We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and wonderful stay in shamwari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and wonderful stay in shamwari”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have just come back from our amazing trip in south Africa where we finished our 2 weeks with 1 night at Bayethe Lodge in Shamwari. It was excellent and wish we could have stayed longer.

Our ranger for our stay was called Mino who was brilliant. Considering we only did 2 drives, Mino managed to get great sightings of 4 of the big 5. On our 2nd drive we were very keen to see the elephants before we left. Mino drove us far and wide searching for them, which in the process was good fun as we saw many other animals and stopped for a morning tea overlooking the whole reserve as the sun came up. After lots of searching we finally found the elephants just as we were on our way back. What an absolute treat.

One other highlight was when we were with the cheetahs and Mino let us get out of the vehicle and walk up close to them!!

Our room/tent was also spotless and very comfortable.

Make sure you have a big appetite as all the food is so delicious and lots of it! Yum!

Thanks Mino and thank you Bayethe lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    72
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
220
655
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Like so many of the reviews, we finished our 16 day tour of South Africa with 3 nights at Bayethe lodge in the Shamwari game Reserve.
What a way to finish !!!

We saw the big five on the first day and then had time to look for the more elusive animals, plants and birds...I was the birdman !

The accomdation is great and fully in keeping with the location. Tented accomodation by name, but really a lovely secluded individual lodge with canvas sides - plus an individual plunge pool.

The central lodge was beautifully postioned overlooking a waterhole and the food was really good. The service was always helpful and committed to make our stay memorable.

Our final praise must go to our ranger, Mino, who ensured that we had close encounters with the big five and that every drive was unforgettable.

If you want a game safari in the Eastern Cape then I cannot recommend Shamwari highly enough ! It deserves 6 stars !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in Shamwari for three nights. We were at Bayethe Lodge, the rooms were large and comfortable, the food good and the staff always friendly and helpful. The Lodge is beside a river so there is plenty of wildlife to see without leaving the lodge. Our Ranger, Mino was very informative and knew the animals and territory very well. While looking at a male lion he would say get your cameras ready he is about to yawn.
This was our third Safari, never have we seen so many animals or been so close to them.
To give an idea, we saw a leopard lying in a tree, 19 lions relaxing after two kills all looking like a family after Sunday lunch, elephnts so close you could touch them (don't), hipo, black and white rhino and on the last morning a baby Giraffe that was 1/2 hr old and was trying to stand up.
Mino arranged for us to have a wonderful a delicious pick-nick lunch in a shelter by the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

3 nights at Bayethe Lodge with my mother - it was fantastic. The accomodation is amazing, the food great (and that is from a fussy vegetarian!) and Mino our guide was passionate, very knowledgeable and gave us some extraordinary game drives - now i just need the time to sift through the 1000's of pictures. Some beautiful memories there. Would love to be back soon ... (with an even bigger lens)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinemex15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for three nights at Bayethe Lodge at end of a wonderful South African holiday. It was amazing. I was a little apprehensive about staying in a 'tent' and going out on rough tracks as I am not the most adventurous of people. I was worried about insects and snakes! I needn't have worried at all. The 'tent' was fantastic better than many 5star hotels I have stayed in and there were no creepy crawlies. The drives were so spectacular that I never bothered about the bumps. I always fealt safe and looked after. We were with two other couples on our drives who proved to be great company and added to our enjoyment. Food was good and plentiful and everything was well organised with great attention to detail. We saw so many amazing animals and got so close to them making for some spectacular photos. If you have been thinking of going on a Safari this is certainly the place to do it in style. The management were very attentive and dealt with a problem which we had with total professionalism. Problems will always occur but if they are dealt with well this shows an excellent establishment. I am telling all my friends that they HAVE to go it is so worth it. To think I might not have gone because I was a stick in the mud!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelassieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the Bayethe Lodge (THAT is the one to go, a mix between wood shacks, tents and 5* resort). Can see elephants from your bedroom! Service and attitude of the staff are great: positive, friendly and helpful. Food is simple, no big selection, but good. You are there for the Game Reserve. We made three drives about 3-4h each and saw all the Big Five. The cars are comfortable, the rangers knowledgeable and passionate about their mission. Saw a herd of 50 elefants (right in the middle of it), lions, cheetahs, leopards, giraffes, white rhinos, black rhinos, warthogs, eagles, water buffalos, hyppos, jackals, rabbits, hyenas and more. Amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were traveling as 2 couples and finished our trip to South Africa staying at the Bayethe Tented Lodge at Shamwari. It is 1 hour from PE airport so fitted very well into our trip. We had not been on safari before and, being in our 60s, never like to assume that we will get the opportunity again, so we decided to splash-out and indulge ourselves at Bayethe.
What an experience it was! The 'tents' were huge and gorgeous with every luxury we could ask for including a plunge pool and outdoor shower, yet...we felt we were really in the middle of the bush. Having a shower being watched by an inquisitive group of dulker was certainly different! Relaxing on the decking during the day in such a lovely setting was magic as many animals visited the pond and river. All the meals were tip-top and varied with barbecues on some evenings.
While the accommodation and service was top-notch the absolute highlights were the game drives. We generally left camp at about 6am and 4pm but usually had about a 30 min drive to the main viewing areas (we suspect some other lodges are closer but we preferred being 'in the bush'). Some of the tracks are pretty rough but the vehicles are good so there are no worries. The guides are very informative and entertaining and we always felt in safe-hands with Mr. Headman even when we were right alongside elephants, rhinos, lions and cheetahs. We saw so much and at such close range and Mr. Headman went out of his way to extend our drives when we came across exciting happenings. Where to start? The 3 lionesses killing a warthog in front of us, then bring their cubs to join the feast; the graceful and inquisitive giraffes who came to see what was going on; the elephants groups wandering right alongside our vehicle and the way the youngsters tried to learn how to use their trunks; seeing the rare black rhino along with white rhinos and their young; the herds of giraffe, springbok, impala, kudu, and hartebeest; the sibling cheetahs lying, resting beside the vehicle, so still they could have been models, then they moved...; the young lions starting to devour a zebra but finding it more difficult than expected and needing help from their elders; and more and more. Each morning drive was punctuated with a breakfast snack and each late afternoon drive by a Sun-downer.
Our final memory...finishing the last evening drive with the privileged of watching the male lion, the real 'king', with his pride of lionesses and youngsters, then us moving away to a safe place for the Sun-downer. As we enjoyed our drinks and snacks the sunset beyond the hills and, as we drove back to the lodge, we were held up by....giraffes taking an evening stroll down the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
14.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
51 reviews
21.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 29 in Grahamstown
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
234 reviews
16.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
431 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Property: Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing