We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate, Personal Wildlife Experience in Kruger Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate, Personal Wildlife Experience in Kruger Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The major advantage of staying in a private camp is the off road experiences in following the wildlife in their natural environment. Shindzela is at the lower cost but does not lessen the quality of the service offered by a small team of highly enthusiastic staff. Our car driver/guide was a native of the area who has worked in this field for some 16 years. The other guide / driver was a younger Africaan whose family has lived nearby for ages. We stayed in October - a great time to be here. The accommodation is basic but all you need. Food is typical; of the Africaan farmer style - a little rustic but very tasty and served in a huge quantity. Animals are everywhere and luck is whether you see lion or cheetah or hyena or leopard or black mama snakes etc. It is different to public park life and it is definitely worth it. Any couple or group of mature friends would enjoy themselves immensely satisfied at Shindzela. A true Kruger Park safari experience - one which the original founder had in mind for most tourists

Room Tip: Close to the river/creek would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Taras06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
89
218
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neu-Isenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My first Safari,camp can take up to 16 guests - very individuel treatement, guides are excellent, very patient and looking after you. Trackers are interesting to watch how they spot the animals.Don't expect G5 at each corner - you realy have to look for the animals, you spend half an hour with no excitement and all after sudden you are in the middle of an elephant herde.
Cooking was excellent, ask for the mmmmmhhhhhhhhh :)
Evenings finished quite early as the guides had to bring us ''to bed'' wearing a gun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of September. Our guide was Michael. He did an excellent job and was very smart about the wild animals. He taught us a lot of information and was a very fun person! The tents were awesome. If you are looking for a place to make you feel like you are in the middle of the bush and nature, this is the place to stay! Very relaxing and we got to see a lot of wild life. Our tent , #5, was right in front of the watering hole and we got to see herds of elephants come and get water with their young. An amazing experience!!! I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfaith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My first safari,and if I do another again it will have to be special to come close to match the experience the whole team at Shindzela treated us to.
Special thanks to Johann & Sam for taking us up close to 30 different species of animals,not counting the birds as well.
On our last night in camp we woke to the sounds of wild dogs chasing & catching a impala,only for a pack of hyenas to steal it from them & devour it just metres in front and from the safety of our wooden fenced in tent,amazing.
Also thankyou Carolien for the first class correspondence.

Room Tip: All tent numbers are good,but if you want agood spot for overlooking the river and waterhole I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaweedmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first experience at an African safari and it was a great experience. The staff at Shindzela were very helpful and looked after us extremely well. The camp has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I can highly recommend it. This is not a "5-star" resort (nor are the prices), but it was a wonderful experience. the accommodation is "rustic" but very comfortable. The game drives and walks were brilliant and the guides very knowledgeable. Shindzela is a special place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Shindzela is a private Safari Camp in the Timbavati area which is part of the Krueger National Park. There are two daily Safari activities included (Sunrise and Sunset game drives)..
We have stayed two nights and whished we would have stayed longer. The tents are very well equipped, with a nice bathroom. There is a nice little water hole and during the day one can (if lucky) see quite a few animals already there. The camp is unfenced and therefore one is very close to the nature. In the evening after dinner there is always one ranger comming along to ensure that guests reach their tent in safety. Once in the tent at night you will hear all the animals, which is a great experience. The real difference are the rangers, they really have a first class knowledge about the wildlife. We have done safari activities afterwords in the Krueger Park, and Rangers there could not match the outstanding knowledge of the rangers at Shindzela.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Shindzela for four nights from 13 September 2013. It was our first safari, as well as being our honeymoon, and Shindzela doesn't disappoint. We booked Shindzela based on the reviews on here and on their amazingly up to date facebook page (although...warning...you will use facebook updates to torture yourself for not staying longer or arriving earlier).

The camp itself is clean and functional. Its not the Ritz but remember that you are paying almost a quarter of what you are for other Kruger accommodation. When faced with a travel agent trying to make us book a private villa with a plunge pool, we went for quality of game drives over existence of a plunge pool (although Shindzela does have a pool anyway - you just might have to fight off the Camp warthogs and the baby giraffe to get to it).

Sam, our guide, was absolutely amazing and worked with Johan to ensure we saw all of the big five, together with numerous other animals we hadn't hoped to see. What makes this camp a five and not a three or four is the service of the staff and the general education on tracks which we didn't get at other camps. We were taught (because we asked) the local words for all of the big five so we understood what we were looking for when we heard Ngala over the radios. Also, I was pretty stressed by day three because I was desperate to see a leopard. Obviously you know that its luck of the draw but I overheard Johan say to Sam "lets get Becca her leopard" which was lovely because you know that the staff genuinely want you to go away satisfied. And Sam did find me a leopard...at 300m in the pitch black. Because these guys really know their stuff.

I'm a fussy eater, but the food was great - you don't get a choice like you perhaps would at other camps but there is plenty of it and its served outside under the stars and, on our last night, in the company of a herd of elephants wandering through camp and munching on the trees.

Generally, for those that were wondering, its an early start (5.30am), a quick tea and rusk and you are out driving from 6am until about 9.30am. You stop for tea and biscuits, or on one occassion some champagne they generously left us as honeymooners which we shared with our jeep after our leopard sighting. Breakfast is served when you get back and then you have the day at leisure. Lunch is served at 3.30ish and you're then out from about 4pm until 8.30pm. You'll have sundowners mid drive and three courses of delicious food when you return.

Quite frankly, you'd be an idiot if you didn't book this place at the price that they charge.

Room Tip: We had tent 7. We had elephants close to our balcony on two separate days. I would recommend either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
12.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
15.0 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Shindzela Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing