We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Safari Ever!!!!”
Review of Kings Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Safari Ever!!!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were a party of seven on our recent trip to King camp under the auspices of Africa Kosher Safari. Kings Camp is exactly what you imagine your safari accommodations will be. Upon arrival you discover the peaceful, secluded and luxurious ambiance of the hotel. When you arrive at your room, you are engulfed by the British Colonial motif and the spaciousness of your accommodations. Your every need is cared for. Most amazing is after a long day, you return to an already drawn hot bath to relax your muscles. The rangers are amazing. Moses and Sam made sure we saw everything we came for at Kruger National Park, the big 5 and sooo much more. You are amazed when your experienced ranger tells you he is seeing animal behaviour he has never seen before. That is the extraordinary aspect of Safari, which is a Swahili word from the Arabic for Long Journey. Every person's journey is different. We had the most amazing experience and met wonderful people at Kings Camp who taught us so much about life in Africa. We hope you have the same wonderful experience we had because it is a trip of a lifetime and should be spent at an extraordinary venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Myrna
From the whole team at Kings Camp, THANK YOU for the fabulous review of your stay with us. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visit us and we hope that it wont be the last time we can spoil you again at Kings Camp.
Warm regards
Warren, Lisha and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
188
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kings Camp is an absolutely lovely sanctuary in the jungle! The service at the lodge was impeccable! The rooms are huge, gorgeous in very well styled old British colonial furnishings, with indoor and outdoor baths. When we returned from our first game drive (which was in the evening), we were welcomed to a bottle of champagne and a room set up for a romantic evening drink. The food is excellent – we had dinner by a camp fire on the first evening. We were constantly visited by impalas, Kudus and antelopes at the lodge. There was a resident elephant which had stationed itself outside the lodge as well.
Our ranger for the game drives was Jade Bradshaw and our tracker was Albert. Jade and Albert are a fantastic team and spot wildlife where most others would miss them! Jade is particularly well versed in identification of birds – we would have not got such exposure to various species if not for him. Jade is strict about conservation and protection of animals, which is the best thing about him. We were lucky to see a wide variety of birds in addition to 4 of the Big 5. We spotted 4 huge male lions and spent about half an hour watching them from close proximity, a family of rhinos from a few feet away, a herd of 35 elephants from less than 10 ft, heaps of giraffes, kudus, zebras, baboons, wildebeests. We were only unlucky not to have spotted a leopard. The game drives though, were absolutely fantastic.
The only small negative about Kings is that the wi-fi at the lodge is very very weak. Mobile signals also do not work there. So, expect to remain pretty much cut off from the world. But I guess, that is what you would want in a place like this !!! Totally recommend Kings Camp if you don’t mind spending a little. You will not regret it because you will be treated to absolute luxury!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingWithRajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Kings Camp. For us as a team, we thrive on complimentary feedback and we thank you for your wonderful comments. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and hopefully we will meet again.
Warm regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, ca
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just returned from an extraordinary visit to Kings Camp. In my opinion, Kings Camp is a "Five Star +++++" Safari Camp. The grounds are very peaceful & beautiful. The rooms are luxurious & very comfortable. We felt pampered by the wonderful service, & the food is excellent. But of course, the best part of the experience was our four game drives. Jade & Albert did an amazing job of finding animals,and they work so well together as a team. Albert has a gift for finding the most obscure animals, and he also has a great sense of humor - a joy to spend time with. Jade is very knowledgeable about the animals, birds, wildlife, plants & trees, and he has a passionate interest in protecting the animals & the environment & a love for the area. I was also delighted to find that Jade has been bird watching since he was 12 years old, and helped me to discover many of the gorgeous birds of South Africa. I highly recommend Kings Camp, and would love to go back for a return visit. It was the trip of a lifetime. A huge thank you to Jade & Albert for their outstanding guiding skills, and for making our game drives so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Judy

We are so appreciative and thankful for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Kings Camp. Jade and Albert are a great team and would also like to pass on their thanks to you for your compliments. Take care and hope to see you back at Kings Camp. Warm regards
Warren and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa where I traveled in October 2013 with my husband and grown kids. This was our third safari camp we visited on this trip. Our rooms were spacious and very comfortable and we had wifi. In addition to double outdoor showers (for each room), we also had an indoor shower and a bathtub which, one evening when we were at dinner, the staff filled for us with a bubble bath. :-) One of the nice things about our room was that the elephants gather and walk just outside of the back patio every day. What a site!

The food is good. I found the choices a bit limited but my daughter felt that of the 3 safari camps we visited, that Kings Camp had the best food. The bar area is nice and they do a pleasant job of gathering everyone together for cocktails to get to know each other.

Our guide was Cynat and our tracker was Sam. They are both so knowledgeable! We saw an amazing assortment of animals! We were amazingly close to lions, leopards, warthogs, and elephants as we spent hours watching them eat. We had some incredible experiences listening to their knowledge of the various animals we were seeing.

I highly recommend Kings Camp and would love to go back another time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of Kings Camp and thank you for the wonderful compliments. We are very proud to work at such a beautiful lodge and we loved sharing our home with you. Take care,
Warren, Lisha and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent 3 days at Kings Camp. By the end of day 2 we had seen all of the Big 5. Our tracker was Albert, he is awesome and always smiling, our guide was Jade, he was very knowledgable and passionate about what he is doing! They made our experience the best. If you are looking for the Leopard experience, this is the place to be, we had the best views of this very graceful animal, watching them hunt and even take an Impala into a tree. WOW. We tried tracking a black mamba but were unsuccessful but did find a freshly shed snake skin....very exciting.

The staff was very attentive and took care of our every need. Triston was very helpful with some of our special requests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are very blessed to live in such a magnificent place surrounded by beautiful creatures. To share them with you is our passion and we live for the joy that we see in our guests when they experience this beauty. Thank you for your wonderful review. Regards The Kings Camp Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 glorious days at Kings Camp in late September. By breakfast on our first day, we had sighted our first Big 5 with the help of our ranger Remember and tracker Elvis. We were lucky enough to be assigned to one of the honeymoon suites and were delighted with the accommodation, meals and warmth of the management and staff. The weather was cold and blustery during much of our stay, but the staff ensured that we had hot water bottles for the bo
ma and hot bubble baths prepared for our return from the game drives. It was our first stay at a game lodge and although other lodges offered other experiences, we still appreciate our stay at Kings Camp. To us, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 are the honeymoon suites. They are very large, quiet and have private plunge pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post an awesome review of our home, Kings Camp. It was our pleasure to host and spoil you. Please come and visit us again?
Regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Rotondo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent four days in the Waterbuck part of the lodge. The Rooms were clean, well appointed, comfortable and basically excellent. The service was excellent but very laid back and friendly. When there was game passing by the lodge staff came and got us. They always went out of the way to make sure we had what we wanted. Game drives were organized,thought out and Moses and Sonny Boy were excellent. They knew the animals, birds, plants and trees. We asked a thousand questions and they answered them all with with a smile. We saw the big five in one morning drive. The leopards were our favorite and Kings Camp seems to be rich in leopards. We saw lions hunting, elephants, rhino, and Cape buffalo at water holes .... Etc etc etc. ..... game drives excellent. Food excellent! I gained six pounds enough said. Tristain the assistant manager was all over the place and went out of his way to make our experience excellent. Thanks to him. This is a can't miss excellent place to visit! We will be back!

Room Tip: Waterbuck part of the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of Waterbuck. I am extremely proud of my team at Waterbuck and i have passed on your praises to them. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back again. Regards Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,690 reviews
8.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
190 reviews
5.7 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Camp

Property: Kings Camp
Address: Unkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, Kruger National Park 1218, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kings Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kings Camp reflects the charm and romance of a colonial past in a pristine corner of unspoilt Africa. Kings Camp is situated facing an open savanna plain with a waterhole, which is frequented by a wide variety of wildlife, day and night.Eleven generously spacious colonial suites are luxuriously equipped with air-conditioning, Victorian ball-and-claw bath, indoor and outdoor double shower, fully stocked mini-bar and private verandah. Dark tones of wood and thatch offset the natural colours of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Kings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kings Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing