We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Texas
1 review
“the best ever”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

this is the best stay ever, what a place, what a people, what an animal.
people are really intrested in what they do.
very personal threat, and beautiful big 5 and rest
the tents and specially little garonga suites are amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titus1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks indeed for the very positive feedback. We wish you back one day to maybe try Safari Camp.
All the best
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
267
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

we were recommended Garonga Safari Lodge as a great honeymooner's lodge and we where not disappointed.

from the moment we arrived; Nicole, Eve and the team were more than helpful with everything and Mussa, Dynamos and the other safari trackers were excellent if finding the animals so we saw pretty much everything.

The lodge is small which is perfect as the whole safari experience needs to be intermit. The accommodation tents are good and little details like your own water flask were welcome. Remember it is in a wildlife reserve so there are animals that can walk through the lodge. We saw a warthog and monkey's behind our tent and most mornings were woken by elephants in the riverbed only metres away.

We stayed 5 nights which was a good amount of time. In the 9 safari drives we saw pretty much everything and the guides made sure that we could try to see something different each time. The early mornings were fine and it left the middle of the day for relaxing.

The food is excellent and the team were able to help with any queries including arranging a paramedic to see me at short notice as a precaution.

There are many safari lodges around Kruger but I will agree with the person who recommended Garonga as I cannot believe there are many better. from the arrival to the flight out the whole experience was perfect I hope we can come back soon.

Like my wife says: we have never felt more sad to leave anywhere.
Ps! And that was not even the end of the honeymoon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks indeed for your very kind words and I certainly hope you fully recovered.
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

As the first part of our honeymoon, my wife and I travelled to Garonga for a five night stay at the beginning of November 2012. From the moment we arrived at the madness of Hoedspruit airport to be met by the wonderful sight of two Warthog grazing beside the taxiway until the moment we reluctantly said our goodbyes, the whole experience was truly without fault. Our tented accommodation was supremely comfortable and always spotlessly clean, and the little messages left for us daily in the sand box were a lovely touch. The tents are a great compromise between being protected from, and yet still feeling a part of, nature and the surrounding wildlife and I must say they have it spot on! This is also the case up at the sleep-out deck which was a unique experience and one I urge any guests to do.
The game drives themselves were absolutely fantastic, and we always looked forward to them, in spite of the 5am start! Jaffeth, Rebel, Josia and Patric were always very knowledgeable and friendly, and it was always a pleasure to share their company (Patric and Rebel's impromptu "dance-off" on our very first game drive was especially memorable!)
The food was wonderful; the springbok and Kudu were my favourites, but every single meal was delicious, and the fact that each evening meal was hosted by a different team member only served to continue the friendly atmosphere. It was lovely to be able to sit and share experiences from guests in the other jeep, as well as spend time talking to people from all over the world; an experience unlike any other hotel we have stayed at. In addition, to have the pleasure of sharing Andy's company on our last night and learn of his passion for conservation, in particular the lone lioness who had found her way into camp that day, was truly inspiring and an experience I will never forget.
I could wax lyrical about this place for days, but put simply I urge anyone thinking of going on safari to go to Garonga, where you will experience not only a memorable safari, but truly top class service from everyone. For me, Garonga is now the benchmark for how guests should be treated. My wife and I are already looking forward to returning to Garonga sometime in the future to reacquaint ourselves with the wonderful people that make this place tick.

Room Tip: Tents 1, 2, 3 and 4 give the best view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It was a pleasure having you to stay, and I'm sure Africa will stay in your heart.
The lone lioness was part of the pride that was shot on a neighbours farm a few months ago and she appears to be recovering despite being on her own now.
All the best
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Garonga is an absolutely beautiful and relaxing place to stay. The staff are all very nice and friendly, and they make sure their guests are relaxed and having a good time.

The luxury tents are stunning! you will forget you're even in a tent once you go inside because it's very solid! They leave little notes after they clean your room, which is a very nice touch. We went during the winter season, and the heated bed is the coziest thing in the world!

I recommend attending every safari drive, day and night, because there's a chance you'll see something amazing each time! Our guide and tracker are the friendliest people we met throughout our trip to South Africa. They are full of fun and energy, and they know everything about every animal, plant, insect and rock at the reserve!

The campsite and the sleep-out excursion are very safe! A staff member will even walk you safely back to your tent after dinner, not because lions can even get into the campsite, just to make sure you don't fall or get lost in the dark.

The food there is delicious! It's like fine dining for dinner every night. For breakfast, the eggs, bacon and everything else is cooked perfectly. They had coffee, tea, and a bar you can help yourself to for drinks, although I did crave for a cappuccino some mornings.
We had a very amusing experience when a monkey actually walked past us and stole a piece of toast off the table! During the day there are wild boars grazing near the pool, usually a mama boar and her baby.

If you are looking for an all-inclusive resort and always wanted to go to a safari, this is the perfect place. It's worth paying a bit more to go to a private reserve. You get better service because the staff gets to know you better, and it's just more peaceful.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best view of the watering hole, great during winter months, but keep mosquitoes in mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks indeed for your very descriptive experience of life here at Garonga.
It was great to have you stay and hopefully see you back one day.
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Garonga Safari Camp for 5 nights and it was truly wonderful. Everyone made us feel very welcome and we'd like to thank Nicole, Musa & Dynamos and all others for making this stay so very special. We loved the sleep-out, the magical tents, Spa treatments, healthy food and it was great learning so much from the guides about the bush ecosystem. We would recommend staying for at least 3-4 nights. Garonga claims to offer a "Safari for the soul" and if you are not in a hurry or on a schedule, this is definitely the place.
Take it all in and enjoy the pure feeling of happiness.

Room Tip: Safari Tent 1 or 6 are furthest away from the main lodge. however all of them have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks Indeed for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you here and hope to see you back one day on a Safari for the Soul!
Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! We booked through imagine Africa for our honeymoon and was given great feedback and information on garonga and we were not dissappointed. Luxury tents were 5* and the food was superb. We had jeff and Patrick as our game driver/tracker and their knowledge of the animals were 100% . Thanks garonga!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikihux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Many thanks indeed for your feedback.
We hope to see you back on an anniversary some time!
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in September and loved evry minute of it. The standard of accommodation, the quality of the food and the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff were all first class. The safaris exceeded expectation. Bernie is the perfect host and this camp is the perfect place to base yourself if you want to experince this type of travel



Patrick & Jill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks indeed to you both for a very positive feedback. You were great company and I really hope we can see you again here at Garonga.
best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
13.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
321 reviews
10.0 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,044 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Property: Garonga Safari Camp
Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve
Garonga Safari Camp South Africa/Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing