We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lily, on reception, greeted us with a nice cold drink and then went through the camp details and timetable. We also met Godfrey, the camp manager, who was one of the South African Ranger of the Year finalists in 2011.

My room was Leopard, which is closest to the boma/gallery. The room is surrounded by a fence, hung with animal bones – I’m not sure if that was to keep evil spirits out or keep me in. Although the rooms are quite close together, there was no intrusive noise.

The room is a fair size, with armchair, desk & chair, safe, tea/coffee making facilities. To get to the bathroom, you had to go outside and through the small courtyard with outside bath and shower, and into a separate building. Quirky, but not too much fun on a freezing winter’s morning. The bathroom was well lit, and had the thickest fluffiest towels I have ever seen.
There was a small electric radiator in the bedroom, for which I was so grateful one evening. The camp has free Wi-Fi but this can be intermittent.

My guide was Shadrack. Shadrack was happy to go out again after breakfast on our search for the white lions. Godfrey also made every effort to ensure that we were doing everything we could to maximise our chances.

When lunch is served, it is carried out by the staff who are singing. Self-service buffet for breakfast and lunch whilst all dinners are served in the boma, although we could choose to have a table set up elsewhere if we wanted. All mealtimes were signalled by the beating of drums.
Although Motswari may not have the largest, most luxurious of accommodation, I will certainly look to return as the service provided and the attitude of the staff is excellent. It is so great when a lodge’s staff actually listens to what a guest wants and tries to fulfil individual needs, rather than assuming that all guests are looking for exactly the same thing. I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bushmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
405
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Motswari while on our Honeymoon and it was Fantastic!! Our lodge was big, nice, and clean. The food was great. And most of all the driver, Pete, was terrific. He was friendly and extremely informative. During the game drives he did a great job of explaining different fun facts about the animals, terrain, etc. He made a point of asking us what we hadn't seen yet and what we were hoping to still spot. We went to another lodge after Motswari in a different private reserve and the driver was sub-par. We wanted Pete back!! Overall the whole staff was extremely welcoming which we loved and appreciated. You will not be dissapointed here!!!

Room Tip: The Duiker Room that we had was really big. We liked it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first visit to South Africa and we were absolutely amazed during the 4 days we stayed in in the Motswari Lodge. The whole lodge seems to be one big family and everybody truly gave his best to make our vacation as pleasant as possible. From the ranger and spotter who were more than motivated to show us everything there was to see in the reserve (and there was a lot to see!!) to the hotel stuff, everything was perfect. The kitchen was delicious (especially the dinners in the fantastic boma), nearly everything which came out of the kitchen was homemade. I've been in a lot of luxury hotels but this was a unique experience. It was such a calm and natural atmosphere that you felt relaxed after one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudeEwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Motswari for four nights. There was not a single day we didn´t see one or many of the big five. We had our full load of lions and leopards, as well as rhinos, hyenas, giraffes, kudus, elephants, buffalos, zebras, impalas and many others. A few hippos as well. Service is excellent, the caring of the people for you comfort, safety and enjoyment is worth mentioning. Food is also amazing and the rooms were almost perfect. Only exception, the AC makes a little bit of a noise for my "sensible ears", but surely it's me getting older and grumpier! None of our party of seven complained about it whatsoever! Special thanks to Andrea and Jackie, our guide and spotter respectively, whom always went an extra mile to allow us a better view of game.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our fourth stay at Motswari and we keep staying for longer each time, 10 days this time, we have certainly got the bug, we went with friends who had never been to South Africa or on a safari before, they loved it. Motswari has new managers Thea and Dave since we last visited and they have just enhanced an already wonderful place,they are welcoming and it's like being around friends, this is the most relaxing holiday I have, even if you do have an early start in the morning, worth it each time, you just never know what your going to see, big or little and sometimes it's just being out in the bush, enjoying the whole atmosphere that is special. We enjoy it so much we're going back at Christmas, can't wait. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.


Well worth a visit on all fronts, you never know you may also get the bug...

Room Tip: Have stayed in Elephant and Roan and both are lovely, Roan is nearer the pool area and breakfast bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawsEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently spent one week at Motswari on our first trip to South Africa. Motswari is superior in every way; accommodation, food and the genuine, caring staff. The daily game drives were a wonder of wild animals, birds, beautiful scenery and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. Thank you Grant, Jacky, Dave, Thea, Godfrey, Grace, Pete, Chad and all the Motswari staff. Until next time.... (Jody with a "Y")

Room Tip: Ask for the Elephant or Lion bungalow with a beautiful view of the river and all the animals who sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of our two night stay at Motswari.

The accommodation is superb and the game viewing amazing but it was the staff and the food which simply blew us away! Thea and Dave and Godfrey are excellent hosts and made us feel so very welcome. But the food that “Amazing” Grace produced was just that – amazing.

Our ranger, Shadrack was a great character and so very knowledgeable. We have never had such close and wonderful leopard sightings and having a hyena come down to drink whilst we were having morning coffee at the waterhole was just breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
614 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
366 reviews
13.7 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
194 reviews
11.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
435 reviews
14.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing