We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayethe Lodge - absolutely stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bayethe Lodge - absolutely stunning”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay at Bayethe Lodge was absolutely unique and a treat to all of us, particularly for the price! Compared to going on safari in Tanzania, this is a real luxurious bargain. The tents were stunning, well maintained, clean, with beautiful touches. The service was incredible, as was the food! Everything about the accommodation really was first class. The game drives were also great though it felt a little bit like a "show" and almost like being in a zoo where the ranger decided which animals we would be treated to without taking our particular interests into account (i.e. all guests want to see the big 5 and especially wild cats, so we are shown those, rather than birds and elephants that we wanted to see). However, we should have been more verbal about our expectations and it was only a tiny dent in the otherwise beautiful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Unlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    72
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
226
657
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Riverdene lodge and had an amazing time. They are very well set up for families with children of all ages. Our 11 year old loved the games drives even though it entailed an early start at 0530. The guides were very informative and made sure you saw what you were interested in. It is also worthwhile doing the mid-morning visits to the Born Free foundation and the Animal rehabilitation centre where you can get up close to some of the animals. The lodge rooms are spacious and look out onto thier own patio, just across the garden from the swimming pool which the children loved to play in between morning and afternoon drives. All of the staff were fantastic, enthusiastic, great with kids, superb service. Children can choose to eat from the adult menu or the child menu. Lots of choice at all 3 meals so it was always easy for us and them to eat well. Drinks are very sensibly priced. This was the start of our 2 week trip and for the rest of the holiday we had an 11 year old asking to go back to Shamwari; she is now hooked on safari trips!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Shamwari October 2013 – We have just returned from a seven night stay at the Shamwari Game Reserve in South Africa and I can only describe the experience as outstanding. The accommodation (Bayethe Lodge) is five star, I recommend Tent #11 as it ensures maximum privacy, the staff are very friendly, accommodating, and ensure the simple things which are often overlooked are provided. On several occasions they surprised us with unscheduled events, eg twilight birthday celebrations in the wilderness complete with drinks, snacks and birthday cake, all around a roaring camp fire which made our African experience even more memorable. The Lodge restaurant offers fine dining with a varied menu offering plenty of choice. Of course the game drives, expertly provided by our Ranger Jacques, were simply the highlight of every day, morning and night. Jacques knowledge of the wildlife and ecosystems was amazing and he never failed to deliver an amazing and educational experience, even when he was obviously unwell. He even took us on a morning walk across open wilderness pointing out the smaller animals and plant life, showing us animal tracks and explaining behaviours. We saw every animal that was on our list, some amazing experiences with Elephants, Giraffe, Leopard, Lions and many many more. He even took us to the wildlife rehabilitation centre, no request was too much effort. Thanks Jacques. I cannot recommend Shamwari highly enough, Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevC0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Shamwari was the highlight of my family trip to Africa. The Sarili lodge was perfect for our 10 person family group... Luxurious and Stunning accommodation .. all the staff was amazing and Julius, our guide was incredible.
THANK YOU!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our first time on safari. We were doing the garden route and did not want to spend the time travelling to Kruger so chose non malarial Eastern Cape. We decided to throw money at it and it was worth every penny. We stayed at Long Lee Manor and watched the sky black with swifts feeding their chicks and sat around the pool watching various antelopes, giraffes and elephants in the distance and warthogs on the lawn. That was in between the game drives where our ranger made every attempt to get us a sighting of what we wanted. Lots of giraffes, elephants, lions, tortoises, white rhinos, hippos, various antelopes, a serval and many other animals. The cheetahs were rather far away and avoiding us. Others saw them much closer. On the lodge front, far too much very nice food. And they don't rip you off on drinks prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libelle622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Eagles Cragg for the final 2 nights of our first holiday in South Africa - what an amazing experience!! The lodges were beautifully presented and felt so luxurious. I just wish we had had more time here to really appreciate the room and facilities. Our ranger Tim was so knowledgeable and accommodating - he even fitted in an extra walking experience for us between the game drives on our only full day at Shamwari and I will never forget the sound of that Rhino when there is nothing but a bush between you and him!! I always felt safe but the sightings were fabulous and every single member of staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Our 3 nights in Shamwari were outstanding and I would thoroughly recommend it. Bayate tents were comfortable and warm although the weather wasn't great all the time. Our ranger (Ben) was friendly, helpful and knowledgable and made sure that we saw (most of) what we wanted to see.
The service from the rest of the staff was excellent and the food varied, interesting and of good quality. We had a great time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
14.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
52 reviews
21.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 32 in Grahamstown
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
431 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
502 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Property: Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing