We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great time with lovely staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Little Garonga for 4 nights for the middle part of our honeymoon.
We have been home for over a week and re-looking at our pictures and telling all our friends and family have brought back all the lovely times we had with CJ and the team!
Hambeldon Suite blew us away and we loved the little sand messgaes we got and enjoyed spending time watching the elephants drinking and the monkeys playing on our little veranda bit!
We were very lucky to see the whole herd of elephants several times and got very close to them, the cheetahs tried to hide from us but CJ tracked them down, so many giraffes that I don't think I would ever get bored of seeing them and our lion sighting was one of those once in a lifetime opportunities - although at the time watching it get more and more angry with us was a little scary!
We did the sleepout and really enjoyed the experience.
We can not fault anything! The team, the food, the accomodation were out of this world.
We will see you for our 10 year wedding renewal :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahvh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks very much indeed for your feedback which is always much valued. Indeed we do hope to see you back on an anniversary.
The sleep out is always remarked on by those who try it, although it's not for all.
best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
267
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Garonga for 5 nights in July 2012 as the first stop on our honeymoon. The lodge was recommended by Hilary at Imagine Africa who were super super helpful in wading through the massive number of options to hand to pick something that was perfect for us both in terms of budget and experience! Garonga is a beautiful small camp. The tents were even better than the pictures suggest, food was fantastic, lodge beuatifully appointed and amazing trackers and staff! Particular highlights include the way in which Bernie the owner fully oversees the running of the lodge- this means that you feel that your every desire is catered for!! The views from the main building and from our tent overlooking groups of lions or giraffe coming to drink at the watering hole were amazing!! We thoroughly enjoyed the bush sleep out as well as other little honeymoon extras like the micro lite flight, bush massages and bush bath!! Don't hesitate, just go!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room near the watering hole for the best views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeemaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks indeed for your positive feedback; it was great having you over to stay. The Microlite flight is a great way to see the whole reserve for those who don't mind a little Aircraft.
Keep well and all the best
bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Recently enjoyed 3 nts at Garonga Camp. Pre-paid transfers were fine and we were welcomed by Nicole. She is a very low-key professional--tending to so many aspects of hospitality. The staff at the camp is excellent. Our tracker, Patrick and ranger, Josia(h?) were a highlight of our stay. We had a few "wild rides" thru the bush which resulted in extra treats for game viewing. Their expertise and sense of humor kept us excited, educated and entertained. Our theme phrase from them was "siyafunda"--We Learn--in Zulu. Yes, we did--thanks so much for your lessons!

Regarding the camp--the tents were large and semi luxurious. The lack of AC made for poor napping midday. We disliked being "stranded" after dark--we could only go out with pre-arranged escort (no phone to call someone). Showers (indoor and out) were quite nice. We had almost no view of the waterholes---limited to partial view of the smaller one. I don't recommend unit #3 for that reason.

Regarding food--not sure, but I think maybe the regular chef was on leave? I had poorly cooked breakfasts--hard or raw eggs (I ordered medium) and flavors for dinners and tea snacks were pretty bland. I sadly had to let Nicole know that the food was substandard for a rather pricey lodge. I had more than one complaint about basic dishes. Overcooked/raw eggs, undercooked bacon and pastries. The sweet treats had nearly no sugar at all--dry and tasteless. Blah. Most of the food was repurposed--usually last night's veg became a creamed soup-or leftovers became simple but tough stew with little "sauce".
We did the sleepout, which was a highlight (despite the awful food they sent with us) Blech!
The camp engineer had just installed a rather clever flush toilet on a side walk from the living space. It was very much appreciated.
The staff was very gracious and so friendly.
We also disliked paying a premium for wire transfers and using a credit card. They do not accept American Express (ours has no conversion costs) but the camp charges 3% just to take a card for accommodations. (no charge for incidentals) I also overpaid on the wire transfer, based on the rates that day, and that was not applied to our incidentals bill at the end of our stay. I asked about it prior to arrival, but forgot to mention it on departure. Our loss, I guess.
All in all, it was a great safari, despite the negatives. Nearly all the staff makes an effort to please. I'm just sad about our food experience, since so many people rave about it. Ours was clearly not the same.

Room Tip: Best view of main waterhole is #1. I believe #4 has a good view, as well. Avoid # 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieHoedspruit, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I am sorry about your food experience, as guests staying at the same time all stated "Excellent" for their food. Leftovers in many places are not thrown away if they can be used for alternative dishes. Our fully inclusive rate is regarded as one of the most competitive in the Industry; not me saying this, but the Industry.
Regarding the payment plan; this is done according to the exchange rate on the day. We charge for Accommodation if paying with CC a 3% Surcharge as this is an extra charge that we get from the CC Companies.
However I am happy that you were well looked after despite the "negatives", and hopefully see you back.
Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Garonga Safari Camp for 5 nights for ou honeymoon. It was by far the best time of our two week trip to South Africa. The tents are absolutely amazing, and the service is incredible! Every single meal was delicious as well. We were there in the middle of August and had unbelievable weather the entire time. On our first 4 game drives we had seen a leopard, lions, rhinos, elephants, hyenna's, giraffe's, and many more animals. Our driver Josia, and tracker Patrick were the best... so fun. I would highly recommend Garonga to anyone. This was a great way to end our honeymoon and look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stinson1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieHoedspruit, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback. The "A" team certainly perforemed for you with the Game Sightings.
I hope we will see you back one day.
Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wow! This is the first review we have ever wrote where we are actually speechless. It's taken me some time to think about this review as I was even in tears on our departure day.

My husband and I stayed at Little Garonga for 5 nights on our honeymoon, and we could not have dreamt up a more beautiful, relaxing setting. There really are no words to describe the atmosphere at Garonga. It truly is a refreshing, renewing experience (something my husband and I both needed after the chaos of wedding planning).

Josia and Patrick, our game drive guides, absolutely made our trip. You could not catch these two without great big smiles and an infectious enthusiasm before each and every game drive, as though they were just as excited to go as we were! Such a welcoming change from the burnt-out staff at other resorts! They were also extremely polite, and keen to make sure we saw as much game as we could at our time at Garonga - very much appreciated! We already miss these guys.

Aside from the safari staff, the housekeeping and wait staff were also exceptional. Hafrik (spelling) and Maria at Little Garonga made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The whole team was so welcoming, and simply could not do enough to ensure your comfort and satisfaction.

The food was simply some of the best we have ever had (including our non-all inclusive stays). All-inclusive resorts tend to be redundant, and mass produced, but this is so far from the case at Garonga. Each dish at Little Garonga was prepared individually for us, and amendments or changes to dishes were always accommodated. The food and drink selections at Little Garonga are drastically out of any league of any other "all-inclusive" place we have ever stayed at. We even were able to enjoy four out of five of the "tasty five" while we were there!

We really could go on forever about our experience at Little Garonga, but there aren't enough positive adjectives in the dictionary to describe this oasis, you truly must go experience it yourself.

Advice: do the "sleep-out", don't forget binoculars, bring warmer clothes for the game drives than you think you'll need (hats, mitts, sweaters, fleeces, windbreakers) if you're travelling in the winter months (Apr-Aug), try the eggs Benedict, don't miss any game drives (they're once-in-a-lifetime experiences), and lastly, don't put off your trip to Garonga. You'll not regret this one.

Room Tip: As for rooms, we stayed in the Buckingham suite, I believe, at Little Garonga. We were there on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianAdventurists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieHoedspruit, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback! It was a pleasure hosting you at Little Garonga, and so chuffed that the team up there looked after you so well.
best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Garonga and "Wow!" What an amazing place! I have not a single negative comment.The tents are beautiful and the beds are super comfy. Food is delicious and the chef will come out every night to explain the menu.

Musa, our Ranger, and Danemus, our Tracker, were great! So much fun to ride with and shared many stories with us. for being one of the smaller game reserves, we still saw everything, even cheetah!

The Manager is always checking on you to make sure everything is okay. The entire staff is so warm and friendly-they truly care about you. The owner, Bernie, was around quite often and even had dinner with us one night. (Having been to a few other lodges, you don't find this often. He was full of stories as well and wanted to ensure everyone was having a good time.)

I took advantage of a massage one day and the massage therapist is wonderful as is the setting - in an open air tent looking out into the bush.

This place is simply amazing! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakrayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieHoedspruit, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks indeed for your feedback! Come back to Africa one day; it gets in the blood.
I will certainly pass on your comments to Musa and Dinamosi.
Best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a fabulous four nights here.......our second visit, the first being back in 2007. Tented rooms are excellent.......we were in 4 which is close to the pool and main dining area, the verandah has no shade which is perfect for sun-worshippers but not so good if you want to avoid it! We had 2 hot sunny days and 2 overcast ones......I prefer the overcast ones, as do the animals! I would find Garonga oppressively hot in the summer, there's no air con.

Animal spotting and tracking was amazing and we got some really good pics and memories because of the skill and enthusiasm of our wonderful ranger Musa and champion tracker/spotter Dynamos.......brilliant guys who really enhanced our experience and are a credit to the team at Garonga.

We booked a couple of massages with new therapist Eve - excellent! Couldn't leave the sala though as a warthog and her babies blocked the entrance.......so funny! Animals do wander into camp territory........saw an elephant very close on our last day.

We met some lovely people, most on honeymoon! We had a mix of dining options, we really enjoyed the Boma dinner great food and very sociable.

So why not 5 stars? Well......we were disappointed with the food at a couple of the dinners.....game meat was overcooked and inedible......despite asking for medium-rare. We mentioned it on the first night but instead of taking away our plates and replacing the meat, the waiter just brought a plate of freshly cooked meat by which time our veggies had gone cold! Food definitely wasn't as good as 5 years ago.

All in all a fab experience with so many wonderful highlights........seeing cheetah, lion and leopard close up and personal definitely top of the list!

Room Tip: Tent 4 has fab views but no shade all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieHoedspruit, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks indeed for your feedback. First of all we all very much appreciate your return to revisit Garonga. So it is on that note that I am very apologetic regarding the Dinners; this should not have occurred, mostly because I put so much emphasis on the standard of food at Garonga. This has certainly been addressed and I hope we may still see you again. I am however very happy that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay at Garonga.
best Regards
Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
13.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#14 of 103 in Hoedspruit
321 reviews
10.0 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,044 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Property: Garonga Safari Camp
Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve
Garonga Safari Camp South Africa/Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing