We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motswari Private Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have stayed twice both times for 3 days. We stayed in Roan rondavel. It was very comfortable with large bed and mosquito nets. Lovely big bathroom, and nice private verandah. Staff very friendly, helpful and the game viewing was amazing going out in the trucks with very experienced staff, so lucky to find the white lions and then also a "kill" one day. The big verandah was so nice to sit and relax and we had lovely lunches served there brought by the staff all singing and then explaining what we had to eat. The boma at night was a real experience, eating delicious meals under the stars and then the staff put on a show for us. A late brunch was served in an open rondavel. Hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shamwari45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your second visit to Motswari Private Game Reserve and hope we will see you back for visit number three in the not too distant future!

I will make sure the whole team see your review.

Very Best Regards from us all

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
389
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived by car for 2 nights in time to have a quick lunch and then head off on a game drive.The drive in was a surprise, having a 50 km limit meant it took a lot longer than we expected, not mentioned in anything we read. Seeing the Dung Bettles have right of way sign was a good photo shoot plus the occasional giraffe, an upside of the slow speed.
The animals and wildlife are certainly the stars, but what you learn about them from the guides and drivers is amazing. Of course seeing the real thing helps! To come around a bend and see rhinos is breathtaking. Some unusual weather = freezing! saw animals in a different enviroment, the wind had the animals on edge and very alert for danger. We were advised to take warm clothing, but my sister was colder there than in Antartica! Some light rain wasnt expected either. It was 13 o at 11 am the day we left, a change to the week before and 40 o in Zambia.
The first night we were able to sit out around the fire for dinner but the next night we ate under cover due to threat of rain.
The food was excellent, a flat white wasnt expected but welcome at breakfast, but I was so cold I could hardly pick it up.
The room was welcoming and warm, especially hearing the wind outside.
The story of how the Hyenas ate all the bones originally hanging around the huts was amazing! Life in Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farmboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Motswari!!

You'll be glad to hear the weather is warming up nicely again and people are back in the pool now as summer begins to creep into our days! Its one of the things I can't control unfortunately, but am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we will see you back here in the not too distant future.

I will make sure everyone sees your kind words.

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I’ve been fortunate enough to have travelled extensively in Africa and have stayed in some amazing locations in a variety of accommodations. So, for me it’s about getting the balance right between having the essentials for a comfortable stay; friendly, helpful and experienced staff and great game viewing.

Thanks to the management of David and Thea, I think Motswari gets that balance just right. It’s extremely relaxed and non-pretentious. It’s luxurious enough for those who seek the finer things and down to earth enough for those who love to get up and get out before sunrise and return after sunset.

My partner Linda and I stayed in Duiker, a lovely and authentically decorated room perfectly situated with fetching views over the dry riverbed. Remember to have a look for footprints in the sand outside your room in the morning! It’s amazing just how much traffic passes through the camp at night.

Throughout our stay all the staff were kind, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent, with a lot of choice and to a very high standard.

The two game drives each day are in comfortable brand new customized Land Rovers.

If you like your photography and you’re lucky enough to have Keith or Chad, then you’re in good hands. Not only are they knowledgeable guides and excellent company, they’re also accomplished photographers with a wealth of experience that they’re willing to share to help you make the most of the days you have.

I can’t recommend Motswari highly enough and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sprouley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!!

Its very nice for us when people appreciate and understand the atmosphere of Motswari as that is one of the things that makes this team and the lodge so special. I will make sure that everyone sees your kind words and I hope to welcome you both back to Motswari soon!

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Have just returned from 5 nights in the amazing Motswari Lodge. We went with our grown up children on the recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed. We have stayed at several other lodges in South Africa (all more expensive than Motswari) and can honestly say this was our most enjoyable. We have decided it is a combination of the relaxed atmosphere, unfenced and beautiful lodge and the lovely people. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and had great views over the river bed. The food is exceptional ( be prepared to put on extra pounds). Chad and Petros our guide and tracker were what made the difference between very good and excellent. Their knowledge and humour was second to none and the evenings spent over dinner with Chad will be etched in our memories for always. The game viewing was excellent and can also recommend the bush walk. We had already booked another bush holiday for next summer at a very well known lodge in Sabi Sands. We are now having to contemplate if we should change to Motswari. Will have to wait and see what Virgin Holidays will have to say for themselves.

Room Tip: Duiker has lovely views and is very spacious. Waterbuck also excellent. To be honest I imagine they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cats19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Motswari Private Game Reserve!!

I will make sure everyone sees your fantastic feedback even though Chad will use this for years to come!

We absolutely hope to see you back at Motswari in the near future!!

Very Best Regards from us all

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at Motswari for our 7 night stay on the 30th September. Within 20 minutes of us arriving we were on our first game drive and it felt like a dream to be so close to the animals - amazing!

We stayed in the Waterbuck room which was very clean, beautifully furnished, very spacious and comfortable wih our terrace overlooking the riverbed.

Throughout our stay the staff were all so kind and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.The food was amazing, with lots of choice and of a very high standard (half a stone heavier on our return says it all!).

The game drives are really what we went for and we weren't disappointed, it was amazing to see all the animals so close in their natural habitat. We saw all of the big five within a few days and the fireflies were something we will never forget.

A big thank you from us both to all of the staff for making our stay so wonderful and a special thanks to our guide Herold and tracker Difference as they were great fun and taught us so much.

Thanks also to Godfrey for arranging our stay at the Giraffes nest which was something we will remember forever.

We cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we appreciate all feedback, but its always better to read positive words!!

I am glad the team looked after you so well and am delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. Giraffe's Nest is now becoming very popular and am very glad you got to experience that side of Motswari - its an amazing feeling waking up to the rising sun, perched over three meters above the ground!

I will make sure Godfrey, Herold, Difference and the whole Motswari team see your kind words and we hope to see you back here one day for another chapter in your African adventure!

Very Best Wishes from us all

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our seventh visit to the reserve and it did not disappoint. David, Thea, Grace, Godfrey Shadrack, Tyiani and all the staff are fantastic and your enjoyment is their number one priority.
All the meals are of a very high standard, as is the service and the accommodation.
We saw all the big 5 on numerous occasions and the highlight of the trip was seeing three elephants have both a shower and a bath!!

Motswari is truly a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Motswari Private Game Reserve Sue - I appreciate the feedback and it was great seeing you and Andy again.

I will make sure that the whole team see your kind words and I hope to see you back next year for another installment of Motswari adventure!

Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

It might be odd to write about a self catering camp but when the guiding service we received from the game guide, Marka, was so incredible I felt he deserved it as did Motswari for having placed him at Java.
The calm, gentle and totally confident manner in which all aspects if our stay were handled absolutely made our weeklong stay. Motswari private game lodge gave always done us proud but this time Marka raised the bar a whole lot higher. Thank you Marka.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank neoprene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I am delighted to see a Java review and even happier to read your words about Marka. He is a fantastic guide and has the confidence to guide the experience in his calm and gentle manner - he certainly doesnt rush around the reserve, but he finds an incredible amount of animals!

We hope to see you back at Java or Motswari Private Game Reserve in the not too distant future and will certainly pass on your feedback to Marka.

Many Thanks & Best Regards from us all

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
11.5 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing