We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
648
38
4
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
648
38
4
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivestracker ericbedtime storywatering holewonderful hospitalitywild dogswater holeother guestssolar powerthree daysan amazing experiencesouth africawhite liontimbavati reservedinner tablemaking us feelexceeded our expectations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 696 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this lodge in march/2012. Great hospitality. All staff treated us as a family members, not as simple guests. The game drives were simple amazing. And they made great effort to show us very special animals (wild dogs, giraffes, leopard, lions, etc.). They are extremely respectful with the wild nature and animals' life which brigs comfort and safety for the guests.
In summary A+ quality service. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FSousa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Hello there and thank you for the A+ ! We look forwards to your return one day to give you an A++ ! We also like the fact that you felt like family and that you were so lucky to see the wild dogs !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights here and enjoyed every minute. The hospitaity and catering is second to none and the friendliness of the staff diffficult to beat. The game drives were amazing with the ace combination of Neil as Guide and Albert as Tracker I was priviledged to see a pack of African Wild Dog on more than one occasion, a Leopard with her kill, Rhino, Elephant, Zebra, Giraffe, a herd of Buffalo and many other animals and birds both big and small. It was great when relaxing around the lodge to view the animals that come to the water hole including the family of Wart hog who provide comedy value together with the vervet monkeys who are all around. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. I arrived to find artistic welcome notes and each evening the bed was turned down, the mosquito nets lowered and a bed time story left on my pillow. I loved the whole experience and am just trying to work out how quickly I can return. I would certainly recommend without hesitation. Why pay more when Kambaku provides such a wonderful, high quality and friendly experience? Thanks everyone, you do a great job with passion and an eye to detail and quality.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 which has a great view of the water hole and is very private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi Caroline - thank you fro your wonderful review on Kambaku. We appreciate your detailed comments about your experience here both on the safaris and in camp with our extended family of warthogs! It is our pleasure to provide the small things that make your stay here special and memorable, and we hope to see you again soon with the family this time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent 4 days at this wonderful place. From the start we were treated very friendly and felt really welcome. A real effort was made to make every dinner experience unique. Game drives were excellent, we spotted the big five and also had a walking safari. This place is also one of the few where also wines and beers are included in the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi Peter - Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here and mentioning that the house wines and beers are included in the rate as well as the walking safari experience. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I found this place by pure luck, but I cannot imagine a better place to go on safari. We saw absolutely incredible wildlife, including a lone male leopard attacking some antelope from 25 ft. The friendliest staff and rangers, absolutely wonderful food, and wonderfully priced. I would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Hi Michael - Thank you for giving such a lovely review on your stay at Kambaku. We really hope that one day you will manage to squeeze in another visit to us and see the exciting changes in camp as well as some more amazing animals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Kambaku exceeded all expectations. Bryce and Eric (the tracker) were exceptional and in 6 days we saw all the Big Five + lots of other fascinating wild life. Bryce not only knows his animals, but has individual knowledge of them, which is fascinating. Just to mention a couple of highlights, we saw a pair of brother Cheetas as well as a mother/son, a pair of lions, mating, and a leopard, on the move, expertly tracked by our guys. We were able to get the photos of a lifetime.

The camp was very comfortable, the food excellent, and the general milieu friendly, down to earth, and thoroughly hospitable. We enjoyed the pond on the property which attracted all kinds of animals.

The other amazing fact was that the entire time we were the only vehicle on the scene (with may be one exception). Loved it . You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: They're all good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Hi Richard - thank you for your review on your stay at Kambaku. You were very lucky during your stay here to see the cheetahs that's for sure! Definitely a big "cat" experience! We are glad that you appreciated the in depth info about the animals - it makes it so much more interesting when one actually understands some of the animal behavior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews