We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
304
12
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
304
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush craft on foot game drives tracking animals wonderful experience bush experience every meal exceeded our expectations bird life other guests the entire experience guide tracker whole team tented accommodation fantastic stay great sightings stayed nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 318 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2015

We spent a fantastic 5 days at the Bateleur mobile camp. As a South African nature lover, this trip beats all other bush breaks. Tracking wild animals in the bush and coming within metres of rhino and elephant on foot, firearm training and martial arts under the jacaranda trees! Amazing food, highly skilled tracking teams and expert wildlife knowledge. Definitely a must do trip for serious nature lovers. There's honestly no other experience like this.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank cfreemansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2015

In October 2014 I stayed three days at the mobile camp with a group of people. The camp is open, meaning there is no fence around, and we slept in tents. Yes, two person tents:)

The shower is a manual one, not far from the tents, where you have to blend hot an cold water in a bucket before you go down. The view is towards a river bed. During my first shower I had monkeys looking at me (maybe mine was bigger then theirs?) from the opposite side of the river bed. How often do you experience something like that?

In this camp you feel really alive and out in the wild. During night animals can walk straight through, and we are talking about leopards and hyenas. The people working there are very nice, and helpful. They make very good food, but bear in mind that there is no kitchen here. This is a simple mobile camp, and you have to make sure your tent is clean yourself.

I can absolutely recommend this camp for a few days. It will make your stay in SA more exciting!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinHalvorsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2015

In Nov, 2013, had the chance to stay at the mobile camp for a tracking course and had the most amazing time! Incredible animal experiences (hyenas around the camp every night, learning that scorpions glow under blue light, rhino and elephant sightings regularly) combined with incredibly knowledgeable staff brought everything together for an amazing experience.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LesAllen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2015

Our family visit to Bateleur Eco Safari Main Camp has been our most exciting educational, and magical bush experience ever.

There were numerous highlights for us. The experience of tracking and finding rhino was extremely exciting and highly educational. It was like learning a new language and what added to the experience was the tracker giving us each an opportunity to track for a bit including my 7 year old daughter. It was phenomenal to stand there in the bush watching these amazing creatures. Not once did we feel we were in any danger as the whole process was done extremely professionally and properly.

Being on foot in the bush has a totally different feel about it and is a completely different experience to being in a vehicle. We saw so much more of what's going on around us and it took our love of the bush to another level.

My girls aged 7 and 10 delighted in the riverbed activities where they learnt to make a fire without matches, rope from scratch and set snares. They also loved finding clay and making pottery in the riverbed while a herd of elephants played their own games in the sand further up the river.

The food was outstanding and we looked forward to every meal. We were amazed at the delicious food that was made on the fire! Sitting around the fire at night chatting about the bush and the stars also added to the whole bush experience

The accommodation at the main camp was superb, spacious and everything was beautifully laid out, well thought out and of superb quality.

The guides were all very professional and their bush knowledge excellent. They took the time to explain things clearly and were excellent with the kids.

I highly recommend a visit at least once in your life to Bateleur Main Camp. You'll love it and you'll go back!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank PascaleSchroenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed at the mobile camp with a university group. We had a wonderful experience. The service was excellent and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Camp staff try to have as little impact on the surrounding environment as possible and you can tell when the warthogs start moving back in as camp is moving out. The food was excellent and the tents were very comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews