We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayethe Lodge, Shamwari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bayethe Lodge, Shamwari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here at the end of January. Absolutely brilliant. We loved it! Don't be fooled by the word "tent". They are very comfortable and luxurious and a bit quirky. When its part of a South African tour and you have been staying in numerous hotel rooms it was wonderful to stay somewhere a bit different without sacrificing any of the luxuries. Food is great and staff were friendly, helpful and very courteous. Our ranger Mino was just brilliant. His enthusiasm is infectious and his knowledge second to none. Hence our game drives were awesome. Saw the big 5 in one day!!! Even saw a leopard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    70
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
209
630
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

2 gorgeous days and nights in Bayethe. The Shamwari game reserve is beautiful. It's a 25,000 hectare reserve where everything is allowed to happen as normal.

We had an amazing guide in Mino, who has been there for 15 years. He is so in love with and enthusiastic about animals in general, but especially the Shamwari animals.

The bed in our tent was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. A not of warning it does get cold on game drives in morning and evening so bring some warm clothes.

The food was top notch and you could also bring your own wine to dinner. Thanks to the Bayethe team for our Honeymoon Bubbly which was waiting in our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bayethe Luxury Tents....amazing. We were in Tent 1 and it was huge...with outdoor showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wardywoo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were a group of five adults staying at Villa Lobengula over Christmas 2012, which is actually a group of lodges centred around a swimming pool. The lodges are very large, clean and extremely comfortable. You get a big double sink marble bathroom but the separate toilets need a bit of a refurb. A couple of the lodges had their own plunge pools, so you could be private if you wanted. This is a fabulous place to stay if you are a large group of friends or family. You have your own dedicated vehicle and driver. Warren headed up a team of exceptional staff who made our two day stay one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had. We were greeted with cold towels and drinks whenever we returned from a drive, and enjoyed a constant supply of excellent food. It is a wonderful place to relax and be pampered in between drives. Westley, our expert ranger, was keen for us to experience as much as possible in our two short days and managed to find us a huge variety of animals to experience, many of them very close up. We are all grateful to him for making our trip special. Speaking as someone who never wanted to do a safari, and who hates getting up early, I enjoyed every single moment. The only negative is, and this is applicable to all safari holidays, not just Shamwari, if you have a serious problem with spiders, bear in mind that they are huge!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This must be the best way to experience a game reserve. The 'tents' are absolutely brilliant with every convenience you might need. Never mind that the shower is outdoors - go for it! The game drives each day involve the dreaded 5am wake-up call, but the experience is very well worht the early call. And then you get to have a sumptious breakfast on return, and a great break until the afternoon drive. The coffee in the morning and sundowner in early evening pit-stops in the great outdoors make the game-watching experience a phenomenal adventure. The Rangers are very well qualified and knowledgeable, and we saw the Big 5 and more due to their well organised drives. Our companions on the drives were as excited as us at every turn - especially when a male elephant 'in musk' thought it might be fun to charge us! A must do experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just returned from Shamwari having stayed in the Bayethe luxury tents.We first looked at the main lodge/colonial house and our agent suggested the tents.We are so glad we changed.They are set far enough away from each other and you cannot see your neighbours.There is not a lot more to add that has not been said before,however in today's hectic world some may need to connect to the outside world with wifi,and they do have perfectly acceptable wifi at the lodge.Its a bit hit and miss,but it works and was extremely helpful.Our ranger was Mino,we could not have asked for anything more from him,he was extremely knowledgeable,courteous,polite,and goes the extra mile for you.it was the extra touches that stood out for us such as having a glass of wine and nibbles on the vast plains of Shamwari ,having stopped for a drinks break and to admire the scenery.On the early morning drives we had hot chocolate and muffins while watching the giraffes in the distance-all very civilised ! Thank you Mino for making our first safari experience wonderful.

Room Tip: They are all good -you are not in them that long,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just spent the last three days at Bayethe Lodge. We had superior tent with plunge pool, outside shower, fabulous facilites and our own Impala in the bush outside. The overall facilites were exceptionally good, food excellent so were fellow guests.
Ben, our ranger, was wonderful. He never guaranteed anything but we saw 4 or big 5 plus lots of other including very rare lynx cat called a carycal?
I could not recommend highly enough.
If you want a very minor criticism, it would have been even better if water in plunge pool was warmer, but then I might be a wimp!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at Bayethe Lodge at Shamwari and once again it was totally fantastic. Extremely well appointed five-star “tents”, very comfortable with everything you need and with their own decking and plunge pool, ideal for relaxing during the day between drives. Very friendly staff, excellent food and brilliant game viewing with very experienced, knowledgeable guides. Many thanks to Ben for some excellent drives and sightings. We will definitely be back and already can’t wait to return to this little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill-ferndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
14.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
21.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
16.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
13.7 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Property: Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing