We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge, Pity Service not quite up to scratch”
Review of Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My wife and I spent a relaxing 2 night getaway at Lakeside Lodge. This lodge is great as its location is fantasic, Only 3 hours drive from Johannesburg, and it is in a malaria free area. The rooms are of a decent size, bathroom is great witha large bath and seperate shower which is also large. The bathroom also has his and hers wash basins which for me is a nice touch. The mini bar is also very well stocked. And for those chilly winter nights, wood is supplied in the fire place.

Breakfast was great, lunch was average and dinner good. My comment about the food is that it is good, without it being wow

The game viewing was great, with the reserve basic having 2 sections, the upper escarpment and lower escarpment. There is plentiful game on both, with the lower escarpment having the full big 5 while the upper has only 3. The 2 escrapments can be reached by driving through a gorge, which is only accessible if there has been less than 5mm of rain.

Our ranger Juan went out of his way to try and find the animals that we wanted to see, and as a result we saw 3 of the big 5: Elephant, Lion and Rhino, Leopard and buffalo were elusive.

The reserve als joins a golf estate which has a cheetah breeding project and a similar white lion project. Well worth the visit.

The not so good aspect of our stay was the service. We ordered a room witha double bed, and on check in we were greeted with 2 single beds, which after we pointed this out, the beds were pushed together. To my mind this is not a double bed. Period. If you offer double beds, make sure it is a single unit, not 2 beds pushed together.

Our check in was quick and efficient, however, our car was not parked for us as is done at most game lodges I have visitted.

Table service was slow. It seemed as if the serving staff was really uinterested in me as the individual. It seems as if personalised service is not trained at the Lodge.

All in all it was a good stay, but could have been better as the lodge has enormous potential to bge one of the best private gane lodges in the Limpopo province of SA, and thus compete with the lodges in Mpumalanga.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brutus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 273 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2006

I stayed here with my wife for four nights at the end of October early November, as part of a Virgin UK Holiday. The lodges are clean, spacious and well furnished.

The meals in general where all very good with plenty of choice, and all the staff we encountered where always very helpful and friendly. We where met by our Ranger on arrival, and he looks after your needs whilst there, the scenery at Entabeni is fantastic and it all added to the whole safari experience. The roads are all rough. [no tarmac roads here]

This was our first Safari, and to be honest we didn't think the reserve was teeming with animals, but we still managed to see four of the big five, [no leopard this time] plus giraffe, hippo, crocodile, zebra, monkeys, baboons, wilderbeest etc etc.

To sum it up, we felt that we were very well looked after, and that it's a great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Kidder44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget V, client liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cnbbasura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget V, client liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2Katrin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank 66Ilaria66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
65 reviews
6.9 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
277 reviews
0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#7 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 18 in Mookgophong
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ravineside Lodge
Ravineside Lodge
#5 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
86 reviews
0 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing