We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible animal sightings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Incredible animal sightings.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Garonga sees more couples than families but hopefully this will change. It's a lovely place, with very comfortable luxury tents overlooking a riverbed that is often visited by elephants etc. The safari experience is just incredible - our guide/driver went beyond the call of duty in order to help us find all the animals we could ever have wanted, including driving through unbelievably thick bush to find a pair of leopard cubs.
It was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks indeed for your feedback which is always so important.
The Safari Teams do indeed try and pull out all the stops.
Once the rains come a lot of the Game spreads over into Garonga. We have been very blessed with some incredible sightings on a regular basis now.
It was great hosting you here.
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
267
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Perfect stay for a perfect vacation. I can't say enough good things about this place. From the moment we were picked up from the airport, we were treated with such respect. The staff is amazing....anything you need, you get. The "tents" you stay in all have a view of the watering pond which many of the animals came to drink. I have a picture of my son lying out at the pool watching giraffes drinking water! The accommodations are luxurious. The tents are large with indoor and outdoor showers, beds that were extremely comfortable and views of animals that can’t be beat. The tents are set up for couples but they did accommodate my 20 year old son with his own tent. The food was incredible (even accommodating my meat restrictions), with most any kind of drinks, free of charge, available all day long. But the most amazing part of the trip was the safari trips, one early in the morning and one late afternoon/early evening. The guide and spotter would ask us what we wanted to see and they would set out until they found the animal. Once I asked to see more elephants. Our guide found a herd of 65 elephants with one juvenile who greeted us with his “bravado”, telling us to leave his family alone. The next night, my son asked to see the hyenas and we were able to watch 3 adults and 4 babies play and feed. One baby became very curious, coming up to the vehicle. I have an incredible picture of mommy letting baby know to get away! The only drawback is that they only have 4 of the 5 “big 5” (missing the water buffalo) but honestly, I did not miss it at all. Best vacation yet

Room Tip: Tent 1 has best view but all tents have view of watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Many Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback. Am so glad that your Safari Experience was so enjoyable.
Best Wishes
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The camp is fantastic!
We were in our honeymoon and it was an amazing experience!

The tents are very neat, confortable and romantic.
The staff is also very communicative and treated us very well.

The private reserve is very wide and we could see 3 of the big5. We weren't able to see the buffalos and leopards. But overall it was very nice to see many animal is such close range.
The rangers are very good in tracking and driving the jeeps. The cars are very good also, very confortable.

As we were in our honeymoon we were offered a couples massage and a unique experience to sleep in the reserve, far away from the camp. But we refused. Although it could be a marvelous experience. Also we were granted with a bottle of south african champange in our arrival.

The only negative is the food. But it's because I have a kind of restricted diet. But the staff was able to make special meals for me.

I recomend this safari camp and would return when possible.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 6th tent. I was told that this is the best tent to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks indeed for your feedback and many congratulations on your honeymoon.
I'm glad the Chefs managed to cater for your dietary requirements; this should not have been a problem as they are well used to this.
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in December and were blown away. Not sure I could something that hasn’t been said, but just want to add a few points. The tents were very luxurious and comfortable. They did get a bit hot during the day, but the ceiling fan cooled things down enough for an after lunch nap, but we spent most of the afternoons in the hammock watching the elephants that visited almost every day. We took advantage of every safari (2/day) and were never disappointed. Even if we didn’t see one of the big 5, we always saw something interesting and enjoyed the scenery. Though it was rainy season, it only rained once and they provided good rain gear. The bush bath was very romantic. The tree house lunch was fun because some monkeys were entertaining us as they played in a tree some 100 meters away. The camp out took some convincing, but was worth it when we woke up to hyenas swimming in the pond after a night out hunting. The food was incredible.

Besides the outstanding facilities, incredible wildlife safaris, and world class food, we were amazed at all the personal touches they put in. We received hand written notes from the various staff (including the laundry ladies) which was a great touch. The guides interacted with us on a personal level and took extra time for our personal interest. We were there on Christmas day and they provided a special bush breakfast, gave us a stocking with gifts, and organized a nice family style Christmas dinner for all the guest. In the end, it was these personal touches that really made us love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aileronguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank-You very much for your very positive feedback from Xmas time last year. It was a very wet time over that period, but am so glad you enjoyed all the extra activities including the sleep out.
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

perfect logde with super guides and staff members. amazing food and beautiful scenery.
we also got married at Garonga and it was a perfect day! we will always remember these 4 days.
Thanks to Patrick and Josay!

Room Tip: there are only 6 tents and they are all good located
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Apologies for the delayed reply ; have been away.
Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback. It was a great pleasure hosting you on such a special occasion.
We all wish you every success and fortune together.
Best Wishes
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here in Little Garonga for our Honeymoon, it really was pure luxury! Rooms are cleaned every time you leave your suite, and the food was incredible, The staff were so friendly and we really enjoyed the game drives here, we saw a herd of elephants, 7 lions and rhinos, sadly didn't see any leopards or cheetahs here tho! If we were to come back I think we would stay in the tents instead as some of them had a great view and were as luxurious as the suites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks indeed for the feedback. A pity you didn't catch up with the elusive Leopard, and the Cheetah. Little Garonga is very special but you're quite right, does not have the same views as Safari Camp.
Hope to see you back!
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just come back from a 2 week honeymoon trip to S. Africa and Mozambique.

1st week we spent 7 nights at Garonga Safari Camp. Without a shadow of doubt this place was immense. What can I say!?!?!
The accommodation, service and staff smash some of the best 5 star hotels I have ever stayed at and this place is in the middle of the African bush!!
Bernie and his excellent team know what customer service is all about. From start to finish you are always looked after without being imposed upon.

The accommodation is amazing - luxury tents with all the mod cons that make you feel secure and more than comfortable whilst on a true African adventure! We looked out into the bush and a nearby water hole that was frequented daily by lions, elephants and all the usual suspects!

The food was top quality - breakfasts, lunch and dinner spot on and as good as any 5 star hotel restaurant...The dinners were all very social and each night we dined in differnt places on the camp.

Activity wise - amongst excellent game driving my wife and I dined in a tree one lunch time, had a bush bath but missed out on the sleep out overnight just because it was booked up- gutted because the feedback from the other guests on that activity were amazing.
Oh - Faye's massages are also a defo not to miss - nothing worse than paying for an expensive tickle - she knows how to cure those travel knots!!! So good we took the complimentary one as part of our honeymoon package and then paid for another two!!!

The game drives were superb. The rangers and trackers know their stuff and on request managed to find the animals our group wanted to see on a daily basis. We saw all the major game and learnt so much whilst we were out there - very enlightening!

All the staff are so friendly, professional and helpful. They know exactly when they are required and give you all the space needed. One fine example of going the extra mile. I forogot topack my battery charger for the camera and was obviously gutted as this would have meant I would have missed out on some major shots. The following day having reported this to the team they travelled to Hoedspruit and bought one for me!!!

Seriously - we could not ask for any more - great job Bernie and the team!
Stu & Susie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swhite8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Stu and Susie,
A great pleasure having you out here, and very happy that you had a great stay.
Fay does indeed manage to untangle the knots, and this is a great Location to try a massage.
Thanks indeed for your positive feedback and we look forward to having you back one day.
best Wishes
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
13.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
321 reviews
10.0 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,044 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Property: Garonga Safari Camp
Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve
Garonga Safari Camp South Africa/Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing