fridge at the common hall where you could chill your drinks (You can buy drinks at the reception desk). Breakfast, lunch and dinner were served at the reception area which was accessible only by ranger-driven vehicles and the rangers would send everybody back to their separate clusters after the meal. The buffet-style meals were palatable. No bottled water was provided and I would recommend buying some bottled drinking water before you arrive as my experience in boiling the tap water was that it wasn’t so clean and had a weird taste). Coffee-making facility was available in the room. It was so quiet and peaceful at night after our dinner and the place was in complete darkness. In the middle of the night, we could hear noises made by animals though I was assured that the lights along the corridor would prevent animals from coming near.

We had 4 game rides in the 3 days we stayed at Entabeni. However, we could only manage to see 3 (Elephant, Rhinoceros and Lion) out of the Big Five and the rhinos and giraffes were the most common sights. The rides were fun and thrilling as we went round in search for the animals. Sitting right at the back of the jeep was more exciting as the journey was made more bumpy though photography was more tedious at the back.
Bring a face mask if possible as it can get quite dusty during the ride.

We also had a helicopter flip which was quite exciting. Do sit in the front seat with the pilot if you are brave. The pilot would perform some acrobatic stunts in flying between the mountains.

I thoroughly enjoyed the game drives and though I am not so certain about the helicopter flip because I was too frightened. Staying at Entabeni Ravineside was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiniBigMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entabeni Game Reserve hotels
1.3 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
70 reviews
7.5 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
296 reviews
0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravineside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range: $189 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Ravineside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing