We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
752
34
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
752
34
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari experience wild dogs the river bush walk holiday of a lifetime our honeymoon wonderful experience off road every meal food was amazing herd of elephants whole experience guide tracker amazing things south africa morning drive private game reserve
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 799 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2015

Dave and Thea are the most delightful and friendly people. Motswari truly was peaceful from the beginning to the end of our stay. Their hospitality, staff and food are ALL outstanding. Henry was an excellent Guide and Patrick an outstanding Tracker, both were friendly, professional and full of knowledge...they made everyday memorial. We saw the BIG FIVE in addition to Wild dogs. Our time was short on our final morning and so Henry suggested a short Bush walk of an hour and a half before breakfast. If time suggest you do this as you see so much more on foot from trees, insects, tortoise and an Elephant.

Thank you to Everyone at Motswari.

Room Tip: Go for a guided Bush Walk.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T4336JEsusanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Motswari Susan and thank you for your kind words!

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your time with us and will make sure that Henry, Patrick and the whole team see your positive feedback!

I hope to welcome you both back to Motswari one day soon!

Very Best Regards from us all

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2015

We spent two nights in your wonderful lodge. The living houses were very comfortable and dining rooms were extremely nice with a wonderful sight over the nature and a small river with a lot of animals. The food was delicious and service exilent and very friendly. We made four trips out in the bush with a LAND ROVER and two very experiant and knowledgeable guides, who toke us very, very close to all the big five and a lot of other animals. It was far beyond our expectations and really extonishing. A great adventure.

Room Tip: All the cottages are almost equal
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marianne och Jö... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope we see you back here one day soon!!

Very Best Regards from us all

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

This is the Motswari motto and how true it is - we spent three nights early February and had an amazing time. We saw lots of animals, made new friends and had fabulous food - everything was as we expected or better. The ranger Chad was incredibly knowledgeable and really brought the bush to life, he went out of his way to ensure we saw lots of animals and truly experience the Timbavati. We had so many highlights that have created fantastic memories all captured in hundreds of photos. We would highly recommend Motswari and have already done so to our friends - we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Cottages overlooking the riverbed have great views of animals wandering past - we saw elephants on the bank nearly everyday!
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2015

Thank you so much for this review Tom - I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that Chad and the team were able to show you some great sightings!!

Thank you for spreading the word and we all hope to welcome you back one day soon!

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

We had some unforgettabel days in the environment that we never met before. We have sen and come Very close to Wilde animal in its environment, wich was an amazons experience.Service and guiden efforts were fantastic. We will recommend this stay to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back here one day soon!!

Very Best Regards from us all

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2015

Exceptionally good ! Amazing! Stunning ! Exciting ! A piece of paradise hidden in the South African bush really worth visiting !! An awesome place to stay ! Amazing sightings on gamedrives ! And when you been there once, you`re definitely want to return back ! In my vocabulary I don`t find words to express how excellent Motswari really is !

This was our second stay at Motswari , a stay quite different from our first . Last time we went in a group of six friends, this time we returned only the two of us.It could be a letdown arriving back with the high expectations after such an extraordinary experience from the first time, but Our second stay turned out to be just as perfect as our first one. Arriving alone (or in a couple as we did) you have the perfect opportunity to meet new people , creating new friendships as we did by joining the others both at gamedrives and lovely dinners in the evening. we admire the rangers effort to include every new guests both at gamedrives and also with his company during pleasant dinners at night..If you don`t want to join the other guests you can choose not to , being asked how you want it on arrival. i really recommend to join at common tabels and you won`t regret ...making new acquaintances and new friends ! The bush was really generous to us this time, having an impressive density of animals. having no fences arround of course it\s more difficult to predict where the animals are or the numbers of animals , cause they are free to go wherever they want. But THAT is for sure some of the beauty about Motswari and Timbavati ! You are a visitor in the bush totally on the wild animals premises,you have no warranty of what you can expect to see and it is exactly what makes Motswari so special and gives you the real wildlife experience !! It is SO exciting !

We had "The Big Five" numerous times during our stay for five nights..really amazing sightings!! Big herds of buffaloes and elephants ..and 19 different lions (once a pride of nine), several rhinos (two times approaching them on foot - a breathtaking experience ,SO exciting! )and of course leopards. But not to forget all the other animals and variety of birds,big & small, who aren`t lucky enough to be the main attraction in this bush ! And at last : The beautiful lushy bush !!! -the dams, waterholes , rivers and riverbeds (depending of the amount of rain of course), the variation of different trees (big & small) , the beautiful lighting during the day and night , gorgeous views of endless green bush. Motswari has it all !!!

The gamedrives were just marvellous !The rangers and trackers are excellent and so skilled !! Making the gamedrives so exciting . Love the offroad drives through the thick bush following the animals. Their driving skills are unique , the Landrovers impressive both in comfort and navigability ..it is SO fun !!! This time we had the pleasure of having Chad as our ranger and Mbongeni as our tracker .,extraordinary !!! Leaving us speachless trying to describe how good it was ...we are so grateful and impressed !!

The food is just heavenly !! During our two stays the food has been excellent both in variety and taste !! We are really impressed of the kitchen. And the chocolate cake I`ve got on my birtday is worth "dying for" ..at least worth flying almost half around the world to get !! Thank you to all of you working at the kitchen too !!

The rooms and the facilities at Motswari is just gorgeous. Comfortable beds, very nice cabins (we`ve stayed in both Kudu and Buffaloe) .And we love the fact that you don`t have Wi-fi and TV in your cabin. It`s peaceful and lovely ! It`s enough to have the ability to connect to internett in the common area ..if you really have to !

I will recommend Motswari to everyone who wants to go on a safari ! At Motswari you get the real experience of the wildlife and the bush !! We are definitely going back...as soon as possible ! They say you arrive as a visitor and leave as a friend...that`s true !! The second time you arrive as a friend and leave as a lover ;-) I almost can`t wait to set foot on Motswari ground again.
This is the real thing !!! Enjoy Motswari !

Room Tip: We`ve stayed both in Kudu and Buffaloe. Both cabins are excellent. I would prefer Buffaloe - the size was a bit bigger and loved the view to the riverbed (both has that). Outdoor showers in both Kudu and Buffaloe (and indoors of course)
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2015

Thank you for this detailed and passionate review Kristin!! It was a pleasure to have you and Hans back at Motswari and I look forward to the next time the Norwegian winter drives you south to us.

Very best wishes from your Motswari family.

Dave, Thea, James and the whole Motswari team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews