We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is one of my favourite camps of all time, and just proves what I say to people - that if you don't have an endless budget or time, the Kruger area has it all.
Having said that, Shindzela is not within Kruger NP, but in the Timbavati area of Greater Kruger (which suited me, unless you have time to get to more remote areas of Kruger NP).
We flew on a direct flight from Cape Town (15deg celcius) into Hoedspruit (35deg celcius), were met very efficiently by our transfer driver, and had an amazing leopard sighting within 5min of passing through the Timbavati Reserve entrance!
We had to wait a short time before being escorted to our tent as a lonely male elephant was wandering through the camp doing some landscaping!
The tents are on raised platforms with a thatched roof structure above them. The inside is comfortable, and the bathroom/toilet is at the back of the tent somewhat exposed on the outside covered platform. We were there in Aug12 and experienced extreme differences in temperature - 30+ deg celcius during the day, dropping to 6deg celcius on some nights. For this reason alone, during the cooler months I recommend showering just once a day after lunch and splashing your face in the morning before your early game drive!
The camp has very little fencing, so wildlife come & go at will. Elephants & other animals visit the camp regularly and I loved lying in bed listening to the call of lions.
The staff were terrific, Monika & Pete are a great couple & very experienced, and Dave has endless knowledge of the bush. The pace of the game drives was very relaxed, and it was no problem to stay longer in one place if we had a great sighting. The vehicles were never crowded, and my favourite - were completely open (great for photography).
The food was great, drinks were reasonably priced and overall I think Shindzela is not only great value for money, but a terrific low-key bushcamp!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TannieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear TannieKaz

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Shindzela!
We appriciate the great comments you have given us!

I have sent your review onto the camp as well!
Thank you, and we hope to Welcome you back at Shindzela again in the near future!

Take Care
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

this is somewhat primative camp in a very remote location in the bush veld. you sleep in these tent/ cabins. they have a bathroom attached to the back with a shower, toilet and sink. and they have hot and cold water. what more could you want? animals come into the camp day or night. it is a fantastic experience. dave, brian john and the gang are great guides and fun. we all eat at the same table. the cooks were fantastc too. very nice. they prepared vegetarian food for me.
we met many cool people there. the small size of the camp and the community table allows you to mix with people better which is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gnatking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear gnatking

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay at Shindzela!
I have passed on your message to the guys!

Hope to see you all again!
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This camp was a real find and delight to stay at. This is close up Safari, don't expect to be pampered and covered in luxury (saying that accommodation is comfortable), but do expect to get very close nature in all its wild and beautiful African forms, in camp and out. You don't have to go on a drive here to find the animals, you are very much living in their domain. We had amazing experience of an Elephant outside our door earlier one morning.
Dave (the Owner) and his trackers have a wealth of experience and know exactly what the are doing. We spent 3 days at Shindzela that I will never forget, its endearing camp that grew and grew on us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Stephan h

Thank you so much for your kind words! I have passed on your message to the camp and Dave.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I joined tripadvisor because I was compelled to write a poor review about another lodge we stayed at in Peru, so I thought I should write about a positive experience we had to balance it out.

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in October of 2012, and had a great experience. It was our first safari and first time in Africa. We came to Shindzela bc our friends had spent part of their honeymoon there the year before and had a wonderful time.

The guides were different than the ones that our friends had, but we really liked ours as well. Peter, Monika, and Sam were all super friendly all of the time, and very knowledgeable. All questions were welcomed, no matter how basic.

It also seemed like a very authentic experience, as it was in a private game reserve that opened to Kruger. We hardly ever saw any other people or trucks during our drives. There were no 'guarantees' so you knew when you had a sighting that it was truly wild.

The support staff was great as well, and the food was actually quite good.

The only complaint that we had (mostly my wife haha) was that we wished the tent was more 'secure' from the outside. Twice we found large scorpions in our tent; once one was on the ceiling and another time my wife almost stepped on one. We thought it was because the tent zipper to the bathroom wasn't attached to the wood flooring.

We can't wait to come back and see a leopard to complete our Big 5.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Ben R

Thank you for your review! we really appriciate it -
I will pass your message regarding the staff and kitchen along to the camp.

Hope to see you and your wife at Shindzela again!
Regards
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Found this safari camp on the internet and everything sounded like what I was looking for.
The camp is not 5 star but that wasn't what I was looking for. This camp and the staff offer a low key truly African safari experience that is definitely "up close & personal".
On the day of arrival had to wait in the dining room for a wild bull elephant to move out of the camp so I could get to my tent. A great introduction to Shindzela!
This is a small camp so guest numbers are smaller which is another great attraction for me.
Game drives occur early in the morning and late afternoon/evening (night) and cover a diverse topography including fairly dense bush and more open grassland.
This was my second trip to Africa and safari experience. Shindzela fulfilled a couple of wishes on my "bucket list"....leopards, rhino and buffalo!
Couldn't have been happier with the game viewing and the experience and knowledge of the guidea and owner. The accommodation was great. Very comfortable and all the necessities including game outside the tent. Loved the food served up and the introductions done by local staff at all the meals. A definite must for me to return and experience a different time of year in this camp.

Room Tip: Pick the tents furtherest from the main building as you get to experience the game up close & ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Jim M

Thank you very much for your great review! We hope to see you again at Shindzela! P.S an elephant bull was in camp again yesterday!

Kindest Regarsd
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We can't recommend Shindzela highly enough, we had a truly magnificent 3 nights there and only hope we can go back one day. Having lived in South Africa for 3 years some years ago we had stayed in several safari camps, including some far more costly than this, but this was our most enjoyable experience . The place does what it says, a 'real' bush experience orchestrated by David, a man who is so obviously passionate about the bush and keen to share it with others. The camp wants for nothing, it is very atmospheric all the necessary amenities are there. The 'tents' are very comfortable, the feeling of not being fenced in certainly heightened the experience and it was lovely to lie in bed listening to the sounds of the bush going on around us at night. We had the tent furthest away from the dining area etc, and I would highly recommend that. The staff were all wonderful, Dave and Stephanie our delightful guides took us on walking safaris where we came across a family of 5 rhino with a baby (at all times we felt completely safe and that Dave was in control of a situation). Having been on safari before and seen the Big Five many times we were just as eager to see the smaller inhabitants of the bush and our tracker and guides didn't disappoint, with night sightings of a chameleon (don't know how they spotted that one), interesting birds and insects etc. Afternoon visits from Wanda the warthog who came to scratch those hard to get at places on the tree trunks and side of the pool was all the entertainment we needed! The ladies in the kitchen didn't disappoint either, homely meals, well prepared were the order of the day and lovely drinks and snacks when out on game drives meant walking safaris were a must! There honestly was nothing we could fault. Just keep on educating people that there is more to the bush than the Big Five and you can't go wrong. Fantastic value which we will recommend to friends

Room Tip: The room furthest away from the camp overlooks the river bed and has many passing animals and is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fabhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear fabhols_12

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time!

I will pass this onto the guys at camp!
Take care and looking forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We have been travelling for 7 months thru africa and europe, and this was our best experience of the whole trip! Apologies for the late review. peter and monica were our guides and are deadset legends. Saw a family of rhino, giraffe, lots of antelope, rare sivet and tracked lion, and when we had morning tea after the game drive, a herd of maybe 30 elephants walked straight past the car! Saw lots of antelope on the walks, the african bush.is.fantastic. As is the lux camp tents, with hot outdoor (private) showers. And the lovely ladies put a hot water bottle in ur bed after the night drive! The food is homely and top shelf, all really lovley people, who care about nature, are know wat they are talking about. also met some great guests, who have similar views on the value of nature and real safari, not "stupid tourists" Very good value too. Cant wait to save up and come back to africa, and stay with these guys! Thanks so much! I may even join in the poo spitting contest next time peter! (its only impala poo guys, dont freak!)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brad_d174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear brad_d174

How lucky you are to travel for such a long time! Thank you so much for the great /excellent feedback, we appreciate it immensely! I will pass on your message to the guys at camp!

All the best, and hope to see you soon
Take Care
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
709 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
637 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $266 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing