We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$41
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$65
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$68
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
$88
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
362
26
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
26
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteprivate poolsonny boyleopard hillsgame drivessafari experiencecolonial stylehot bathamazing teamthe managersromantic dinnerfar exceeded my expectationsoutdoor showerwatering holesitting areaexceptional experiencelife changing experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 393 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 glorious days at Kings Camp in late September. By breakfast on our first day, we had sighted our first Big 5 with the help of our ranger Remember and tracker Elvis. We were lucky enough to be assigned to one of the honeymoon suites and were delighted with the accommodation, meals and warmth of the management and staff. The weather was cold and blustery during much of our stay, but the staff ensured that we had hot water bottles for the bo
ma and hot bubble baths prepared for our return from the game drives. It was our first stay at a game lodge and although other lodges offered other experiences, we still appreciate our stay at Kings Camp. To us, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 are the honeymoon suites. They are very large, quiet and have private plunge pools.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post an awesome review of our home, Kings Camp. It was our pleasure to host and spoil you. Please come and visit us again?
Regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent four days in the Waterbuck part of the lodge. The Rooms were clean, well appointed, comfortable and basically excellent. The service was excellent but very laid back and friendly. When there was game passing by the lodge staff came and got us. They always went out of the way to make sure we had what we wanted. Game drives were organized,thought out and Moses and Sonny Boy were excellent. They knew the animals, birds, plants and trees. We asked a thousand questions and they answered them all with with a smile. We saw the big five in one morning drive. The leopards were our favorite and Kings Camp seems to be rich in leopards. We saw lions hunting, elephants, rhino, and Cape buffalo at water holes .... Etc etc etc. ..... game drives excellent. Food excellent! I gained six pounds enough said. Tristain the assistant manager was all over the place and went out of his way to make our experience excellent. Thanks to him. This is a can't miss excellent place to visit! We will be back!

Room Tip: Waterbuck part of the lodge
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful review of Waterbuck. I am extremely proud of my team at Waterbuck and i have passed on your praises to them. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back again. Regards Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our daughter is studying at the University of Cape Town for a semester, so all four of us spent five days at Kings Camp over her break from school. We have done quite a bit of traveling as a family, and this was the trip of a lifetime! Our ranger and tracker, Cynat and Sam were both friendly and helpful and well-informed. We saw lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos, hippos, crocodiles, zebras, giraffes, buffalos, warthogs and an assortment of other animals and birds. Our rooms were gorgeous! The service was attentive, but totally relaxed. Everything was perfect! We hope to get back to Kings Camp some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahR722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Kings Camp and our home! It means the world to us that you say that this was a trip of lifetime, Its amazing to see how my staff are so uplifted by compliments and feedback of this nature. Thank you again.
Warm regards
Warren and his Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for our first part of our safari,we wish now we would have stayed here the whole time. The staff was excellent,friendly,knowledgable. They had wonderful attention to detail. Tracker and Ranger were excellent (Thanks again Sam and Moses). We saw the "big 5" times two. The camp as a whole made you feel welcome.
If we ever come back for safari,we will stay here again.
Bill Damm

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Bill, thank you for the awesome review of Kings Camp. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. I will pass on your thanks to Moses and Sam who i am sure will be very excited to hear of your lovely compliments. Take care, regards Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Strongly adviced to me, nice, OK, but...!
It started with a mis-communication about the room, which was well solved/organized by the manager Warren. The manager which I never saw after that...in 3 nights-stay...not any contact with the manager. OK !?
The shop has no stock...as good as at least ! The massage was great ! The wildlife was very poor...luckily there where buffalo's who attracted 3 lions, but in general at this time there is not much to see ! Remember/Elvis...good and fanatic ranger/tracker...but no communication during sundowner/coffee-stop ! Don't understand why not...or did they wait on my invitation to chat ???
One lady at the restaurant is non-stop in a horrible bad mood, unfriendly, grumpy...anti-tourists (???)...
So, the lodge is nice, the rooms GREAT !!! The honeymoon-suite FANTASTIC, but .....

Room Tip: The honeymoon-suites are amazing nice, big !
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kings Camp. We use this tool very seriously to manage and rate our service levels. We will definetely analyse the areas that you have commented on. I recall our meeting on your arrival date and i do apologise that i was not around during the rest of your stay. The reason being that i went away for three days with my family and the camp was managed by my Assistant GM. On my return, you had already checked out and i missed you. Please be assured that when i am on duty, i endevour to make my presence known with all my guests. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful country, South Africa. All the best.
Kind Regards
Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews