We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar. Your own "Out of Africa"...channel your inner Meryl Streep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kwandwe Uplands Homestead
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Stellar. Your own "Out of Africa"...channel your inner Meryl Streep.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose this resort because we wanted accommodations for our entire family in one building, and not divided among villas.

What a treat!

First, the building is old, authentic, and filled with charming antiques, amenities and curiosities. You will find yourself seamlessly affecting an accent. You may look off into the distance wistfully waiting for Robert Redford to fly back home. It is a fabulous,comfortable, luxurious, place to stay.

Second, the staff. Bring org chart software, as there are so many of them. Your own driver, tracker, butler, maid, cook. Wonderful ,warm and talented people.

The day follows a certain tempo, dictated by the heat. You rise before dawn to hot cocoa, tea, coffee and fresh baked scones on the patio. They bundle you up with blankets and hot waterbottles as you venture out on your safari tour, tracker and driver along. You safari until the sun comes up, when they stop and fix "plein air" pancakes for you in the bush!

On the way back, the driver calls ahead so that your baths are drawn to wash off the safari dust. Apres bath, your choice of full breakfast in the lovely dining room, all made to order.

The heat of the day is spent at your private pool, watching giraffes amble by. Lunch in the dining room again, one day featuring pizza the cook showed my kids how to make.

Just before dusk, head out to safari again. At sunset, stop to enjoy the view, and freshly mixed cocktails in the bush. As you head back, the driver calls ahead again. You are met with a butler who holds a tray of the cocktails of the day, just as you alight the open air jeep. Luminarias light your path and dinner is served that night in the garden.

This was my second safari. Both times we saw "the Big Five". But the setting and services of Kwandwe's Uplands made this safari beyond extraordinary.

PS We visited in April years ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

6 of us stayed here for two nights in mid-March 2013. We were near the end of a two week trek through the western and eastern Cape. What an amazing way to wrap up the trip. Lovely old, manor house. Exceptional, personalized service from a dedicated staff of about 8 people.

Our only complaint (and minor at that) about the rooms were that the shower head in one room needed to be replaced as it was only pushing water through less than 20 percent of the head. In one of the other rooms, the bathroom door locked our friends out of their bathroom for a few hours as the mechanism failed. These are minor hiccups on an overall fantastic experience and home, which the 6 of us had to ourselves.

The game drives were magical. The reserve is a beautiful piece of land, so just taking in the hills, river and vistas was wonderful. With all the different animals, birds and plants, the Reserve is full of everything you might hope to see.

Our guide, Morne, was extremely knowledgeable and clearly passionate about what he does. His quiet enthusiasm was infectious.

A truly magical experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent "only" ;( 3 days in Uplands with my family, great experience under all points of view>
The location is of indescribable beauty, the house is the one you have always dreamed and the services provided by the staff are not less then 7 stars !!!
Melyssa and Morne make you feeling at home and are able to surprise you with any kind of amenities few times per day.
The safari managed by Morne has been superb, he has been able to take us watching all in a relaxing and extremely safe way, children are still excited ! The staff has been incredible !
Organisation provided has been better than any expectations.

Room Tip: Experience in Kwandwe would be limited if not in Uplands
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaugeste1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent four glorious nights at Uplands Homestead. Looked after by Melissa Morne and Zyo we wanted for nothing. Staying in the Uplands Homestead we were spoilt rotten in terms of food drinks and all aspects of the accommodation. Having our own ranger meant amazing photographic experiences and sightings. Thanks to the entire team for all your kind efforts they will not be forgotten! Kind regards Yvonne Dean Caleb and Jordan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Six friends staying in this amazing house had the most incredible holiday. Previous reviews have described the luxurious house and we were lucky enough to make this our home for 8 nights. We had our own guide, tracker, chef, butler and other friendly staff. We loved our early morning game drives, especially our muffins and Amarula coffee amongst the wildlife. There were just so many wonderful things- the beautiful food, cocktails on the evening drive, our surprise banquet dinner out in the game park, Rhinocerus Day dinner, Pimms by the pool, hot chocolate by the fire, our washing returned the next day and so many other luxury. Above all this the animals were fantastic and thanks to Toast and Dennis we saw so many wonderful sights, cheetahs after a kill, elephants, lions, rhinos, giraffes and the very illusive leopard to mention a few- there were so many sightings. A trip on the lake, a beautiful lunch and the hippos was a highlight. I could rave on and on with so many wonderful aspects of this holiday but I'll leave some surprises. Thank you to Toast and his team for the amazing experience and joining in on all the fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Superlatives don't do this private house justice. The house is just amazing with 3 ensuite bedrooms including a master bedroom with sitting area and huge stone bath tub in the bathroom. The dining room is very impressive and the cosy living room with roaring log fire for the cold nights is very welcoming. Outside is a fantastic swimming pool and covered gazebo with loungers. The wonderful warm and efficient service makes this house what it is. You are provided with a chef, a butler, gardner, tracker, ranger and two maids who are all from the local area (kwandwe is heavily involved in the community). The food is fantastic without being over the top or pretentious and the wine provided is superb. As for the game drives, we were very impressed - we expected it to be great but it exceeded all our expectations. The ranger was expert and extremely friendly, while the tracker made some incredible sightings. Our ranger, Toast, would radio in when we were on our way back and we were greeted every time with a glass of something special and delicious canapes, the house lit with candles and fires roaring. It is this attention to detail and also the fabulous wildlife that makes this an amazing lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a wonderfull 2 nights we had in the homestead. Great service , great food and simply great hosts.
Amazing game drives and we did see it all!
Thanks to those at Kwandwe for a very memorable time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
264 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwandwe Uplands Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwandwe Uplands Homestead

Property: Kwandwe Uplands Homestead
Address: Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District | Grahamstown, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Kwandwe Uplands Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing