We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service, can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It took me some time to write my review about my stay at Kambaku. Just realized I had to fix that, as the experience provided by Clarisse, Van, Phillip, Eric and staff was amazing.
I work on the customer service businness, and felt truly spoiled by those guys.
Their excitement and passion for serving ensured that I felt like a member of their family.
Every single detail was taken into consideration. The drives were awesome, Van and Eric would let us leave without seeing the big 5.
I felt truly special, thank you very much! Loved our honeymoon room and our wedding anniversary dinner under the stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilaDiforena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hi there - thank you for making the effort to write a review, even though your stay was a while ago. It is always nice to get such positive feedback about our service and WE CARE details from someone in the service related industry as you know what is it all out about ! Anniversaries are for remembering - they are milestones to be proud of - an what better way to spend one than under the stars in the African Bush !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Kambaku Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 631 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not one to typically leave reviews, despite being on the road one in every three days, the team at Kambaku, lead by owner / manager team Bryce and Nicola is the exception. What a brilliant team who makes everyone feel like a returning member of the family! The whole team are extremely friendly, and the safari aspect was brilliant. Unfortunately I fell prey to a bad case of the flu whilst there, and the team were extremely helpful - to the point where they went into town to get me flu medication which they didn't charge me for - typical of the brilliant service you can expect. No hesitations in recommending this excellent lodge - and I look forward to taking my family back to share an amazing experience. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hi there - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the flu, and were just glad we could help you get over it ! We look forwards to meeting the family one day and will make sure that stay is as unforgettable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are a bit late posting our review. My apologies. We stayed at Kambaku July 10-13th. We were met by a warm and genuine group of people that you would be hard pressed to call staff as they were much more like family. The service was attentive and thorough. Whether it was a story on your pillow at the end of the day or hot water bottles for the game drives. The food was outstanding, more than outstanding! Our needs were met at brunch and dinner time by Bennie and Terrence. They could not have been nicer or more thorough in their attention to us. Every night was a new adventure for dinner. The extra care taken to make each night a unique experience was not lost on us. Clarisse and Philip (and Van ) made us feel welcome and comfortable at our meals. Our game drives were incredible and Van and Albert went above and beyond in our search for the Big 5. We came home without having seen a rhino, but it is only fair to say that the terrain that surrounds Timbavati is not all accessible ( there is some private land) so one needs to realize that many game drives may be needed to see all of the "Big 5" . That said there was not a game drive that didn't have tons of animal life whether birds or game. We were but feet from a lion and her cubs, hyena and giraffes."Sundowner" drinks with elephants making their way to the watering hole. Van and Albert's enthusiasm and devotion were unparallelled. We had an incredible experience. We even had the opportunity to spot the rarest of finds in the Timbavati. The lodges are lovely, charming and if you are looking for a unique and genuine experience Timbavati is it. We did not meet Bryce and his wife but if I had I would have told them that what they have is a special place, rare and genuine and the people they have on staff even more so. This wonderful lodge still has the simplicity that you would hope to find in South Africa with a rare hospitality that makes you feel like you have arrived at a five star hotel. Well, indeed you have, because the service is incredible. I should mention this was our first safari experience and most likely our last. We are from the states and this is not a trip that we can take frequently. We were traveling with our grown ( 3) children and we have memories that I am certain will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Hi Mary -

Thank you so much for the detailed and outstanding review of our lodge. We are thrilled that all the staff welcomed you in such a warm manner and that you felt like family. We are indeed very privileged to call Kambaku home, it is a very special place and very close to our hearts. I am sure that as guests you see these sentiments echoed in the staff and that for them Kambaku is more than just a place of work. It is a pity about the rhino... but we usually tell our guests that there has to be something to come back for! I know it is a long trip for you to make, and we are just so pleased that you have so many happy memories, and we trust that they will be with you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just completed a successful 4-day/3-night stay at Tambaku Lodge in the Timbavati Nature Reserve. Sucessful in that we got up close and personal with the big 5 (lion, rhino, leopard, elephant and buffalo) plus giraffes, zebra, steenbok, impala, kudo, wildebeest and warthogs. And too many species of birds to remember. No guarantee you will see all five, but they will try. The rangers know the area and the animals and are quite knowledgable about the birds, animals and plants. Excellent accomodations at Tambaku - clean, comfortable, safe. Excellent food and drink. Wonderfully warm and personal hospitality. Small size makes for a very personal memorable experince with your ranger, tracker and with the staff. A great place for a family vacation. Staff does a great job making sure everyone has an enjoyable and memorable experience. Timbavait is adjacent to Kruger and the wildlife is as varied and numerous as in the park. The boundary is unfenced, so the animals move back and forth. The WiFi connection was sufficient to stay in touch and I did not miss the absence of TV, radio or the limited cell service. Frankly, I was so busy enjoying the wildlife, hospitality, other guests and scenary, I did not need any other entertainment.

A couple of general thoughts if you are considering a vacation like this, whether at Tambaku or otherwise. First the weather; you wil be outdoors in an open vehicle for around six hours a day. In the summer, it will be hot and sunny and frequently rainy. In the winter, it can be quite cool starting out in the morning or after sunset in the afternoon as you drive around. Dress appropriately, in layers and remember you sunblock. I'd also suggest that a vacaton with multiple game drives over multiple days may not be compatible with younger ( pre-teen) children. Three hours moving through the bush, paying attention and keeping still and quiet may be a challenge for the pre-teen adventurer. Unless you have a large family, you are likely sharing the vehicle with other guests, so you have to consider you impact on them. Finally, you are in the bush - no stores or shops nearby. The lodges, like Tambaku have many supplies that you might need for you visit, like batteries, extra clothing, and insect repellant. Be prepared with your medicines, clothing and for your special needs. The lodges will accomodate many dietary issues, but you have to let them know beforehand so they can prepare. When in doubt ask questions by phone or email before the trip.

Room Tip: No bad rooms at Tambaku
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Hi Jim . Thank you for taking the time to post such a lengthy review on Kambaku! we are so glad that you experience the big 5 up close and personal, and that you had such a great stay. We are also happy to see that our personal touch is appreciated ! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Looking for a place where you feel at home the moment you step into it, then kambaku is the place.Excellent service, lovely people.Thanks to host clarisse, our guide van and albert. unfortunately we could spent only one night there.Even then we have only positive things to tell about them .Excellent food,staff went all the way to make everything extraordinary, be it dinner, welcome service ....!!!!thanks to all

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Hello Priya- It is so unfortunate that you could only spend one night here, as one only starts to relax after a few days... however hopefully in the future you can join us again for a longer stay and many more happy memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I happened upon Kambaku by accident doing an internet search to find a nice safari for my husband and I. I am in South Africa with the US Peace Corps and my husband was coming for our first reunion after being apart for six months. I wanted to be sure his first safari was terrific, and Kambaku exceeded my wildest expectations. The small size of the resort created an intimacy and feeling of being among friends and family, not like a large impersonal hotel. The food was definitely 5 star, and each evening served in a different location at the lodge, under the stars. The owners have thought of everything, right down to the nightly bedtime stories left on our pillows. Romantic touches are everywhere but not overdone, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. And the twice daily game drives were amazing. Imagine evening cocktails at a local watering hole (literallly) with elephants, buffalo, and rhinos in sight--and an amazing sunset to top it off! I have been on safaris in Tanzania and Kenya, and they were wonderful, but the safari experience at Kambaku was intimate, personal, and one that I shall remember forever. I could not have asked for a more blissful way to reconnect with my sweetie, and I highly recommend this to anyone interested in an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It is much appreciated.
Appealing to everybody all of the time can be a real challenge and every guest has different expectations so it's nice to know that we seem to have got the formula right!
It was pleasure to have you as our guests and, who knows, perhaps you'll come back and see us again one day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent the 5 most amazing days at Kambaku Safari Lodge with breathtaking landscapes, amazing animal views, and the best service possible. Even got a surprise celebration of my 21st birthday when it still was a few more days to go! Huge thanks to the nicest host´s Clarisse, Nicola and Bryce and the amazing talented and entertaining tracker Albert and Ranger Van for making the trip down to Timbavati national park as best as it could possible be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaMH_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Hi Christina ! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kambaku on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could have provided you with a memorable experience here at Kambaku. We will pass your comments to the rest of the staff and we wish you all the best with your studies and hope you will return afterwards and become a Ranger yourself ! It was a pleasure to host you and your mom here at Kambaku.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,751 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
698 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
197 reviews
8.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $414 - $1,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing