We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A piece of heaven: Magnificent location, excellent food and service and great company (guests and staff)

The games were excellent. I've seen the big five and others in abondance. The staff was so kind and friendly. I had an incredible view on the dam with plenty of animals showing up like éléphants and warthogs. Due to the electric fences, I felt secured all the time.

Thank you for the great time.

I will come back!!!

Serge

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge_Bruxelles_1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We are delighted that you regarded Kambaku as a 'piece of Heaven' but we are even more delighted that you will certainly return! Happy New year and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 656 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

It was my dream destination. Kruger National Park. Stay at Kambaku Safari Lodge was another excellent choice me and my husband made. We were there for 4 days and 3 nights with our three kids age 13.10 and 9. We took an inter connected lodge facing the water hole. There were no words to explain how beautiful the experience was staying in a lodge with such beautiful atmosphere.
The staffs, each and everyone were outstanding in their service in their own ways. They were so warm and welcoming. The food was excellent and we were totally spoilt by their hospitality.
Rangers were outstanding. They knew their job so well and they were so cautious about safety. They were filled with informations and our kids learned a lot from them.
We were so sad to leave on our last day.
If you are traveling with kids, this is definitely the place to go.
We are looking forward for another trip soon.

Room Tip: All their lodges are facing beautiful views. You can't go wrong with any lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakshimi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you regarded it as a 'lifetime experience'. However we are hoping that your visit is not a 'one off' and we would be delighted to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

1) This is a good value lodge, I booked it through Wild Wings safari, price is very reasonable and they do not charge for single supplement.
2) Access is easy from Hoedspruit, it is 30 minutes drive only.
3) I have been to many lodges more expensive than this one; all the lodges I have tried were good, and this one is surely a very good one as well. All compliments from previous reviews in regard of accommodation, service, food, atmosphere and guides are totally accurate.
4) It provides same service as more expensive lodges: drive in an open range rover to the bush, with off-road allowed to have close looks from animals.
5) I had a great guide (David), and we saw everything close-up: lions, leopard, buffalo's, rhino's, elephant herds...
6) We had some interesting lady guests who were afraid from close encounters with animals, so the lodge immediately organized a separate car for them, to keep everyone happy :-)
7) You can access internet and mobile from the reception area only; it is not a criticism as a safari should be a far-from-everything experience.
8) Do like me: forget your camera, so you can really experience and remember the encounters instead of spending them with your eye mired on the visor. It is much better to watch a lion with binoculars than through a camcorder lense.
9) Note if you come from Jo'burg: Wild Wings can organize a shuttle van from the OR Tambo airport at a very good price, much cheaper than taking the plane. The trip has great scenery and the shuttle was very friendly and safe, but be warned that in the case that it is fully booked, the seats are not very comfortable. Wild Wings confirmed to me that they are looking at another vehicle. Up to you to check the options. For the avoidance of doubt, this is a service totally independent from Kambaku.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you state that we are good value. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Kambaku for three nights and highly recommend it to anyone who is planning a safari. We had been on safari in Kenya years ago, but this was far superior. The lodge is beautifully situated, the food was really good but most importantly the staff and service were unbeatable. The staff and rangers were attentive and professional. Our rangers blended casual conversation with expert knowledge about the region and animals and kept us alert and interested the entire time. We never imagined we could learn and experience so much in three days and were sorry we couldn't stay longer. Kambaku is simply outstanding and we dream of returning. Thank you to everyone at Kambaku!

Room Tip: All the lodge rooms are excellent so no need to make special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you regard Kambaku as 'superior' to some of your previous safaris and that you regard us as simply outstanding. We try hard to ensure that all of our guests are treated as high priority although we are never complacent,. I will pass on your comments of being 'simply outstanding' to the rest of the Kambaku team

Many thanks and best wishes for the season and New Year

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The stay at Kambaku was unlike no other. I've been on a few wildlife excursions and the experience of the staff at Kambaku is superb. The patience exhibited when going on game drives to observe the animals was truly appreciated and the knowledge behind the smallest of creatures was also unbelievable. Ankia and Eric were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time at the Kambaku!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are delighted that you 'thoroughly enjoyed every minute of your stay' at Kambaku. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family recently stayed at Kambaku for 4 nights. The staff are some of the most amazing people I have ever met on vacation and by some magic they attract the most interesting and enjoyable guests as well. Our guide, Dave and our tracker, Albert on our game drives were AMAZING!! They were determined to find us as many animals as possible - and they accomplished that job quite successfully. Their breadth of knowledge about the flora and fauna was extremely helpful. The accommodations were beautiful and the food was wonderful. I would recommend this lodge to anyone planning a trip to the Kruger Area!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are delighted that you would 'recommend this lodge to anyone planning a trip to the Kruger area' We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I had seen good reports on Kambaku and wanted to see for myself why people are so enthusiastic about it.. Now, I am one of them, myself. There's a warmth emanating from everyone on the staff. Dave was our Ranger - and he is a Master at his job. Has that comfortable way of revealing his vast range of knowledge. Every turn in the road gave us a chance to learn a little more about 'the bush'. Wildlife there was very good - and with the expansion of Kambaku's lands, it will continue to be a true Big 5 destination. Can't pass by without mentioning how impressed we were with the food and the service. The owners, Nicola and Bryce, deserve so much credit for shaping this property into one where guests almost universally have nothing but praise for their experience. Now they add the Kambaku River Sands lodge to their 'family'.. more upmarket, and a really different sort of lodging. But it's the people, not the buildings, that define a lodge and I am betting it will be as successful as the original Kambaku. They live right on the property and are hands-on every day.

Room Tip: I think most of them are identical, though we did see a Family Suite with 2 bedrooms.. In one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwanadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are delighted that you were impressed with the atmosphere that we created making you 'feel right at home'. Home is where people can relax and enjoy - and we are pleased that we accomplished this for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
209 reviews
11.6 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
715 reviews
3.6 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
453 reviews
11.6 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $295 - $1,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing