We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique experience of bush life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unique experience of bush life”
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We signed up for a 'walking safari' thinking it would be an adventure and get us nearer to nature. How true this turned out to be. Tracking rhino on foot, from the mud pool to the mud on bushes, to the 'very recent' (& steaming) pile of dung, then a sighting of white rhino. So exhilarating, one of our best experiences ever.
Dave & Enock kept us feeling safe at all times. Their knowledge & enthusiasm for all the flora & fauna was limitless; we are interested in everything, not just the big 5, & they realised this, helping us to see & learn so many things.
The camp is basic, the food excellent, our memories will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinemsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
233
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

If you want excellent value for money you cannot do better than Shindzela. No over the top frills but just a real "old fashioned" bush experience with people who really care about the environment. You just get the sense that they are there to ensure you really get to know what living in the bush is all about. What I really liked, was they made no pretence about being a luxury lodge and you definitely got (loads more than) what you paid for. If you want hairdryers and spa treatments, then dont go to Sindzela - if you want lovely evenings round the fire discussing the days sightings and guides with a passion for what they are doing, then DO go to Shindzela.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bsuhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Our apprehensions as to the quality of this camp disappeared immediately on arrival. The quaint "tented" (under thatch) rooms and the way we were taken care of from start to finish made us wish we could stay another week! We would recommend Shindzela to anyone who is after a Real African Bush experience. The owner/guide, Dave, has years and years of "middle of nowhere bush experience" - and personal experience stories to keep you spellbound! Exceptional Value for Money!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David & Lyns F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I didn't know what to expect from an un-fenced bush environment, and surely thought that I'd be on guard all weekend -- but the Shindzela crew made us feel so safe and relaxed that we just totally unwound on our long weekend safari.

We had a few animals (including one hyena!) wander into camp, but Dave is always nearby and never far from his rifle, so we really felt very protected. We were generally too busy eating to be bothered anyway -- seems like every time we turned around (or woke up, as was often the case) there was another meal on the table. Small quibble that the food was pretty ordinary (no game on a game reserve?), but Gertie made even lowly items like beans and stews taste pretty special.

Our group of 5 were the only people in camp, and it was truly awesome to have such a personal level of service. I could tell Dave and Enoch were both bummed that they hadn't found us a lion or leopard by the end of our stay, but it was amazing simply to be out rambling around in that environment with two such passionate game enthusiasts.

Overall, an awesome weekend. The "tents" are lovely, and what a treat to have electric (solar) lights and hot running water available. WIth so many other areas to try, I doubt that we'll be back -- but we'd recommend it as a lovely, mid-range game experience run by friendly, knowledgable, welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy_in_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I spent three days at Sindzela and having been to numerous lodges in the Greater Kruger Park area, I can happily say this was my best bush experience yet! The camp is situated along a riverline in one of the best game viewing regions of the Timbabavati (the concession has an open border with the Kruger National Park). The accomodation was rustic but very comfortable with good food, hot showers and cold drinks. On walks we saw Lion, Elephant, Rhino and Buffalo. On game drives, we saw all these again and Leopard! There is also much focus on the smaller things in the bush which can only be appreciated on foot. Evenings were spent sitting out around the fire and we also slept out in the field once! All in all, a great experience and VERY AFFORDABLE at the same time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureseeker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
435 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
614 reviews
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
188 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
429 reviews
10.1 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing