We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
408
17
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
17
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon bush bath game drives watering hole the reserve other guests safari camp outdoor shower dry river bed tree house south africa whole experience an amazing experience attention to detail water hole from start to finish food was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 431 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Garonga Safari Camp was better then my husband and I could ever have expected. They left nothing to chance and literally thought of everything in this gem of a safari camp. The food was amazing, the service was perfect and the scenery was beyond compare. I wish we could have stayed longer. Our tracker Jeff was awesome, we will miss him and all the amazing people there.

Advice to people who are driving from any airport, call the camp and ask for the GPS coordinates to the turn off before the dirt road as the GPS coordinates offered on the website will lead you to the wrong dirt roads.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Garonga is just a lovely place. The 'tents' are beautiful, more like little chalets with lots of extra touches like the little notes left by housekeeping staff and even teddies on the bed! We had tent number 1 'Jackets Hill' which probably had the best view of all, overlooking a watering hole where a whole herd of elephants came to bathe one afternoon. It was such an experience to be tucked up in our cosy tent at night hearing all the strange noises outside!
The game drives are great with a maximum of 6 people in the truck so not too crowded. We saw everything except for the elusive leopard but another group had seen a leopard earlier in the week so we were just unlucky. We saw lots of different species and the guides point out lots of interesting things rather than just spending the whole time chasing the 'big 5' which I really enjoyed. Stopping for morning tea break and sundowners on the evening drives was lovely - what is better then sipping a G+T in the African bush while the sun goes down on the horizon?!
The food is fantastic. They were on 'winter' timetable during our stay which meant a huge breakfast after the morning game drive, then a later high tea instead of lunch with delicious cakes, then a lovely 3 course meal in the evening. The evening meals vary each night, sometimes eating in a larger group, sometimes on individual 'couples' tables.
The all inclusive is really good value, all drinks are included including alcoholic ones - I have to say I did get addicted to a few Amarulas after dinner!
Garonga also offer an outdoor bush bath under the stars which was lovely, also a 'sleepout' on a private deck about 1/2 hours drive from the camp which sadly we didnt get to do as it rained on the night we booked (only time it rained the whole time we were there!). People who did it said it was amazing so do it if you can!
The staff are so friendly and because there are only a small number of guests it feels really intimate, almost like staying at someones house rather than a hotel.
I could ramble on for hours about Garonga, absoultely nothing bad to say about it at all and I normally find some niggle with most other places I have stayed. My husband and I had a wonderful honeymoon.
We booked our trip through Imagine Africa who were great - everything involved with the trip ran very smoothly, staff were very helpful in recommending the best places to stay, cant thank them enough for recommending Garonga to us.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz0779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

All I can say is wow, what a way to finish our honeymoon. Everything about Garonga was fantastic, but especially the people who keep everything ticking over so smoothly.

Zela was the nicest manager we met on our trip and the trackers and guides were fantastic (Josai and Jefrad). Rooms etc. seemed to be serviced without us ever seeing anyone doing them!!
We felt so at home and were really sad to leave. The food, rooms and especially the game drives, were amazing. We even saw a leopard 5 minutes from the end of our last drive (thanks Jefrad and Josai!!). I can't wait to hopefully return some day...

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marykenny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Garonga is a sanctuary - an organic flowing space that spreads harmony around it. Earthen columns reflect the crumbling spires of termite mounds; rough plastered walls echo the sand. Many guests come to find inspiration in nature, tracking wildlife in the pre-dawn and the moonlight, learning the names of trees and the habits of 350 birds. Others simply to anchor themselves to the earth, empty their minds, eat, sleep deeply, and unwind in the aromatherapy sala. Garonga prides itself on meeting its guests' needs through a deep understanding of service and by offering the kind of holistic wildlife experience you'll search Africa to find. If each guest takes away with them a deeper understanding of the wilderness, then Garonga has fulfilled its ambition to share its place of peace.

Date of stay: August 2008
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dianefrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

It seems like a lifetime since we were in Little Garonga at the end of October, where we got married in an amazing 'tree house' overlooking a waatering hole and the vast wilderness. A very special day that couldn't have been any better.
We stayed in the Hambleden Suite which is truly fantastic, with a lovely outdoor lounge/dining area, private pool and great views of the bush. Everything about the stay was exceptional, from the brilliant hospitality of the staff (special mention to Africk, CJ and Peter) whose friendliness and knowledge make the place ideal for a great safari and relaxing/ romantic holdiay.
The safari experience itself was superb - having a vehicle to ourselves, or sharing with one other couple, and having great sightings of lion (twice), cheetah, elephants (lots of times!), hippo, white rhino, and giraffe, impala, wilderbeest, zebra, kudu etc all of the time! It is also a great place for birds - with lots of species frequently coming to drink from the pool outside the room. We didn't manage to spot the elusive leopard, but this just gives us a good excuse to return one day!
The food was excellent, from the breakfst after the morning game drive, to a lovely lunch, afternoon tea and cookies, sundowners and finally romantic candlelight dinners.
I couldn't recommend Little Garonga highly enough, and a short review such as this cannot possibly do it justice.
We booked our trip of a lifetime through Imagine Africa, who I couldn't rate highly enough. They sorted out a perfect itinerary to suit our requirements and all of the arrangements and information was seemless.
For anyone considering a romantic, get away from it all holiday/safari experience my advice is to get to Garonga Safari Camp!

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0betrekker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews