We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanglip Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Best game drive experience ever. Well, with Mike as the game ranger, it should actually be called Extreme Wild Drive...up close and personal has a new meaning for me. Saw 4/5 Big Five.
Food and staff are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've had the privilege of taking my family to Hanglip Mountain Lodge 'below' the majestic Hanglip Mountain in the Waterberg Range. This was an experience of a lifetime. The service, the views, the game, the setting, the splendor of the natural environment and the incredible luxury in which we were pampered made for an unforgettable long weekend! We saw a lion hunt, cheetahs circling the lodge, hippo, giraffe, jackal, rhino, buffalo, elephant and what not! An incredible experience within 3 hours from Johannesburg.... A must do!

Congratulations to the the staff and support personnel!

Room Tip: Take binoculars, cameras and staying power!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Hanglip for 3 nights in May following a free upgrade after our original accommodation was being refurbished and we were glad we did! Hanglip lodges are fantastic with a poster bed, in room log fire, double bath, aid conditioning and all the mod cons you can expect so far from civilisation!

The staff were extremely friendly, room service in turning down our beds and turning on the electric blankets (welcome in the SA autumn!), food was excellently cooked and accommodation fantastic. Additionally Amos our Ranger was excellent at tracking the animals and help make the trip what it was.

If you're after luxury accommodation with the safari experience Hanglip is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are the closest to the restaurant/reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebongoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent some nights in this game lodge and found it a unique experience as for the lodge facilities as for the organised game drives where we saw 4 of the big five (we saw no buffalos) in an unique landscape. I can recommend this lodge with nice and friendly staff, good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What an increiblė experience. First of all the rooms are individual -like huts with large beds, huge bathroom with tub and shower, fridge, free sherry and water and a back porch that looks on to a watering hole. The guides for the game drives were so knowledgeable and tried very hard to find the animals for us. And then there was the staff, I think they all had to be able to sing before they got hired there. They would always sing something for us at dinner and it was wonderful. A first class experience without being over the top.

We had wildebeest, warthogs, exotic birds and even elephants eating on the front lawn. And one night 3 lions slept outside one of the huts. I could have stayed there longer ( we had 3 nights)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We loved our stay at Hanglip Mountain Lodge! I have nothing but amazing things to say about everything about this place. The accommodations were really great - luxurious and comfortable lodge where we had meals and spent some time and the beautiful bungalows, which have all the amenities you could want, including a gorgeous view of Hanglip Mountain. The staff were very friendly and accommodated guests in any way possible. The rangers were knowledgable and worked their hardest to make every game drive special and exciting - and you always felt safe with the rangers. The food was great and the chef was able to create personalized dishes to fit my dietary restrictions.

The Safari was the most wonderful experience I've ever had. Hanglip Lodge has struck an amazing balance of offering luxurious accommodations while in the middle of the "bush" - you don't lose the fact that you are staying in a wild part of South Africa. Game drives took place at 6AM and 4PM every day and we went on six. Each time we experienced something new and exciting as we tracked animals and studied the animal behavior. It was truly something fantastic.

After four days at Hanglip, we were very very sad to leave. I will never forget this place and hope to come back to the wild wonder and luxury that is offered there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from Africa on Jan 24th, couldn't wait to write a review of this Wonderful Lodge. We stayed for three 1/2 days and the time flew by so fast, we couldn't believe when it was time to leave.

We arrived at the Lodge after a 2 1/2 hour drive from Johannesburg, it was raining pretty hard, but it didn't dampen our spirts at all. We received a warm welcome from the Staff and were given a quick tour of the Main Lodge, where we were to take our meals and relax a little before Game Drives. It was so beautiful I started taking pictures of it, until the Game Ranger and Tracker Trevor said it was time to go to our room and get ready for the late afternoon game drive. We stayed in Unit #6. Trevor opened up for us and gave a brief rundown on how to operate everything in the room. Their was a Beautiful netting over the bed, so I asked him if this was a mosquito problem. He explain this area was a No Malaria area and that wouldn't be a concern for us. What a lovely room, I must say it was one of the best accomodations we have ever stayed in. Besides we had our own African Zoo all around us. Every morning we would wake up to find our front and back yard full of Animals. What a sight it was.

Off to our first game drive, the number of various animals we seen that first evening astounded me. I thought maybe a few dozen here and there. Every turn we took we saw Animals. We even seen a large pair of Male Giiraffes fighting. Trevor pointed out a very large Log near a waterhole that turned out to be a an 18 foot Crocodile, it was a female on a nest. Just before we returned to the Lodge Trevor located a very large Male Lion. It had a large Black Mane and it allowed me to take many photos, it even roared for us, I can now understand how this brute is the King of the Jungle, when we were almost back to the lodge it roared again, we were some 3 miles from it yet the roar was impressive.

After dinner Trevor escorted us to the room with a flashlight, he said he felt there were Lions near the Lodge, of course my wife and I thought he might have been trying to impress us a bit, just to make us feel it was dangerous, when it really wasn't. Early next morning Trevor drove about 150 yards from our room and there were 4 Female Lions laying in the tall grass, they had just killed a Worthog, no more disbelieving Trevors intuitions.

The next two days we seen all the animals except the Leopard and Cape Buffalo. Trevor said there hadn't been a Leopard on the Reserve for about 4 months, he said they come and go and don't stay very long. The Buffalo were high up in the Mountains because of the rainy season.

Speaking of Mountain, on our last day Trevor drove up to the top of Hanglip Mountain, what a drive it was, not for the faint of heart I can assure you The Trail was 45 degree all the way up, to the top of the encarpment, it runed into a large Mesa and there were animals everywhere, hundreds of them. The drive down was just as exciting as the drive up was, we both hung on for dear life, but Trevor knew how to drive a 4 x 4, that's for sure.

We were the only guests for the first two days, so Trevor devoted more serious time with us than we had expected. One day he took us to the Legends Lodge and to the Game Sanctuary to see the 3 White Lions they have in Captivity. One of the Females had climed up into a tree, and it looked like it was concerned about how to get back down. Trevor said that was a first for him. Later that day we also saw a young Zebra that had almost Red Stripe's and a very predominant
Red Mane. Trevor said it was the first time he had seen it, he got on the Truck phone to call the other guides in the area and told them its location. Got some great photos of it. Trevor hoped the Lions wouldn't get to it before it grew to adulthood.

Guess I have rambled enough, oh yes the Food was 4 to 5 Star all the way every night. Breakfast was well done as well. Trevor made sure we had our Cocktail party every night in the "Bush" before we returned home. Wine and lots of small yum yum's.

When we left it was with heavy hearts. What a great Safari in evry way. I highly recommend this Lodge to anyone considering it, you won't go away disappointed

Mitch and Sheila

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but with different decor in each room, they are all perfect in every way. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palomah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Michelle Bouic - Client Liaison & Branding Executive - Legend Lodges, Hotels & Resorts at Hanglip Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you very much for putting together such a comprehensive review of Hanglip Lodge, your time and effort is much appreciated. We are thrilled that you had a great time enjoying the accommodation and wildlife, and hope to welcome you back to Entabeni in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
22.4 mi away
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
#1 of 5 in Mokopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
18.3 mi away
Olievenfontein Private Game Reserve
Olievenfontein Private Game Rese...
#1 of 1 in Behoudeniskloof
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanglip Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanglip Mountain Lodge

Property: Hanglip Mountain Lodge
Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanglip Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exclusive Hanglip Mountain Lodge with its 10 luxury en-suite thatched rooms on the lower escarpment of the malaria-free Entabeni Safari Conservancy, surrounded by wetlands and plains. This secluded lodge is refreshingly alluring with its unique blend of luxury and true African wilderness with views stretching over the lake and plains to Hanglip Mountain and the Waterberg Range. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanglip Mountain Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing