We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Motwari Lodge and it was just a perfect experience!

There are so many lodges in that area, so we found it very difficult to make our choice. Especially because it was our first African trip. After the Motswari lodge we know exactely what we would recommend: take a lodge in a game reserve where you have lots of animals, book a hotel which has really good guides with high knowledge and which are very motivated and make sure you get an accomodation which has a special flair. The Motswari Lodge has all of that and even more.

We did lots of safaris during our 3week trip, but we had the best experiences here. We saw lions eating a waterbuck, we had the chance to have wild dogs and hyanenas in front of us, we saw leopardsd and apart from all other animals like elephants, chamaleons, birds, zebras, giraffs etc. we also loved the landscape of this game reserve. Plus, the safari cars are great since they have no roof top and are very confortable.

We really enjoyed the dinners where you sit together with your guide, the kind hotel manager David and the other guests from your safari. It's a great chance to get in touch with your group, which make the safari tours even more personal. In addition you learn a lot about the life in South Africa.

We also need to mention the food since it was the best one we had during our 3 week vacation. Before you start the safari, you get some coffee and muffins as a pre-breakfast. Then, during the safari you always have some breaks with some drinks and snacks. Afterwards, you can enjoy a rich breakfast which really deserves to be mentioned. Big compliment to the cook! it's not common that you get self-made quiche or crepes for breakfast. Lunch was very delicous with lots of salads, good bread and we especially liked the small details like home made cold coffee, home made lemonade, cold tea with or without sugar. The dinner was great as well - you can always choose between two meals and the wine is included as well.

We seldomly book the same hotel again. For the Motswari lodge we would do an exception and also try the Giraff nest.

Many many greetings and best wishes from Switzerland to David and our guide Richard :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkHibiskus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

What a fantastic review to start my Sunday morning!! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari... I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and am very glad that you would return to us in the future!

I will make sure that Eugenia and Richard see your kind words and we too send warm regards from the African bush back to Switzerland.

We hope to see you back here soon!

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

What an amazing place...every aspect of our stay here was absolutely brilliant! David (the general manager) and the whole team at Motswari wrote the book on hospitality and then came out with an updated version just for good measure. The guides/trackers are extremely knowledgeable and showed us everything the Timbavati had to offer, even rushing us out to a lion sighting a couple of hours prior to our departure, just so we could cross the big five off our list. Your stay at Motswari is not complete until you spend a night out a the Giraffe's Nest, a hide in the bush overlooking a watering hole. We were unlucky in our spoils not to see any sightings but the experience was truly worth it and I wouldn't hesitate to do it again. With everything said and done it was hard to say goodbye when our time at Motswari came to an end, however I somehow know that this won't be the last I see of this lodge and it's amazing crew!

Room Tip: Stay a night in the Giraffe's Nest!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattiesocurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for the great review Matt - it was fantastic having you both at the lodge and we look forward to the next time.

Very Best Wishes from us all at Motswari

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our second visit to Motswari. We had previously visited in September 2012, when it had rained the whole time, so we were looking froward to seeing it in the sunshine.
We were not disappointed. Not only did the sun shine, but everything about Motswari shone. From the friendly welcome and cool drink to the tearful goodbyes, everything was amazing.
We had a fantastic room, with our own little patio and an elephant for a neighbour! The bed was decorated with flowers, and turned down at night. The bathroom was huge and we had an outside shower too. But best of all was the view, we looked out onto the river and a small waterhole. At night we could open our curtains, lay in bed and watch for wildlife. It was nice and cool too with very efficient air conditioning that was quite quiet.
The staff at Motswari are just superb, from John who woke us up in the mornings and escorted us back and forth at night, through Alphios and his helpful bar staff, Liz and the other receptionists, the kitchen staff who served us such wonderful food, through to the hosts (especially Godfrey) who kept us entertained and cared for. The cleaning staff deserve an especial mention as our room was kept immaculate, in spite of the amount of sand we kept traipsing in.
The game drives are, of course the highlight of your day. Each day Herold and Difference found us amazing sights. We have been on many safaris, but we were treated to some of the best quality sightings that we have ever had. There never seemed to be a hurry or a crowd. We saw leopards in trees ( and falling our of trees!), elephants drinking with the tiniest baby wobbling along. And lions! Big lions, eating lions, hunting lions, playing lions and even a lion in a tree! We were were priviledged to go walking with rhinos and to watch two rhinos playing, running around and trying to trip each other up. The list is endless. Herold and Difference we can't thank you enough.
Nothing is too much trouble at Motswari. My husband had a morning at the 'Giraffe's Nest', a raised hide near a waterhole, watching birds and being visited by a buffalo. We will definitely spend a night there next time we visit. I was taken to see Geiger Camp, a small lodge nearby also run by Motswari, which was beautiful and would be ideal for families travelling together. We also saw the Trails Camp, where it is possible to camp our under the stars for one night.
We have brought home so many wonderful memories, especially the lovely sundowners and coffee stops in such picturesque settings.
We would recommend Motswari to anyone and will be returning as soon as possible. We would also like to thank 'Real Africa' for organising our entire trip so that it ran flawlessly

Room Tip: Rooms that look over the river have much better views, but generally require a longer walk back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tortoisephobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you so much for this long and detailed review of Motswari!

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure that all departments get to see your kind words - we learn from all feedback, but its very rewarding and motivational to see such a positive review!!

We hope to see you back at Motswari soon.

Very Best Wishes from us all

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The establishment has a saying, "Arrive as a visitor - Leave as a friend". This couldn't be more true. The warm welcome and delicious meals are enough to keep you coming back again and again, not to mention the abundant wildlife. We were fortunate to be guided by Chad Cocking who apart from being an amazing guide is also a renowned photographer and has published a book on Motswari. Whether you would like to lounge by the pool or enjoy a bush walk Motswari has it all, it is the best Private Game lodge I have visited. I would definitely recommend this establishment to any local or international traveler.

Room Tip: Depending on the group you are with, there are inter-leading rooms available. Alternatively if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

It is alwasy nice to hear our motto is working and obviously glad that you left as friend... one that I hope we will see back at Motswari soon!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - I will make sure that everyone sees your kind words.

Very Best Wishes from us all

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Motswari for 3 nights during March 2014. It was our first experience of Safari so we were unsure what to expect. We can honestly say, however, that Motswari exceeded our expectations in every respect. We were greeted by the Manager and given a simple briefing before being shown to our accommodation. From that first point of arrival to the time we left the whole experience was fantastic. The accommodation comprises individual lodges set within the grounds located around a central reception and dining lodge. The rooms were very clean and spacious enough with an attached bathroom. We were allocated a safari guide and tracker for our game drives which took place every morning and evening. The guide and tracker were very friendly, experienced and extremely knowledgeable which meant that we were able to see a huge variety of animals up close including the big 5 during our stay. The lodge operates on an all-inclusive basis so we were sceptical about the standard of the food but this was also exceptional. We spent a couple of afternoons in the dining area watching elephants water buck drinking in the adjacent river only a few meters away. The staff generally were extremely polite and went out of their way to help ensure our stay was memorable. Overall Motswari proved to be a fantastic choice with great facilities, superb game drives and exemplary service throughout.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Motswari and thank you for taking the time to write this review!

I hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon.

Very Best Wishes from us all
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The food was delicious and the variety was good also. Only the service at the pool could have been beter. Other than that it was a great experience with knowledgeable staff during the gamedrives. I would recommend Motswari to all travellers who want a great experience. And my compliments to the cook and Liz.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank All_fred27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Motswari.

I will certainly discuss service at the pool with Alphios to see if this can be improved, but if you do have further suggestions or specifics in mind please do email me at lodge@motswari.co.za - all suggestions and feedback are very helpful.

I will make sure the kitchen team and Liz in particular see your positive comments!

I hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon.

Very Best Wishes from us all

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food and accommodation is very good as expected from a four star lodge.. Patrick the spotter and Keith the driver were excellent on the game drives and we w the big five plus the wild dogs twice in four days. This is excellent considering that this time of year is challenging for animal spotting due to the growth and volume of vegetation. The 230 pm talks were helpful especially the photography tips and the tracking animals talks. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room at the back of the main area , do ask for a room with a river view , you ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jays121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for the review of Motswari - we really do appreciate all feedback!

I will make sure that Keith and Patrick see your positive thoughts on the game drive experience and am glad the animals played along during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon!

Very Best Wishes from us all

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
302 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
449 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
656 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
375 reviews
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#10 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $579 - $1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing