We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motswari Private Game Reserve
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$68
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
713
31
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
31
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknock on the doorhomemade lemonadewild dogssafari experiencethe riverbush walkholiday of a lifetimeevery member of staffwonderful experienceour honeymoonoff roadfood was amazingherd of elephantsafternoon drivewhole experienceevery mealamazing things
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 755 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from 3 amazing nights at the Motswari Lodge - the accomodations, food and service were all top notch! We traveled as a group of 5 and each one of us left with a feeling that our experince will never be forgotten! Much of our experience is owed to Chad our Guide - he was truly an encylopedia of wildlife knowledge - he was truly impressive and was the perfect match for our group! Petros our tracker was also great as was Thea who made sure we had everything we needed for a memorable holiday. The food was something we looked forward to everyday and the friendliness of all staff was delightful! Even though on a couple of game drives the animals chose to be "left alone" - meaning they were no where to be found - it was made up for and we were able to spot 4 out of the Big Five - I am sure if we had just one more day we would have for sure spotted the leopard! We left with sadness (even going to miss the 5 a.m. wake up knock on our door) - only hoping to be back one day and share our experience with our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind words regarding the team at Motswari and specific mentions of Chad, Petros and Thea!

It is amazing to see the enthusiasm for that 5am wakeup, but I'm not sure I have ever heard of someone missing it!! It can only mean that the safari lifestyle is made for you and we certainly hope you will return to Motswari in the future!

If I can help with any questions or queries please feel free to contact me directly on lodge@motswari.co.za

Best Wishes from us all

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently stayed at Motswari with our 10yr old son for 4 nights and could not have been more thrilled. The accommodation was more than generous for the 3 of us and we made very good use of the lovely pool area. Not a swim went by where we did not see wildlife from the pool, including most days elephants.Keeping our son entertained in the midday break was very easy and he was taken on his own private walk with our ranger Andrea which he loved. Andrea and Jacky were AMAZING and worked very hard to find all the beautiful animals. Their knowledge knew no bounds and their enthusiasm added to our wonderful experience. My husband and I have been on safaris before and found Andrea's knowledge fresh and never ending. Jacky's "eyes" and stories added to our experience. The food is FANTASTIC and very plentiful and Dave and Thea make everybody feel very welcome.
Many thanks to all for a holiday we will never forget, we hope to see you again one day soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Fantastic to see your comments Sarah and even better to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I will make sure that Andrea, Jacky and the kitchen see your feedback.

We hope to see the three of you back in the bush soon!!

Very best regards from all of us here at Motswari

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Back in June we were invited to a friend's wedding in South Africa.

A trip to South Africa (a long way from home) meant one thing: a safari! As a photographer, the opportunity to see and photograph African wildlife in Kruger Park could not be missed.

We began our preparations, and made contact with Mario of South Cape Images, with whom we arranged a customised photographic safari. Of the three options presented to us, we chose the Timbavati region and the Motswari Private Game Reserve.

We made the right choice.

From the moment we arrived on Motswari's private airstrip, we were greeted by rangers and driven to the lodge a few minutes away, where we were greeted by the friendly front-of-house staff, checked in, and soonafter escorted to the Duiker bungalow.

The bungalow was stunning, beautifully decorated in African style, in a very nice setting by the water, with elephants grazing outside our window in the distance. It was perfect.

From 4 to 7 October, 2012, Motswari was home to us.

During those four days, we went on six game drives, and got to see and photograph an abundant array of amazing wildlife, including an up-close sighting of Makepisi (male leopard) on our first drive on the day we arrived.

A few days later, we were fortunate enough to see all members of the Big Five not only in one day, but during the one drive.

Our ranger was Chad and our tracker was Petros. Both of these men made the Motswari experience unforgettable for us, and we were glad to have them on board with us.

Back at the village, the food was great, the service was excellent, and Thea and David (the managers) came around to chat to us over breakfasts. Communal dinners were very atmospheric, and the food and wine available was excellent and very satisfying. Dinner, drinks and discussion with our guides was a very nice way to finish the amazing days we experienced.

It's very true that guests are made to feel like family at Motswari.

Our time there was short, but very rewarding, and we were very sad to leave.

Our experience at Motswari made us want to come back, and we would be more than happy to spend our time there again.

The only negative experience was the intermittent and very slow Internet access; however, as I understand it, there was a problem with the WiFi access at the time.

I cannot recommend Motswari highly enough. The location is superb, the people are fantastic, and the wildlife is amazing.

If the ultimate African safari experience is what you want, and you want to do it in style, in a friendly, warm and rich environment, Motswari is the way to go.

Room Tip: I recommend the Duiker bungalow, which is close to the river and very private, with an outdoor verandah and two entrances.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Motswari.

We are obviously delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if you ever make the long journey from Sydney to South Africa again that you'll manage to squeeze in a few days in the bush!

Regarding the Wi-Fi bush speeds... the internet out here can be something of a challenge, but we are working on it and hope to have some improvements in place very soon!

Best Regards from all of us here at Motswari
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I fell in love with Motswari during our visit. You feel very much a part of their family while staying there. The food was fantastic, the private cabins were beautifully decorated and natural, and the game drives were awesome, surprising and exciting. We stayed two nights, but I could've been there for a week. If we are fortunate enough to return to SA, we will definitely set aside time for Motswari.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahGraceDesigns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Motswari Sarah

We are always grateful for feedback and positive comments help assure us that we are on the right track!

We do try to create a warm atmosphere here and my team is essential to making that happen so we put a lot of effort into training, rewarding and looking after our people and its so good to hear that this added to your experience with us.

We do hope that you manage to return to South Africa and we would love to see you back at Motswari!

All our best wishes from all of us at Motswari

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We always stay at Java (Motswari's private house) what an amazing experience. It's become a family tradition. Every year we go and we see the best wildlife sightings ever. The game rangers are very knowledgeable and add that special touch to our holiday. We are South Africans but when we travel to Mostwari we also receive the true African welcome and the true African wildlife experience. Excellent is all I can say!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monique b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Java doesnt get many mentions on TripAdvisor so thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! I will make sure your words reach the people at the camp!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope this family tradition continues every year - we look forward to the next time!

Best Wishes from all of us here at Motswari
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews