We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of lndulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2008

This place is an absolute must....if you've got the spare pennies!

We booked in for a night at the end of our S.A 'leg', and we weren't disappointed. knowing we were pushed for time we gambled on 2 game drives being enough (and about as far as our coppers would allow!).

Although it's a bit of a drive, the scenery more than makes up for it, and the staff (right from the security on the outer gate) are a delight, and a credit to the reserve.

We were upgraded from a normal 'tent' to a deluxe one which included outdoor shower, plunge pool, hammocks, and all the mod cons in a superb raised setting overlooking the valley.

Food was original and vast considering the location of the place. Our game driver was a true star and ensured our 6-7 hours worth of drive was comfortable, informative, and absolutely jaw-dropping.

They really do have the big 6 in that reserve, and we were lucky enough to get up close and personal with all bar the cheetahs who are a bit tricky to find.

If you've got the cash spare..do it. If you haven't, it's worth the credit card bill!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sportsvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
There are newer reviews for Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

We went to Shamwari for our honeymoon. We were met by the manager as we arrived and shown to our room at Eagles Cragg. Each day we were woken at 5.30am to go on the first of 2 drives which lasted around 3 hours each. We saw elephants, cheetah’s and cubs, lions, hippo’s, rhino’s and giraffe’s to mention but a few. It was absolutely unforgettable and our ranger, Antoinette, was fantastic and went the extra mile to ensure we saw as many animals as possible. The food, accommodation and hospitality were second to none. Shamwari has two Born Free sanctuaries which were well worth going to. Definitely the place to go to see the “Big 5”.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at Shamwari - Bayethe Tented Lodge from 7th to 9th October 2008. Our guide "Jamie" was fantastic, very knowledgeable. I do feel that they need to change the seating positions in the vehicle on each game drive. We were stuck in the back on every drive and this made it impossible to hear our guide when the vehicle was on. Room was fine but not exactly as we expected as the website only shows the luxury rooms which they only have 2. This is what we were expecting the website does not state that the rooms on show are the high end ones. Food was generally good but we were not happy with the "buffet" on the second night. Also the safe did not work in our room and we had $100 USD stolen from my purse which was kept in my big bag. Would I stay again, no.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ckdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We were in Shamwari for three nights and it was fantastic. We staying in Bayethe and the "tents" were amazing, private plunge pool, open fire, outdoor showers.

We went on two game drives a day and our ranger, Sean, had an outstanding knowledge of the animals, birds and general environment. We got to see the big five and lots more besides. We were there in August so we had a fairly full routine (wakeup at 6:15, breakfast at 6:45, game drive 7:30 to 11, lunch from 12:30 to 2, afternoon tea 2:30, game drive 3 to 6:30, dinner at
7:30) but we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it.

The food was also of a very high standard and there was no shortage of it.

We couldn't speak highly enough of the staff, they were friendly and professional and there was nothing they would not help with.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

my brother and i have just returned from a wonderful trip to south africa. lobengula was a large part of that wonder. staff were so helpful and attentive. wait staff were excellent . all but one dinner was first rate. spa is definetly reasonable and worth a visit .our ranger fred was a true professional and quite the wit at times. i hated to leave but so enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vileeile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in SA, which included Shamwari this was a fantastic experience from start to finish. My daughter and I stayed at Long Lee lodge with our friends and can reccomend this to anyone wanting a little luxury in their life. The food and rooms were all top class and the staff could not have been more attentive and polite. The game drives were wonderful (wrap up warm it gets very cold out there) we saw lots of animals and were blown away by the whole experience, our guide Geran was wonderful and very knowledgable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kathecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We absolutely loved Shamwari. We stayed in Bayethe in one of their top tents and it was amazing. Very large with fire, private plunge pool on the deck and open plan bathroom area.

Game drives were great. We had a ranger called Moshe who was excellent and had fantastic knowledge of all the animals and the game reserve. We saw Lions, Elephants, Giraffes, Zebras, White & Black Rhino, Buffalo the list goes on. As someone who is not an animal lover i recommend this highly and truly feel that it is an experience that everyone would enjoy. I can't even explain the feeling of being feet away from Lions!!

Just a quick note, we went in September and our morning game drive was at 645am and breakfast was after. If you go in South African winter June, July & August you have your breakfast before the game drive. I personally prefer the way round that we had it

Food is also wonderful. We are quite fussy eaters but they really cater for everyone and the standard is so high.

Spa treatments were very nice, using Decleor products.

We went for our honeymoon and would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pete82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
14.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
52 reviews
21.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
240 reviews
16.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: $634 - $1,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing