We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Safari Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This second time I've been to Tanda Tula. Both times have been a fantastic experience. The staff are always friendly and great at what they do. The wildlife we see is always amazing and we are always learning new things about the enviroment. The meals are delicious and well varied.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Hannah
Its was so lovely to have you and the family back with us. Many thanks for your kind words. Special regards to everyone and we look forward to seein you later this year.
Nina & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Tanda Tula Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 442 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Tanda Tula for 4 nights in November.
The whole experience was exceptional and surely cannot be bettered.
The accomodation,the food, the game drives, the staff, the owners all exceeded any reasonable expectation .
We've left a bit of our hearts at Tanda Tula and fully intend to return.
Ask Nina and Smilling about their charity work for the less privileged and you'll leave a piece of your hearts too, plus a few tears and maybe you'll be moved to make a small contribution to help them help others.
The guides and trackers will ensure that you'll see all there is to see.
Our guide and tracker were Formen and Jack, if there are any better than these two then we'll be amazed.
Their skill and knowledge will leave you breathless , speechless and with a camera full of fantastic photos.
John and Sue Blakemore

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank johnb6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently spent four nights in Tanda Tula. It is really an amazing camp and we had the most wonderful time. Staying in a tent (albeit a luxury tent), is a unique experience. Waking by someone bringing a tray to your tent with coffee and tea, overlooking the riverbed and the bush and seeing a family of elephants across the river bed while you sit on your deck, and being escorted back to your tent at night with someone with a rifle makes for a truly memorable trip.
The level of service was exceptional. From Haley and Dale, Jacque, Tabo, Civilised, Happiness, to Forman and Jack(our Ranger and Tracker, were great, always answering our questions and explaining what we were doing). All of the staff were simply amazing people and I am sorry that I cannot remember all of their names.
For our 30th anniversary, the staff and Chef Ryan had a special lunch by by the watering hole that was just spectacular. I had just said the only thing that could make this better is some animals, and along comes this family of elephants. Simply amazing. We liked the fact that Tanda Tula is a smaller camp and they make you feel like you are part of their family.
We loved all of the meals but having breakfast along the riverbed after the game drives was especially nice. I liked that all beverages and alcoholic drinks were included in the cost of the stay. Oh, and did I mention that we saw amazing animals. I would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: We only saw one other tent that was just like ours. Everyone I talked to said their tent was very c...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandaTula, General Manager at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Diana
We would love to have you back too!

It's so great to receive such a detailed review, many thanks it means so much to all of us. I will make sure that all the staff you mentioned - get to see your review.
Fondest regards
Hayley, Dale and all the Tanda Tula team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay - friendly, knowledgeable staff and involved owners made it a great trip. Cuisine is superb; always interesting and new tastes. The game drives were true experiences of our South African bush, and the guides and trackers sharing of their vast knowledge adds a new dimension to the experience.

Room Tip: They are all good - looking out onto the river
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Laurel,
Thanks very much for this lovely review, we loved having you and your delightful family to stay once again! We look forward to having you back soon.
Fondest regards
Nina & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 4 nights here. Do not have enough superlatives! Absolutely fabulous! Staff out of this world!
Would have no hesitation in recommending this Safari Camp. Breakfasts in the bush and dinners prepared by a great chef.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCCMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thanks so much for your super feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will let chef Ryan know you loved his food! Kind regards from all of us at Tanda Tula.
Nina and Don Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I have done safari's in Kenya and Tanzania on a number of occasions and whilst they were all excellent, I can safely say that we have never been treated with such fantastic warmth and friendlyness by a team of staff. Dale & Hayley were absolutely great along with Jackie who took care of our welcome. Civilised and Raymond were our Ranger and tracker and I cannot thank them enough, they more than satisfied our "Big 5" requirements seeing all 5 in one morning's game drive and then some. The knowledge and the driving, in some very rough terrain, was amazing, in order to get you that prize photo that everyone craves. The meals were pretty good too with Chef Ryan at the head of the kitchen, his passion for gormet cooking leaves little to be desired. At this point I have to thank all who plotted our secret "Ruby Wedding Meal" on the veranda of our tent, we were both treated like Royalty and wined and dined with truly wonderful meals and exceptional service. It really feels like you are being cared for by a large family and nothing is too much trouble ( including the Hot Toddy made for me by Hayley as I started with a sniffle one night , to take to bed with me ).
The whole 4 nights went by in a flash, but we will never forget what turned out to be one of the best 4 nights anyone could spend in the bush and under the stars in the dark african sky's.
If you haven't gathered by now, I am not saying it will be straight away, but we will be back.
Thank you all once again for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenlynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us - it is always fantastic to hear that people enjoyed their experience at Tanda Tula and am very glad that you felt welcomed and cared for during your stay!

As you may have read on the Tanda Tula blog recently, Civilised and Jack continue to find great game sightings.
I'll make sure that Dale, Hayley, Chef Ryan, Jaquie, Civilised, Jack and the rest of the team get your super feedback.

Hope to see you back at Tanda Tula soon!
Nina & Don Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this camp. I have stayed in about 10 different camps between Kenya, Tanzania and So.Africa and Tanda Tula is by far my favorite.
The tents are wonderful, the grounds are beautiful, the meals exceptional and all of the staff could not have been nicer or more willing to help and strive to give us the best possible experience.
These are permanent tents with beautiful, huge baths with deep tubs and outdoor showers. We had wonderful bush breakfasts daily and dinners in the boma, in the dry river bed and on the lodge lawn.
This is a beautiful game reserve teeming with wildlife and we had so many opportunities for incredible, up close, game viewing. Just amazing!
I can only hope I am fortunate enough to spend more time in this wonderful, magical place.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room! They are all permanent tents along the river bank, each with it's o...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsNana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback Nana - it was a pleasure having you both here and I hope you are able to return soon!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us

Best Regards and wishes from all of us at Tanda Tula !!
Nina & Don Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
20.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
17.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
9.1 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
272 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
200 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanda Tula Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanda Tula Safari Camp

Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve | Limpopo, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $550 - $3,363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanda Tula Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanda Tula Safari Camp in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve bordering the Kruger National Park, offers a five-star personal wilderness experience in ultimate luxury. Here, in your own private piece of Africa, you will come face to face with nature as it always was, with not a fence in sight to inhibit your freedom. Set on the banks of the Nharalumi riverbed, Tanda Tula is shaded by stately trees and overlooks a water hole that attracts a wide variety of game from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Tanda Tula Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanda Tula Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Tanda Tula Safari Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing